Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
help with conflict between openmotif and motif-config
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:48 pm    Post subject: help with conflict between openmotif and motif-config Reply with quote

When I do emerge -pv --update --deep --newuse world I get:
Code:

[blocks B     ] =x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r3 (is blocking x11-libs/motif-config-0.9)
among other more usual stuff. So I did:
Code:
samuel ~ # emerge --tree --update --deep x11-libs/openmotif
>>> --tree implies --pretend... adding --pretend to options.

These are the packages that I would merge, in reverse order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[blocks B     ] =x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r3 (is blocking x11-libs/motif-config-0.9)
[ebuild     U ] x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r8 [2.2.3-r3]
[ebuild  N    ]  x11-libs/motif-config-0.9 
samuel ~ #
Now what do I do? It would seem that I need to unmerge =x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r3 and re-emerge as above, but shouldn't this be taken care of automatically? Is my portage tree screwed up? Or have I found a bug? Or is there a problem with the unmerge tactic I just described?

I have this problem on several machines I recently installed...

Thanks for helping me to resolve this puzzle. :roll:
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dgaffuri
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2005
Posts: 2078
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:39 pm    Post subject: Re: help with conflict between openmotif and motif-config Reply with quote

Moriah wrote:
It would seem that I need to unmerge =x11-libs/openmotif-2.2.3-r3 and re-emerge as above, but shouldn't this be taken care of automatically?

Exactly, and it's up to you to consider it a bug (and your portage tree is not screwed up, same happened to me).
_________________
Adopt an unanswered post
If you feel that your problem has been solved please edit the top post and add [solved] to the subject
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7221
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Duplicate Threads, please see this topic.
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum