Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Native Airport Extreme Drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 23, 24, 25 ... 40, 41, 42  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GNUtoo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 1919

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

marvin5 wrote:
Wow, thanks a lot, everything is working fine now (with wpa_supplicant btw).
Now if someone can get nvidia to publish a driver for ppc, I can finally throw Mac OS X away :-)

marvin

The problem with this driver is that there is nothing usable yet
i've contacted the FSF to put this project in their top priority project but the probem is that the project isn't that advanced
Mabe the licence(MIT/BSD) may also be a problem for the FSF or for some contributors(FSF consider MIT and BSD free software) i don't know
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

new_to_non_X86 wrote:

so my memory is very bad
i thoat having seen a firmware in portage


No, the firmware cutter is in portage, but not the firmware.

new_to_non_X86 wrote:

by the way some such as the prism have open-source firmware(so they can program the chip)
http://prism54.org/freemac.html
this has lend to project like this one:
http://prism54.org/mustumbler.html

I do not know a lot about wireless card but you seems to say that a proprietary firmware isn't a risk for my privacy


I don't know what you mean by "risk for my privacy" but the firmware for the Prism54 is quite different from the bcm43xx firmware. The bcm43xx chipset already lets us control everything that they're doing in firmware with the driver. The firmware for bcm43xx is a set of initial values for the card (they're not well understood, but we're working on it). The DSP/PCM code is for the radio and probably controls the output levels, but we have no idea really. It's not a known processor like Prism54 (ARM) it's a custom DSP.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GNUtoo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 1919

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I don't know what you mean by "risk for my privacy" but the firmware for the Prism54 is quite different from the bcm43xx firmware. The bcm43xx chipset already lets us control everything that they're doing in firmware with the driver. The firmware for bcm43xx is a set of initial values for the card (they're not well understood, but we're working on it). The DSP/PCM code is for the radio and probably controls the output levels, but we have no idea really. It's not a known processor like Prism54 (ARM) it's a custom DSP.

ah...custom DSP...
so i think there is very little risk
and probably there isn't any serious bug...
(i still prefer open-source alternatives but this is ok for me(integrated into an iibook))

and if you are working on that's great!!!


Last edited by GNUtoo on Sat May 13, 2006 9:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We are *not* working on the DSP, just on the initial values.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GNUtoo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 1919

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
We are *not* working on the DSP, just on the initial values.

ok
mabe someone will continue your job when it will be finished(openBSD mabe) lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marvin5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 162
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
marvin5:
I can't help you there, but there is a new project called nouveau (http://nouveau.sourceforge.net/) which looks promising.

OK, thanks anyway, I do have another question, but that is rather off-topic, so I started another thread:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-3316498.html#3316498

marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteelusPL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 11:48 am    Post subject: Low transfer BCM43xx Reply with quote

Hi guys,
I loaded bcm43xx module, extracted drivers for my BCM4306 as JoseJX wrote. Everything works fine, but the max transfer i can reach is only 30 kB/s. On windows transfer is ok :? i don't know where is the problem. Please help. My ifconfig and iwconfig:

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr yy:yy:yy:yy:yy:yy
inet addr:192.168.0.25 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:3971 errors:0 dropped:22 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3236 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:3725342 (3.5 Mb) TX bytes:388376 (379.2 Kb)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xc000

eth1 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:"WiFi" Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
Mode:Managed Frequency=2.417 GHz Access Point: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power=15 dBm
RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xx Security mode:open
Link Quality=100/100 Signal level=2/3 Noise level=189/100
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bz31
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 12:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Low transfer BCM43xx Reply with quote

SteelusPL wrote:
Hi guys,
I loaded bcm43xx module, extracted drivers for my BCM4306 as JoseJX wrote. Everything works fine, but the max transfer i can reach is only 30 kB/s.

I had this problem with a kernel 2.6.16. Try to set the rate to 11Mb/s.

SteelusPL wrote:

eth1 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:"WiFi" Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
Mode:Managed Frequency=2.417 GHz Access Point: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power=15 dBm

Don't use Bit Rate=54 Mb/s.
If you use the driver in kernel 2.6.17, it will automatically set the rate to 11Mb/s.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteelusPL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 12:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Low transfer BCM43xx Reply with quote

bz31 wrote:
SteelusPL wrote:
Hi guys,
I loaded bcm43xx module, extracted drivers for my BCM4306 as JoseJX wrote. Everything works fine, but the max transfer i can reach is only 30 kB/s.

I had this problem with a kernel 2.6.16. Try to set the rate to 11Mb/s.

SteelusPL wrote:

eth1 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:"WiFi" Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
Mode:Managed Frequency=2.417 GHz Access Point: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power=15 dBm

Don't use Bit Rate=54 Mb/s.
If you use the driver in kernel 2.6.17, it will automatically set the rate to 11Mb/s.


on Bit Rate=11 Mb/s i have max 147 kB/s :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Grexe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 29
Location: Vienna

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 3:03 pm    Post subject: Ad-hoc mode and bridges Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Ad-hoc is not supported, only Managed and Monitor.
Then I might have to upgrade from my custom built wireless->ethernet-bridge on my Linux-box to a real wireless router :-(
I got bridging working back then, but only in ad-hoc mode.

Is ad-hoc-support planned or not possible for bcm43xx?
Or is HostAP with wpa_supplicant using -DWext an option?
_________________
There are two states of gentoo boxes: compiling and turned off...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h17z
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 2:14 pm    Post subject: help please Reply with quote

Hi
I have 2.6.17-rc4 kernel vanilla.
I have compiled it with all modules that I have seen in this post without errors, included softmac module. Also I have installed the firmware.
Then, I see the broadcom interface with iwconfig. I do: "ifconfig eth2 up" "iwconfig eth2 rate 11M" "iwconfig eth2 essid my_net" "pump -i eth2", all without errors. I get the network configuration. But I cannot acces to my net, I don't have internet and any host returns ping.

What Can I do?
Thanks

dmesg shows that:
Code:

SoftMAC: Open Authentication completed with 00:14:bf:67:c9:0f
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth2: link becomes ready
SoftMAC: Authentication response received from 00:0e:35:89:d9:dd but no queue it                                                                                     
em exists.
SoftMAC: Authentication response received from 00:0e:35:89:d9:dd but no queue it                                                                                     
em exists.
SoftMAC: Authentication response received from 00:0e:35:89:d9:dd but no queue it                                                                                     
em exists.
SoftMAC: Authentication response received from 00:0e:35:89:d9:dd but no queue it                                                                                     
em exists.
bcm43xx: Radio turned off
bcm43xx: DMA 0x0200 (RX) max used slots: 1/64
bcm43xx: DMA 0x0260 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
bcm43xx: DMA 0x0240 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
bcm43xx: DMA 0x0220 (TX) max used slots: 2/512
bcm43xx: DMA 0x0200 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
bcm43xx: PHY connected
bcm43xx: Radio turned on
bcm43xx: Chip initialized


PD: I have x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedekapo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 223
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is bcm43xx going to support ad-hoc ?

Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ad-hoc should work with the devicescape port. There's nothing in the driver that won't let it work, but there is no support for it in SoftMAC since none of the devs really needs or uses ad-hoc. Patches or bug reports are welcome.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Grexe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 29
Location: Vienna

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 7:44 pm    Post subject: How to apply devicescape-patch? Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
ad-hoc should work with the devicescape port.
aha, so I might save myself from another €62 for a real router and stay with my custom bridge... (works with MacOS X)

Forgive my ignorance, I searched through the forum, but what is the current way to get devicescape running? Do I have to apply the git-patch from the linville-kernel-tree or is there an ebuild?
Did not look into 2.6.17rc4's kernel-config, but in rc3 there was only softmac-version of bcm43xx, is this correct?

Thanks for clearing up ad-hoc-mystery, that really got me into trouble.
_________________
There are two states of gentoo boxes: compiling and turned off...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can read bcm43xx.berlios.de for info on getting the devicescape branch (wireless-dev) git repository.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Grexe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 29
Location: Vienna

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 7:56 pm    Post subject: Thanks and Link Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
You can read bcm43xx.berlios.de for info on getting the devicescape branch (wireless-dev) git repository.
Thanks for the instant reaction, just found it *blush* here:
https://lists.berlios.de/pipermail/bcm43xx-dev/2006-April/001662.html

I just wanted to go sure I follow the Gentoo way of doing it (right) :)
_________________
There are two states of gentoo boxes: compiling and turned off...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem, we don't really have a way to get git repo's any other way, so this is the best for now. Devicescape will eventually be replacing SoftMAC once it's easier to use, so if it doesn't work for you now, it will in the future. :)
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gustaf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kuhndog86 wrote:
mthode wrote:
I am using kernel 2.6.17 with the inbuilt drivers but I get kernel panics when I try "iwlist eth1 scan" or try to set the ap manualy. (Using the amd64 version)


I'm having the same problem with the in-kernel (2.6.17) amd64 version. Anybody got a solution?


I'm having this problem too on my amd64.

Here is a photo of my oops:
http://web.it.kth.se/~it01_gul/bcm43xx_oops.jpg

Softmac and dscape result in the same screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikemcquaid
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 108
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do the baselayout init.d scripts now work for bringing the interface up/down, and if not, why not?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pegas_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just finished reading this thread to get my Airport Extreme to work with no luck.
The issue I'm having is not new, in fact it is probably one of the most popular problems people have had while trying to get bcm43xx to work (it's the "bcm43xx: Error: Microcode "bcm43xx_microcode5.fw" not available or load failed." one).
Here are the versions of drivers I've tried:
Code:
% ./bcm43xx-fwcutter -i AppleAirPort2
bcm43xx-fwcutter can cut the firmware out of AppleAirPort2

  filename :  AppleAirPort2
  version  :  3.90.34.0.p16 (404.2)
  MD5      :  7200d1aef5f413ebc811046d068b40dc

WARNING! This firmware doesn't include support for 802.11a cards.
WARNING! Use this firmware only for 802.11b/g cards.

% ./bcm43xx-fwcutter -i AppleAirPort2_
bcm43xx-fwcutter can cut the firmware out of AppleAirPort2_

  filename :  AppleAirPort2
  version  :  3.90.34.0.p13 (402.6)
  MD5      :  2ba0c4de95344b00f2c7efad917490f5

WARNING! This firmware doesn't include support for 802.11a cards.
WARNING! Use this firmware only for 802.11b/g cards.
% ./bcm43xx-fwcutter -i wl_apsta.o
bcm43xx-fwcutter can cut the firmware out of wl_apsta.o

  filename :  wl_apsta.o
  version  :  3.130.20.0
  MD5      :  e08665c5c5b66beb9c3b2dd54aa80cb3

I tried extracting them using the following command:
Code:
# /usr/bin/bcm43xx-fwcutter -w `grep FIRMWARE_DIR= /etc/hotplug/firmware.agent | cut -d '=' -f 2` ./wl_apsta.o


After that command /lib/firmware is populated with extracted firmware:
Code:
% ls -l /lib/firmware
total 132
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  3504 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_initval01.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    16 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_initval02.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  3504 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_initval03.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    16 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_initval04.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  2536 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_initval05.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   248 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_initval06.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  2536 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_initval07.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  2536 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_initval08.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   248 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_initval09.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   248 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_initval10.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 21672 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_microcode11.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 16352 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_microcode2.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 20088 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_microcode4.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 22272 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_microcode5.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  1312 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_pcm4.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  1312 2006-05-16 18:52 bcm43xx_pcm5.fw


I also seem to have all of the needed packages installed on the system (which I've tried reemerging a few times):
Code:
% emerge -pv udev hotplug bcm43xx-fwcutter vanilla-sources

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ] sys-fs/udev-090  0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] sys-apps/hotplug-20040923-r2  0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] net-wireless/bcm43xx-fwcutter-004  0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] sys-kernel/vanilla-sources-2.6.17_rc4  USE="symlink -build -doc" 0 kB

Total size of downloads: 0 kB


I tried emerging coldplug as somebody in the thread mentioned, but that didn't accomplish anything. Furthermore, it broke udev (it wouldn't reemerge saying that it is now being blocked by coldplug). After removing coldplug and reemerging udev it gave me the following message:
Code:
 * A stale coldplug init script found. You should run:
 *
 *       rc-update del coldplug
 *       rm -f /etc/init.d/coldplug
 *
 * udev now provides its own coldplug functionality.

which shows that not only coldplug should not change any functionality, it would also conflict with udev too.

Here are some relevant pieces of /usr/src/linux-2.6.17-rc4/.config:
Code:
CONFIG_HOTPLUG=y

CONFIG_IEEE80211=m
# CONFIG_IEEE80211_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_IEEE80211_CRYPT_WEP=m
CONFIG_IEEE80211_CRYPT_CCMP=m
CONFIG_IEEE80211_CRYPT_TKIP=m
CONFIG_IEEE80211_SOFTMAC=m
CONFIG_IEEE80211_SOFTMAC_DEBUG=y
CONFIG_WIRELESS_EXT=y

CONFIG_PREVENT_FIRMWARE_BUILD=y
CONFIG_FW_LOADER=y

CONFIG_BCM43XX=m
CONFIG_BCM43XX_DEBUG=y
CONFIG_BCM43XX_DMA=y
CONFIG_BCM43XX_PIO=y
CONFIG_BCM43XX_DMA_AND_PIO_MODE=y
# CONFIG_BCM43XX_DMA_MODE is not set
# CONFIG_BCM43XX_PIO_MODE is not set
CONFIG_NET_WIRELESS=y


Another bit of information that might be proven useful is that I transferred the kernel configuration from a Debian/PowerPC installation where Airport Extreme worked fine (it was installed on the same PowerBook, I have switched to Gentoo a few days ago), so I would assume that the problem has to do with udev rather than with the kernel.

I really hope that this problem will be solved once and for all thus helping those who are still struggling to find a working solution.

Update: just to remind about the actual problem, here is what happens when I try to do "ifconfig eth1 up":
Code:
 # ifconfig eth1 up
SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
# dmesg | tail -n 2
bcm43xx: PHY connected
bcm43xx: Error: Microcode "bcm43xx_microcode5.fw" not available or load failed.


I also tried to see if it was a problem with permissions on files located in /lib/firmware, so i chmodded them all to 777, but that did not help. Besides, udevd is running under root and should technically be able to access files with any permission flags set:
Code:
# ps aux | grep udev
root      6263  0.0  0.0   2144   504 ?        S<s  22:38   0:00 /sbin/udevd --daemon

_________________
find / -user you -iname base -exec chown us {} \;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drinus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 9:51 pm    Post subject: Airport Extreme Spanish Howto Reply with quote

-HOWTO- Airport Extreme working under GNU/Linux (Spanish)

http://airport.drinus.net

I am translating to English.

Regards.

GNU/DrinuS
--------------

http://drinus.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gustaf:
Can you provide the dmesg output before it oopses? It doesn't look like it's bcm43xx causing the problem though.

mikearthur:
I wouldn't bother yet since the interface is still a little fragile. It can work, but it's much more reliable to do it manually.

pegas_:
I don't see anything wrong with your setup. You could try different udev versions and see if that fixes the problem, but I'm not sure why it's not working, sorry.

drinus:
Thanks!
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikemcquaid
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 108
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you not think as its going in the mainline kernel, it may be an idea to actually get that working, or people will wonder why their distributions just don't work with these new drivers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikearthur:
It's not like we're not trying. :p If you have suggestions as to what to fix and/or patches feel free to let us know. It *should* work at the default 11M with _rc4. The real problem that I see is that because we're still working on the driver, there's a lot of ways you can have it not associate. Most init scripts aren't prepared for that, so I suggest the manual method as the most reliable way of getting it working, especially since with the manual method, you know exactly what's happening and in what order, and you can check the dmesg between each attempt.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pegas_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing changed after I emerged the stable version of udev:
Code:
# ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="-~ppc" emerge udev

Where does udevd start from? I grepped /etc for 'udevd' and only came up with these results:
Code:
# grep -R udevd /etc
/etc/udev/udev.conf:udev_db="/dev/.udevdb"
Binary file /etc/hotplug.d/default/10-udev.hotplug matches

It also seems like I have an overpopulated /dev partition (I won't insert the listing, but it looks like when no device management system is running), even though udev is mounted:
Code:
% df -h
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/hda3             2.0G  217M  1.8G  11% /
udev                  378M  148K  378M   1% /dev
/dev/hda5              60G  429M   60G   1% /home
/dev/hda7              13G  1.5G   12G  11% /usr
/dev/hda8             2.2G   85M  2.1G   4% /var
/dev/hda6              15G  1.2G   14G   8% /distfiles
shm                   378M     0  378M   0% /dev/shm
% mount
/dev/hda3 on / type reiserfs (rw,commit=0)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,nosuid)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
/dev/hda5 on /home type reiserfs (rw,commit=0)
/dev/hda7 on /usr type reiserfs (rw,commit=0)
/dev/hda8 on /var type reiserfs (rw,commit=0)
/dev/hda6 on /distfiles type reiserfs (rw,commit=0)
shm on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,devmode=0664,devgid=85)

Am I forgetting something? Maybe udev is not working correctly?
_________________
find / -user you -iname base -exec chown us {} \;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 23, 24, 25 ... 40, 41, 42  Next
Page 24 of 42

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum