Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Battery meter for Gnome panel?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
blixel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 403
Location: Central, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 1:58 am    Post subject: Battery meter for Gnome panel? Reply with quote

I installed gnome-light on my G4 iBook. I'd like to find a battery status meter for the panel. I did an "emerge -s batt" and found battstat. But it's masked by the "x86" keyword. Which, I assume, means it's for x86 systems only. I know there is a working battery meter for the PPC version because it's there when you install Ubuntu. Does anyone know what the package is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyberjun
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2005
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I think you need to install gnome-applets. It contains many useful applets and battery status monitor is one of them. Once installed you will be able to access it by choosing "Add to panel" menu option (which you see after right-clicking on a panel).

cheers,
--cyberjun
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blixel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 403
Location: Central, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cyberjun wrote:
Hi,
I think you need to install gnome-applets. It contains many useful applets and battery status monitor is one of them. Once installed you will be able to access it by choosing "Add to panel" menu option (which you see after right-clicking on a panel).


Hmm.... that was actually the first thing I tried. Installing gnome-applets that is. It's not in my "Add to panel" options though.

Actually ... is it because I don't have the "apm" USE flag enabled? I disabled that flag because it wants to install apmd ... I was thinking apm stuff was obsolete.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyberjun
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2005
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Even I don't have apm enabled. I use acpi though. yes apm is obsolete. But it depends on the notebook. If the notebook doesn't support acpi and only supports apm then you will have to go with it. Sorry I don't have any experience with iBook. I use a toshiba laptop. I use acpi and the battery status applet works. The files related to battery applet in the package gnome-applets are:
Code:

localhost ~ # equery files gnome-applets | grep batt
/etc/gconf/schemas/battstat.schemas
/etc/sound/events/battstat_applet.soundlist
/usr/libexec/battstat-applet-2
/usr/share/doc/gnome-applets-2.12.2/battstat
/usr/share/doc/gnome-applets-2.12.2/battstat/ChangeLog.gz
/usr/share/gnome-applets/glade/battstat_applet.glade
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/C
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/C/battstat.xml
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/C/figures
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/C/figures/battstat-applet-expanded.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/C/figures/battstat-applet.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/C/figures/battstat-credits-hal.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/C/figures/battstat-preferences.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/C/figures/context-menu.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/C/legal.xml
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/es
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/es/battstat.xml
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/es/figures
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/es/figures/battstat-applet-expanded.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/es/figures/battstat-applet.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/es/figures/battstat-credits-hal.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/es/figures/battstat-preferences.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/es/figures/context-menu.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/uk
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/uk/battstat.xml
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/uk/figures
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/uk/figures/battstat-applet-expanded.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/uk/figures/battstat-applet.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/uk/figures/battstat-credits-hal.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/uk/figures/battstat-preferences.png
/usr/share/gnome/help/battstat/uk/figures/context-menu.png
/usr/share/omf/battstat
/usr/share/omf/battstat/battstat-C.omf
/usr/share/omf/battstat/battstat-es.omf
/usr/share/omf/battstat/battstat-uk.omf



and the process which shows the battery monitor is
Code:
localhost ~ # ps -aef|grep batt
homeuser 11429     1  0 Dec25 ?        00:00:01 /usr/libexec/battstat-applet-2 --oaf-activate-iid=OAFIID:GNOME_BattstatApplet_Factory --oaf-ior-fd=37
root     19163 19136  0 10:26 pts/0    00:00:00 grep batt


You can try to execute the /usr/libexec/battstat-applet-2 command directly and see what happens

cheers,
--cyberjun
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the "battery charge monitor" applet available from:
Code:
[ebuild   R   ] gnome-base/gnome-applets-2.12.2  +acpi -apm -debug -hal -ipv6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blixel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 403
Location: Central, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the replies.

Weird, I don't have the acpi USE flag when I look at the USE flags for gnome-applets.

Code:
[ebuild   R   ] gnome-base/gnome-applets-2.12.2  USE="-apm -debug hal -ipv6" 0 kB


I do have CONFIG_PM=y and CONFIG_PM_LEGACY=y and CONFIG_SOFTWARE_SUSPEND=y in my kernel config. Maybe that is wrong on a Mac?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blixel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 403
Location: Central, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the sys-power/acpid ebuild, it shows "-ppc" as one of the keywords. I assume that means acpi is not available for that platform? (As you can tell, I don't know a lot about Mac hardware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ACPI is not supported on PPC, but there is a PMU->APM emulation layer. You could also try gkrellm-pmu, but you'll need to use the 2.4 version, the stable version isn't working correctly with the current version of pbbuttonsd.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blixel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 403
Location: Central, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
ACPI is not supported on PPC, but there is a PMU->APM emulation layer.


Ah, yes ... I remember seeing the kernel option for that now. Fortunately I did include it. So ... I can add apm to my /etc/make.conf then I guess ... should I add apmd to my startup and run the daemon? Or does the PMU->APM not actually need apmd to be running all the time?

Also ... what are these powerbook-tools?

Quote:
You could also try gkrellm-pmu, but you'll need to use the 2.4 version, the stable version isn't working correctly with the current version of pbbuttonsd.


Thanks ... I'll look into it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blixel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 403
Location: Central, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm kind of confused here about something.

I have pbbuttonsd setup. It seems to work just fine. I was looking at powerbook-tools and the gtkbuttons seem really interesting. I'd like to continue running the gtkbuttons with my Gnome session. But what is pmud for? It seems redundant with pbbuttonsd. Is one better than the other? Is pmud obsoleted by pbbuttonsd? Do gtkbuttons require pmud though? (pmud was included in the powerbook-tools meta package) The powerprefs utility seems interesting as well. A nice visual way to control the power settings. But there's no Gnome menu for it, and the settings don't seem to actually do anything. I changed a couple of options around, but they don't "take".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, pmud is an older tool, pbbuttonsd now includes support for everything pmud did. (It should say this in the pbbuttonsd manual file afaik.) For powerprefs, you'll need to be sure to run it as root, it edits the pbbuttonsd configuration file in /etc.

There's no need to run apmd, it's handled by the emulation layer.

I wasn't actually aware of the powerbook-tools package (d'oh). It needs to be updated, I'll do that soon.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blixel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 403
Location: Central, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Well, pmud is an older tool, pbbuttonsd now includes support for everything pmud did. (It should say this in the pbbuttonsd manual file afaik.)


OK ... I'll un-emerge pmud then.

JoseJX wrote:
For powerprefs, you'll need to be sure to run it as root, it edits the pbbuttonsd configuration file in /etc.


Ah ... ok. Hmm... there's no way for individual users to set their own power preferences? I understand that you may want to set certain preferences as root and have them be set in stone, unchanging. But other preferences should, I would think, be user definable. For example, how long until the display goes dim. That seems like a safe enough thing to let each user decide.

JoseJX wrote:
There's no need to run apmd, it's handled by the emulation layer.


OK. It does have to be installed though I've noticed. I emerged gnome-applets with the "apm" USE flag enabled so I would get the battery meter, then I un-emerged apmd, thinking it was unnecessary. But then the battery meter wouldn't even start. So apparently, there is something in that package that has to be on the system.

Quote:
I wasn't actually aware of the powerbook-tools package (d'oh). It needs to be updated, I'll do that soon.


I wasn't aware of it either until I started poking around the /usr/portage/app-laptop directory. I was just seeing what was in there and happened upon the powerbook-tools. I am glad I found it though because I really like gtkpbbuttons. Having the little visual popup to show me how many "ticks" I have for my screen brightness is very useful. Without the visual display, it's kind of a guessing game. But yeah, it would be cool to have that package updated so that it excluded pmud.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum