Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
how to make the G5 slower like in Tiger?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 8:08 pm    Post subject: how to make the G5 slower like in Tiger? Reply with quote

Hello...

1. Problem:
I would like to clock down my PowerMac Dual G5 under Gentoo. How do I make that? Under MacOS X tiger goes that!

2. Problem:
If I hear music in XMMS, one CPU stands by 99,9%. Then the fans go nearly to full speed. What is wrong with my XMMS? Has anyone the same Problem?

Maybe my CFLAGS in the make.conf is helpful!?!?

CFLAGS="-O2 -mcpu=G5 -mabi=altivec -maltivec"

Is that wrong? :oops:

One further Information: I use the PPC64-32ul-Package!!! :roll:

Sewulba
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for the first problem: it is not yet possible to slow down G5 cpus. benh is working on implementing the code for this. could take some while though.

second problem: xmms works fine here, but I'm using 64ul. are you outputting the sound directly using alsa or are you using a sounddaemon like arts? you could also try out beep-media-player.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

corsair wrote:
for the first problem: it is not yet possible to slow down G5 cpus. benh is working on implementing the code for this. could take some while though.

second problem: xmms works fine here, but I'm using 64ul. are you outputting the sound directly using alsa or are you using a sounddaemon like arts? you could also try out beep-media-player.


64ul was on my Mac before I used 32ul. By the 64ul I had the Problem with VIM! He works fine and wrote all data to the File. But with an error showing like segmentation fault. So I decided for 32ul. There the most thinks works fine. Only Streamtuner, Streamripper and XMMS won´ t work right. No errors by you with working in VIM?


Sewulba
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the vim problem is known. you could have either compiled vim with USE="-perl" or using a newer gcc version (>=gcc-4.0).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One last question on you CORSAIR! On 64ul, what Browser do you use? I have seen on www.gentoo.portage.com that only Mozilla is available for PPC64... No Firefox... And Mozilla is masked!!! :cry:
I think that was the thing, so that I has installed PPC64-32ul. To get more programs, such like streamtuner and so on...
Maybe my CFLAGS was bad? I had a really unstable System. What CFLAGS do you use???

Sewulba

PS.: I make my System new. So I need information for deciding what UL (64 or 32) I want to use!!! :roll:
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,

yea, mozilla and firefox are not yet available in 64bit userland :(

the good thing is, that tgall (ppc64 project leader) is debugging as much as he can. The problem is that we don't know where the bad code is. maybe it is in toolchain, gcc or mozilla itself....

I am using konqueror on ppc64 at the moment. I am a fluxbox user, so this is not what I like to run, but it is currently the only useable brower. :?

Did your G5 powered off? that was a problem with the kernel. see here or here for more details.

Regards,

Markus

EDIT: oh. and here are my CFLAGS="-O3 -pipe -mtune=970 -mcpu=970 -mabi=altivec"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mozilla was not masked on PPC64-64ul and was able to compile for me!!!
NOW the Problem is, that Mozilla don´t work. I can start it, but not type in any Homepage-Adress!!! Why is Mozilla not masked???

Sew
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mozilla is currently in the testing "branch" (i.e. ~ppc64). So don't expect anything to work 100% in that "branch".

take a look at bug #89418 and/or bug #101821

it should have been fixed *some* month ago, but the problem is a little bit tricky..

Regards,

markus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hawaiian717
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2004
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 2.6.16 kernel (released today; vanilla-sources has it in ~ppc and ~ppc64, gentoo-sources isn't upgraded yet) has cpufreq support for the G5. If I understand this correctly, this will allow you to change the clock speed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That would be nice!!! If it works!!! :-)
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, it definetly works! I keyworded cpudynd ~ppc64 a few days ago. My dual 2ghz runs on dual 1.8ghz if it is not stressed. It would be nice if there would be even lower frequencies...

Regards,

Markus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeahhhhhhhhh!!! :D Only by Vanilla-Kernel?

Sew
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay it ist also on Kernel 2.6.16-gentoo-r2... But I can`t see any affect on 'cat /proc/cpuinfo'... Is there any other posibillity to see wheather CPU i slowing down?

Sew
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you have kernel support enabled? i.e. you see something like this?

Code:

G5 ~ # cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies
2000000 1800000
G5 ~ #


and you did something like this?

Code:

G5 ~ # echo "sys-power/cpudyn" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords [i](if you are not running ~ppc64[/i]
G5 ~ # emerge cpudyn
G5 ~ # /etc/init.d/cpudynd start
G5 ~ # rc-update add cpudynd default


after I did this I am getting this when the machine does nothing:

Code:

G5 ~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
cpu             : PPC970FX, altivec supported
clock           : 1800.000000MHz
revision        : 3.1 (pvr 003c 0301)

processor       : 1
cpu             : PPC970FX, altivec supported
clock           : 1800.000000MHz
revision        : 3.1 (pvr 003c 0301)

timebase        : 33333333
machine         : PowerMac7,3
motherboard     : PowerMac7,3 MacRISC4 Power Macintosh
detected as     : 336 (PowerMac G5)
pmac flags      : 00000000
L2 cache        : 512K unified
pmac-generation : NewWorld
G5 ~ #


So try to find out if kernel support is done correctly and then check if cpudyn is running.

Regards,

markus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I run ~ppc64... When CPUDYN stopps it makes an error! Maybe it only works on ~ppc?!?!
Support in Kernel i right!!!
I think CPUDYNd is my Problem! :cry:

I got this...
Code:
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies
2700000 2000000


CPUDYN doesn't run correct by me! :?

Sew
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm.. maybe your powermac is not yet supported correctly. could you try to set the frequency manualy? (something like "echo 2000000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/*some file I don't recall*" should do it)

markus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know the file, too!
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is what I can do to verify that cpu scaling works on the kernel side:

the important step is "echo 1800000 > scaling_max_freq" and "cat scaling_cur_freq" (put in the lower value from scaling_available_frequencies instead of 1800000)

Code:

G5 ~ # /etc/init.d/cpudyn stop
 * Stopping cpudynd ...                                                   [ ok ]
G5 ~ # cd /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/
G5 cpufreq # cat scaling_cur_freq
2000000
G5 cpufreq # echo 1800000 > scaling_max_freq
G5 cpufreq # cat scaling_cur_freq
1800000
G5 cpufreq # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
cpu             : PPC970FX, altivec supported
clock           : 1800.000000MHz
revision        : 3.1 (pvr 003c 0301)

processor       : 1
cpu             : PPC970FX, altivec supported
clock           : 1800.000000MHz
revision        : 3.1 (pvr 003c 0301)

timebase        : 33333333
machine         : PowerMac7,3
motherboard     : PowerMac7,3 MacRISC4 Power Macintosh
detected as     : 336 (PowerMac G5)
pmac flags      : 00000000
L2 cache        : 512K unified
pmac-generation : NewWorld
G5 cpufreq # echo 2000000 > scaling_max_freq
G5 cpufreq # cd
G5 ~ # /etc/init.d/cpudyn start
 * Starting cpudynd ...                                                   [ ok ]

NOW DOING SOMETHING CPU INTENSIVE FROM ANOTHER CONSOLE

G5 ~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
cpu             : PPC970FX, altivec supported
clock           : 2000.000000MHz
revision        : 3.1 (pvr 003c 0301)

processor       : 1
cpu             : PPC970FX, altivec supported
clock           : 2000.000000MHz
revision        : 3.1 (pvr 003c 0301)

timebase        : 33333333
machine         : PowerMac7,3
motherboard     : PowerMac7,3 MacRISC4 Power Macintosh
detected as     : 336 (PowerMac G5)
pmac flags      : 00000000
L2 cache        : 512K unified
pmac-generation : NewWorld
G5 ~ #


could you do the same and tell me how far you get? or that is to say what does work and what does not.

markus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sewulba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay... If I say to System:

Code:
echo 2000000 > cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq && echo 2000000 > cpu1/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq


Then it works and set the speed to both CPUs to 2GHz...

If I type in Konsole:
Code:
/etc/init.d/cpudyn status


I got an 'started'

If I want to stop them I got:
Code:
/etc/init.d/cpudyn stop
* Stopping cpudynd ...                           [ [color=red] !![/color] ]


So I think Cpudyn don't work correct under PPC64-64ul!

A futher error I got on starting /etc/init.d/clock start

It says:
Code:
* Failed to set system clock to hardware clock


What is that? I never had that!

Sew :oops:
_________________
System1:Apple PowerMac Dual G4 @ 1,83GHz with 2GB Ram. 400GB + 80GB HDD, Gentoo 13.0-ppc32
System2:Apple MacIntosh PowerMac Dual G5 @ 2.7 GHz/1,35GHz FSB... 8GB Ram. 250GB SATA. Gentoo 10.0-PPC64-64ul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum