Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
PowerBook (TiBook DVI) won't boot Linux after Tiger install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:55 am    Post subject: PowerBook (TiBook DVI) won't boot Linux after Tiger install Reply with quote

I have a PowerBook G4 (Titanium, 667 MHz, DVI), and I have been dual-booting Gentoo and Mac OS X for a year and a half. I recnetly installed Mac OS 10.4, and now I cannot boot into Linux at all. I've tried to start up from Gentoo LiveCD's and Ubuntu LiveCD's and Install CD's, and from the Gentoo installation on my hard drive.

Originally, instead of giving me a choice, it would just automatically start Mac OS. I reset the PRAM, and now it brings me to the 2nd stage bootloader menu (if I want Mac OS, I have to hold down "option" to bring up the choices) but says this at the "boot:" prompt:
Code:
hd:3,/vmlinux: Unknown or corrupt filesystem

I haven't chaned anything with my kernel or bootloader since I installed Tiger. I try to boot from Linux CD's by holding down the "C" key, but nothing happens. I try to boot from them by holding "option" at startup and then clicking the corresponding icon, and the screen flickers temporarily but returns to the icon selection screen with a white mouse pointer instead of a black one and slightly distorted icons. I try and use the Mac OS "Startup Disk" system preferences, but it does not show any Linux bootable CD's that happen to be inserted.

Actually, come to think of it, I have OS 9 on a separate partition, and Startup Disk it doesn't show that as a choice, either, nor does the Open Firmware icon selection screen show it.

The computer has no problem booting the Mac OS Install CD.

Any help or insights would be appreciated. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you install osx after linux the bootloader will be overwritten. Reinstall yaboot and things should work again.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The thing is, I can't reinstall yaboot because I can't get the computer to boot into Linux at all (which I would need to do in order to run mkofboot?).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The how did you install gentoo in the first place if you can only boot from the harddisk?
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been using Gentoo for over a year; it is only after I recently upgraded to Tiger that I started having these problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everyone stumped?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stimuli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you can't boot a linux bootable CD by pressing C at boot time then yes, I'm stumped. You've tried everything I'd recommend. I haven't encountered such a problem.

Sorry hombré!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A couple more pieces of information:

I have an MCE DVD+-R/W dual layer drive instead of the stock one (which broke). Since I installed that, I couldn't boot using "C" and had to hold option while booting. Otherwise, everything else is true.

Suppose my firmware is totally screwed. Is there a way to re-flash the firmware? Also, I read something about resetting the logic board for a desktop PowerMac that involved removing the clock battery, leaving it out, and hitting the reset button, but I don't know if that's applicable to PowerBooks. Would just backing up and wiping everything help? Anyone have any thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you boot into open firmware? (Apple + Option + O + F) If so, can you boot from the CD from openfirmware?

Have you tried this?
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml#bwof
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The result of that:

Code:
0 > boot cd:,\\yaboot  can't OPEN: cd:,\\yaboot
 ok
0 >
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you can get into open firmware, can you post the variables that are set in the open firmware environment?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

0 > printenv
-------------- Partition: common -------- Signature: 0x70 ---------------
little-endian?          false                   false
real-mode?              false                   false
auto-boot?              true                    true
diag-switch?            false                   false
fcode-debug?            false                   false
oem-banner?             false                   false
oem-logo?               false                   false
use-nvramrc?            false                   false
use-generic?            false                   false
default-mac-address?    false                   false
scroll-lock             true                    true
real-base               -1                      -1
real-size               -1                      -1
load-base               0x800000                0x800000
virt-base               -1                      -1
virt-size               -1                      -1
pci-probe-mask          -1                      -1
screen-#columns         100                     100
screen-#rows            40                      40
selftest-#megs          0                       0
boot-device             /pci@f2000000/mac-io@17/ata-4@1f000/@0:10,\\:tbxi hd:,\\tbxi
boot-file
boot-screen
diag-device             enet                    enet
diag-file               ,diags                  ,diags
input-device            keyboard                keyboard
output-device           screen                  screen
input-device-1          scca                    scca
output-device-1         scca                    scca
mouse-device            mouse                   mouse
oem-banner
oem-logo
nvramrc
boot-command            mac-boot                mac-boot
default-client-ip
default-server-ip
default-gateway-ip       
default-subnet-mask
default-router-ip
boot-script
aapl,pci                Use PRINT-AAPL,PCI to view
ram-size                30783230 30303030 3030
boot-args
prev-lang:kbd           656e3a30


[edit:]
Also, I figured it might boot Linux from a hard disk that had it properly installed, so I switched in the hard drive from a PowerBook G3 Lombard that has only Gentoo installed. It still didn't work. Starting up with the Option key and then selecting the hard drive, I got a Yaboot stage 1, pressed L, and then got sent back to the original selection screen with messed up icons and a white pointer. Just letting it start up, I got the Yaboot stage 1 again, and then a distorted system folder icon with a flashing question mark superimposed on the Yaboot stage 1 screen.

2 observations:
1) Even if the bootloader on my original hard drive were fixed to point to the right kernel file, it wouldn't work. The problem is not with the hard drive.
2) The behavior with the G3 hard disk is the same as with CD's. If the CD offered a Stage 1 menu, it would probably show, and then do same thing anyway.

I have pictures of these weird distorted screens that I can e-mail if anyone thinks they might help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The boot device variable looks really wrong, try removing the hd,\\:tbxi from the end.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried
Code:

setenv boot-device /pci@f2000000/mac-io@17/ata-4@1f000/@0:10,\\:tbxi

but then printenv showed the same thing, and nothing changed.

Isn't the trailing hd:,\\tbxi just part of that second column in the printenv output?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, you're right, I misread the line. I'm also out of ideas, sorry.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, thanks anyway. I suppose I could try to sell the thing to someone who's never heard of Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

P.S. I called Apple and described the problem, and, as expected, they said they can't troubleshoot Linux because they don't support it, and that taking it to an Apple Store for repair might not do any good either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, one last thing to try, boot to OF and type:
Code:
dir cd:\

If the CD contents show up, type
Code:
boot cd:\boot\ofboot.b

If the CD contents do not show up, your cd:\ alias is broken, find the cd drive on the ATA bus (with dev / followed by ls) and give the full path instead of cd in the last instruction.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
0 > dir cd:\  can't open the DIR device
 ok

...

0 > boot /pci@f2000000/mac-io@17/ata-4@1f000/disk:\boot\ofboot.b   can't OPEN: /pci@f2000000/mac-io@17/ata-4@1f000/disk:\boot\ofboot.b
 ok
0 > boot /pci@f2000000/mac-io@17/ata-3@20000/disk:\boot\ofboot.b   can't OPEN: /pci@f2000000/mac-io@17/ata-3@20000/disk:\boot\ofboot.b
 ok
0 > boot /pci@f2000000/mac-io@17/ata-3@21000/disk:\boot\ofboot.b   can't OPEN: /pci@f2000000/mac-io@17/ata-3@21000/disk:\boot\ofboot.b
 ok
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a pretty important detail that I completely blanked out on before!

After I had upgraded to 10.4, I booted into Linux (successfully) and tried to use Mac-On-Linux. It didn't work, and I wondered if a newer version would support Tiger, so I set the keyword to ~ppc for mol, and re-emerged / upgraded it. Then, somewhere in the next few minutes, I believe when I either tried to run MOL as it was or try some trick from some bulletin board in order to get it to work with Tiger, everything froze entirely - either with a blank screen, or with some weird multicolored screen, or with a solid grey or almost-white screen (I could be wrong). THEN, when I restarted (and I can't remember if I had to do something crazy like take the battery out to get it to reboot), it would no longer boot into Linux.

Alright. Now we're talking. This is the key piece of information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh well. Maybe it wasn't so key. I guess everyone's stumped. Time to erase my Linux partition and expand another one to take its place using parted... but oh yeah, I can't use parted because I can't boot from anything that will allow me to run it! (unless someone knows how to make a bootable Mac OS or Darwin CD with parted on it)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the CD contents can't be listed with dir cd:\ can you check to make sure that the CD is readable from OSX? Does the OSX cd's contents show from OF?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musicman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't completely understand the questions. The contents cannot be listed with dir cd:\ . OS X can read the CD's I've tried to boot from. The second question - are you asking whether or not I can do dir cd:\ on an OS X boot disc as opposed to a Linux boot disc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, since you said those will boot. If it doesn't list the contents, I'm not sure how OF is booting the disc. :p
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum