Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Native Airport Extreme Drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29 ... 40, 41, 42  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TuffSoundinName
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Mar 2005
Posts: 102
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

revolthor wrote:
huzzah! thank you from the bottom of my heart. i am anxious to get this to work, but i am stuck trying to make the softmac source. here's what happens when i run make:
Code:

# cd source
# make
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.15-rc3/build M=/home/arthur/source modules
make[1]: Entering directory '/usr/src/linux-2.6.15-rc3'
  CC [M] /home/arthur/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.o
/home/arthur/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c: In function 'ieee80211softmac_reasoc':
/home/arthur/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:65: error: too few arguments to function
/home/arthur/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:68: error: 'net' undeclared (first use in this function)
/home/arthur/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:68: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
/home/arthur/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:68: error: for each function it appears in.)
/home/arthur/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c: At top level:
/home/arthur/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:61: warning: 'ieee80211softmac_reassoc' defined but not used
/home/arthur/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:87: warning: 'ieee80211softmac_deasoc' defined but not used
make[2]: *** [/home/arthur/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [_module_/home/arthur/source] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/linux-2.6.15-rc3'
make: *** [modules] Error 2

im pretty sure i have all the kernel stuff set up right but have no clue what's going wrong here.


Don't use kernel <2.6.17!!!
_________________
3...2...1...Larry!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JofCore
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 5:27 pm    Post subject: Signal Levels...? Reply with quote

I have used the info in this thread and have successfully gotten the broadcom wireless card in my m6805 laptop working. I have noticed though that I don't seem to be getting any sort of signal strength readings from the card.

In Networkmanager, the signal strength is always max. Gkrellm's wifi monitor seems to report similar results... the strength never varies.

Also, if I run kismet, I never get signal levels from it as well... It always says the signal level is 0.

Any idea on what I can do to get the signal levels properly reported from this card? Under windoze XP, it seems to display the signal strength just fine, so I know the card must be capable of this...

thx!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still trying, from an open network this time. The problem seems to lie not in the driver for the card but with softmac. After it authenticates with the network, it tries to associate, and then says immediately "association timed out". Attempting to start the interface with the Gentoo init scripts (/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start) results in a "card IRQ register not responding, giving up" message. Looks like I'm going to be stuck with ndiswrapper for the forseeable future, probably until devicescape is integrated into the kernel. Anyone know when that's gonna be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Akaihiryuu:
It's not a SoftMAC bug, the hardware isn't responding with IRQs as expected. There have been a lot of preemptable work and latency patches posted to the bcm43xx dev mailing list, make sure you've got them applied and try again. Also, make sure that you're using a 3.xx series firmware, not a 4.xx version, that can cause this problem too. If you're still having problems please report it to the bcm43xx-dev mailing list on berlios.

JofCore:
The signal level is reported wrongly by the driver. See this patch for better stats: https://lists.berlios.de/pipermail/bcm43xx-dev/2006-June/002028.html.

Glass Casket:
You may have connectivity issues compared to NDISWrapper, but the driver will be free and open. Use whatever works for you.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never thought of preempt...I DO have the kernel on my laptop set to full preempt, could that be what's causing the driver problem? I never thought to try it without preempt. I'll check out the patches as soon as I get a chance. I am using a 3.x series firmware...I've tried both the one posted and the one from my Windows driver with the same results. Do you happen to know of a place where I can find the patches I need? I'm not on the mailing list, I was for a time but it was generating far too many messages for me to keep track of (I don't have enough chances to check my email since I can't at work anymore). Patches were posted frequently, but I'm not sure which ones I should use to fix this. Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JofCore
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 3:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
JofCore:
The signal level is reported wrongly by the driver. See this patch for better stats: https://lists.berlios.de/pipermail/bcm43xx-dev/2006-June/002028.html.


Ok, it's been a while since I've used the patch command... I'm getting an error when I try to patch the bcm43xx_wx.c file:
Code:
$ patch bcm43xx_wx.c bcm43xx_patch.txt
patching file bcm43xx_wx.c
patch: **** malformed patch at line 12: static int bcm43xx_wx_get_name(struct net_device *net_dev,


The bcm43xx_patch.txt was copied from that link you supplied... Maybe I copied it wrong or something, I dunno. It looks like this on my computer:
Code:
index 5c36e29..8224da1 100644
--- a/drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_wx.c
+++ b/drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_wx.c
@@ -47,6 +47,8 @@ #include "bcm43xx_phy.h"
#define BCM43xx_WX_VERSION   18

#define MAX_WX_STRING      80
+/* FIXME: the next line is a guess as to what the maximum value of rssi might be */
+#define RSSI_MAX      -25


static int bcm43xx_wx_get_name(struct net_device *net_dev,
@@ -227,15 +229,15 @@ static int bcm43xx_wx_get_rangeparams(st

range->max_qual.qual = 100;
/* TODO: Real max RSSI */
-   range->max_qual.level = 3;
-   range->max_qual.noise = 100;
-   range->max_qual.updated = 7;
-
-   range->avg_qual.qual = 70;
-   range->avg_qual.level = 2;
-   range->avg_qual.noise = 40;
-   range->avg_qual.updated = 7;
-
+   range->max_qual.level = -100;
+   range->max_qual.noise = -100;
+   range->max_qual.updated = IW_QUAL_ALL_UPDATED;
+
+   range->avg_qual.qual = 50;
+   range->avg_qual.level = -40;
+   range->avg_qual.noise = -65;
+   range->avg_qual.updated = IW_QUAL_ALL_UPDATED;
+
range->min_rts = BCM43xx_MIN_RTS_THRESHOLD;
range->max_rts = BCM43xx_MAX_RTS_THRESHOLD;
range->min_frag = MIN_FRAG_THRESHOLD;
@@ -827,6 +829,8 @@ static struct iw_statistics *bcm43xx_get
struct bcm43xx_private *bcm = bcm43xx_priv(net_dev);
struct ieee80211softmac_device *mac = ieee80211_priv(net_dev);
struct iw_statistics *wstats;
+   struct ieee80211_network *network = NULL;
+   static int tmp_level = 0;

wstats = &bcm->stats.wstats;
if (!mac->associated) {
@@ -849,11 +853,19 @@ static struct iw_statistics *bcm43xx_get
return wstats;
}
/* fill in the real statistics when iface associated */
-   wstats->qual.qual = 100;     // TODO: get the real signal quality
-   wstats->qual.level = 3 - bcm->stats.link_quality;
+   list_for_each_entry(network, &mac->ieee->network_list, list) {
+      if (!memcmp(mac->associnfo.bssid, network->bssid, ETH_ALEN)) {
+         if (!tmp_level)      /* get initial value */
+            tmp_level = network->stats.rssi;
+         else         /* smooth results */
+            tmp_level = (7 * tmp_level + network->stats.rssi)/8;
+         break;
+      }
+   }
+   wstats->qual.level = tmp_level;
+   wstats->qual.qual = 100 + tmp_level - RSSI_MAX; // TODO: get the real signal quality
wstats->qual.noise = bcm->stats.noise;
-   wstats->qual.updated = IW_QUAL_QUAL_UPDATED | IW_QUAL_LEVEL_UPDATED |
-      IW_QUAL_NOISE_UPDATED;
+   wstats->qual.updated = IW_QUAL_ALL_UPDATED;
wstats->discard.code = bcm->ieee->ieee_stats.rx_discards_undecryptable;
wstats->discard.retries = bcm->ieee->ieee_stats.tx_retry_limit_exceeded;
wstats->discard.nwid = bcm->ieee->ieee_stats.tx_discards_wrong_sa;


I'm sure I'm probably making a simple mistake, so if someone could hit me with a clue stick, I'd appreciate it!

thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wizard69
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Posts: 178
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Normally all you need to do is simply issue the following command:

patch -p0 < patch-file-name-here

This should be done from the /usr/src directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JofCore
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wizard69 wrote:
Normally all you need to do is simply issue the following command:

patch -p0 < patch-file-name-here

This should be done from the /usr/src directory.


Hmm, same error. Well, sorta... first it says it can't find the file to patch (I tried from both /usr/src and from /usr/src/linux), and then when I type in the filename so it can find it, I get the same error :(
Code:
# pwd
/usr/src/linux
# ls -l drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_wx.c
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 26658 Jun 28 13:44 drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_wx.c
# patch -p0 < bcm43xx_patch.txt
can't find file to patch at input line 4
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|index 5c36e29..8224da1 100644
|--- a/drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_wx.c
|+++ b/drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_wx.c
--------------------------
File to patch: drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_wx.c
patching file drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_wx.c
patch: **** malformed patch at line 12: static int bcm43xx_wx_get_name(struct net_device *net_dev,

Changing to -p1 fixes the "can't find the file" problem, but I still get the same error :(
Code:
# patch -p1 < bcm43xx_patch.txt
patching file drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_wx.c
patch: **** malformed patch at line 12: static int bcm43xx_wx_get_name(struct net_device *net_dev,

I thought maybe it was an end-of-line issue, but I confirmed that the bcm43xx_patch.txt file has unix linebreaks and not windoze... hmmm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piercey
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,

Just thought I'd add myself to the successful list and say thanks a lot. The driver seems to work perfectly with the onboard BCM4306 on my HP Pavilion 5000 series using no encryption and using WEP. I haven't been able to try out WPA yet, but I hear it has some connection issues (disconnects every so often). Otherwise this is excellent work in progress.

Cheers :)
_________________
[ 2008.0 X86 E8400 @ 4.0Ghz ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WesB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I managed to get through the 2.6.17 kernel compiled. In order to get the 2.6.17 kernel to show up in my emerge options, I had to add "sys-kernel/gentoo-sources ~amd64" to my /etc/portage/package.keywords file. Now I get to the step that says "emerge bcm43xx-fwcutter" and I get the following:
Code:
localhost ~ # emerge -a bcm43xx-fwcutter

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "bcm43xx-fwcutter" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- net-wireless/bcm43xx-fwcutter-004 (masked by: ~amd64 keyword)

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
refer to the Gentoo Handbook.

I've been through the emerge man page but can't seem to figure out how to remove the mask. Can someone help me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
th3_d0c
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can from the command promt under root send

echo "net-wireless/bcm43xx-fwcutter ~amd64" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords


It is basically the samething you did to gentoo-sources.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WesB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Havin_it:
There are patches for master mode and the devicescape stack. Ad-hoc is still not working.

magfrump:
It doesn't look like those patches made it in for 2.6.17. The 4319 is a 4318 with 802.11a support. It should work if you add the pci id as in http://dev.gentoo.org/~josejx/4319.patch.

I have the same problem as magfrump. The link to the patch above doesn't go anywhere. Did a google search for the patch and was able to navigate to JoseJX's posting and get the patch. Now that the patch is applied, it doesn't seem to make any difference. My laptop (HP nx6125 with AMD Turion 64 processor) appears to not know that the wireless card is there. But when I type lspci, I get the following:
Quote:
localhost ~ # lspci -vvn | grep -i 14e4
02:01.0 0200: 14e4:169c (rev 03)
02:02.0 0280: 14e4:4319 (rev 02)


I have tried two different drivers (bcmwl5.sys and bcmwl564.sys). On the windows side, the driver is bcmwl5.sys but that is a 32-bit operating system. I'm running the AMD64 kernel for gentoo so I thought that the 64-bit driver would make a difference but it doesn't.

Is something supposed to happen when the modprobe commend is entered? All I get is:
Code:
localhost ~ # modprobe bcm43xx
localhost ~ #


help????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jzono1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
bcm43xx: ASSERTION FAILED (radio_attenuation < 10) at: drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_phy.c:1485:bcm43xx_find_lopair()
SoftMAC: Authentication timed out with d6:13:8c:08:ab:50


it seems to work, but it doesn't want to turn on the radio, what's wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Asthra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why for me, when try to emerge bcm43xx, i get error finding package, is not in my /usr/portage/distfiles directory.

I have installed 2006.0 universal CD!

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jzono1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, is my error caused by Ad-Hoc mode?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
martindv
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 171
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have a little question here... i downloaded wl.o i did bcm43xx-fwcutter -w /lib/wl.o im asked to put a filename (bcmwl5.sys)?
since this is a native driver for linux.. why im supposed to install a windows driver?

reards.
_________________
Gentoo Rulez

AMD Athlon XP 2800+ @2.08Ghz
Asus A7V8NX-E-Deluxe
Nvidia Nforce2 chipset
1GB Ram
ASUS GeForce N6600 256MB RAM
2 IDE HDDS @Primary/Secondary Master
1 120GB HDD @Sata Channel #0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
martindv
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 171
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im having the following error, does somebody how to solve it?

Code:

Gentoo martin # bcm43xx-fwcutter -w /lib/wl-3.37.6 BCMWL5.SYS
bcm43xx-fwcutter can cut the firmware out of BCMWL5.SYS

  filename :  bcmwl5.sys
  version  :  3.104.64.50
  MD5      :  12554a8f91c5d565b96b6ebcfeb6a91a

extracting bcm43xx_microcode2.fw ...
extracting bcm43xx_microcode4.fw ...
extracting bcm43xx_microcode5.fw ...
*****: Sorry, it's not posible to extract "bcm43xx_microcode11.fw".
*****: Extracting firmware from an old driver is bad. Choose a more recent one.
*****: Luckily bcm43xx driver doesn't include microcode1
1 uploads at the moment.
*****: But this can be added in the future...
extracting bcm43xx_pcm4.fw ...
extracting bcm43xx_pcm5.fw ...
extracting bcm43xx_initval01.fw ...
extracting bcm43xx_initval02.fw ...
extracting bcm43xx_initval03.fw ...
extracting bcm43xx_initval04.fw ...
extracting bcm43xx_initval05.fw ...
extracting bcm43xx_initval06.fw ...
extracting bcm43xx_initval07.fw ...
extracting bcm43xx_initval08.fw ...
extracting bcm43xx_initval09.fw ...
extracting bcm43xx_initval10.fw ...
Gentoo martin #                                   


regards
_________________
Gentoo Rulez

AMD Athlon XP 2800+ @2.08Ghz
Asus A7V8NX-E-Deluxe
Nvidia Nforce2 chipset
1GB Ram
ASUS GeForce N6600 256MB RAM
2 IDE HDDS @Primary/Secondary Master
1 120GB HDD @Sata Channel #0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timotheus25
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Location: *upstate* New York, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:08 pm    Post subject: use gcc 4.1.1 if possible Reply with quote

For those who use a G4 Powerbook with BCM43XX, I thought I'd mention that my vanilla 2.6.17 bcm43xx kernel driver behaves much better when compiled with gcc-4.1.1 rather than gcc-3.4.6. Something to do with softmac dropping the WEP key just after setting it for an 802.11g network. The issue disappears when running a kernel compiled with the newer compiler, and no other configuration changes. (Of course, the kernel as a whole runs better with the new compiler, but that's another matter.)
_________________
http://tstotts.net/linux/gentoopb.html
http://tstotts.net/linux/gentooinsp640m.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

martindv:
The card does not have a ROM where it stores the device microcode. You must get this microcode from a driver since we are not legally allowed to redistribute it. There are no errors with that extraction that you posted, it will work fine.

jzono1:
Ad-hoc is not supported.

Asthra:
The ebuilds are not supported any longer. Use a 2.6.17 kernel, it's built in.

WesB:
The patch link is correct, but UBB added the period to the link, sorry. It's: http://dev.gentoo.org/~josejx/4319.patch. Are you sure that you've compiled the driver with the patch and that is the version that is being loaded? Like I said, the only issue is that your PCI ID isn't included. The patch addresses that.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WesB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
WesB:
The patch link is correct, but UBB added the period to the link, sorry. It's: http://dev.gentoo.org/~josejx/4319.patch. Are you sure that you've compiled the driver with the patch and that is the version that is being loaded? Like I said, the only issue is that your PCI ID isn't included. The patch addresses that.

I guess I'm not sure how to do that. I emerged bcm43xx and then applied the patch. If that isn't the order, please let me know.

Thanks,
Wes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jb1979
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all,

I've been reading the whole thread and I found many things that helped me go further, but now, I'm stuck !!!

I have an HP zv6000 series AMD64 laptop, Gentoo with 2.6.17 kernel compiled properly according to the HARDWARE_Gentoo_Linux_64bit_on_HP_Pavilion_zv6000_series_notebook and this thread.

So, let's sum up what's ok and what's not:

1. rs-status lists the following as mounted : netmount, local, syslog-ng, hotplug and coldplug
2. lsmod gives:

Module Size Used by
bcm43xx 422400 0
ieee80211softmac 28928 1 bcm43xx
ieee80211 45416 2 bcm43xx, ieee80211softmac
ieee80211_crypt 6784 1 ieee80211


3. In the directory /usr/lib/hotplug/firmware/ I can see the following files:

bcm43xx_initval01.fw thru bcm43xx_initval10.fw
bcm43xx_microcode11.fw
bcm43xx_microcode2.fw
bcm43xx_microcode4.fw
bcm43xx_microcode5.fw
bcm43xx_pcm4.fw
bcm43xx_pcm5.fw


4. The LED on the wifi button is ON (before I begin it was OFF)

5. ifconfig returns

eth2 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:off/any Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
Mode:Managed Access Point: Invalid Bit rate=1 Mb/s
RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Link Quality:0 Signal Level:0 Noise Level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0



And when I type : ifconfig eth2 up, I get SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory

???????

I've read it might be related with firmware ?? Is it properly installed ?? What should I do ??

Many thanks for your help !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
martindv
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 171
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
martindv:
The card does not have a ROM where it stores the device microcode. You must get this microcode from a driver since we are not legally allowed to redistribute it. There are no errors with that extraction that you posted, it will work fine.


JoseJX,
Thanks for your reply, you mean i need to get a more recent bcmwl5.sys in order to extract the microcode? Did i do something wrong cause the message says that bcm43xx-fwcutter was unable to extract the microcode, but it was doing what the guide says...

Thanks in advance
_________________
Gentoo Rulez

AMD Athlon XP 2800+ @2.08Ghz
Asus A7V8NX-E-Deluxe
Nvidia Nforce2 chipset
1GB Ram
ASUS GeForce N6600 256MB RAM
2 IDE HDDS @Primary/Secondary Master
1 120GB HDD @Sata Channel #0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

martindv:
Exactly like I said before, you've extracted the firmware properly, there is no problem. Read the error message closely, it's saying a newer driver might be better because it includes newer firmware, but the only firmware missing is the version 11 firmware which isn't even used.

jb1973:
You aren't loading the firmware properly. Make sure that the paths are set properly in hotplug or that you've setup udev to handle the firmware upload itself.

WesB:
Do *not* use the ebuilds. They're obsolete and masked for a reason. Use a 2.6.17 kernel. Patch the kernel source with the 4319 patch and then compile the patched kernel source.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timotheus25
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Location: *upstate* New York, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jb1979 wrote:

3. In the directory /usr/lib/hotplug/firmware/ I can see the following files:

bcm43xx_initval01.fw thru bcm43xx_initval10.fw
bcm43xx_microcode11.fw
bcm43xx_microcode2.fw
bcm43xx_microcode4.fw
bcm43xx_microcode5.fw
bcm43xx_pcm4.fw
bcm43xx_pcm5.fw



I use bcm43xx. My firmware is located in: /lib/firmware .
Code:

# ls -l /lib/firmware/
total 92
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  3456 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_initval01.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root     0 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_initval02.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  3456 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_initval03.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root     0 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_initval04.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  2416 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_initval05.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   232 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_initval06.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  2416 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_initval07.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   232 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_initval09.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   232 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_initval10.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 15752 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_microcode2.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 17568 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_microcode4.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 20160 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_microcode5.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  1144 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_pcm4.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  1144 2005-12-10 20:41 bcm43xx_pcm5.fw

_________________
http://tstotts.net/linux/gentoopb.html
http://tstotts.net/linux/gentooinsp640m.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
martindv
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 171
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
martindv:
Exactly like I said before, you've extracted the firmware properly, there is no problem. Read the error message closely, it's saying a newer driver might be better because it includes newer firmware, but the only firmware missing is the version 11 firmware which isn't even used.
.


Jose,
Can you please give me a link to get a driver that work ok (i mean a new driver that dosent show any warning) .. cause i tried several drivers and i have the same message.

By the way i could bring the interface up. Now im trying to configure WPA_supplicant, but no driver works... manpage says that wl.o driver would work but i dont know how to make it work with wpa supplicant

Regars.
_________________
Gentoo Rulez

AMD Athlon XP 2800+ @2.08Ghz
Asus A7V8NX-E-Deluxe
Nvidia Nforce2 chipset
1GB Ram
ASUS GeForce N6600 256MB RAM
2 IDE HDDS @Primary/Secondary Master
1 120GB HDD @Sata Channel #0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29 ... 40, 41, 42  Next
Page 28 of 42

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum