Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
my boss gave me a G3 to play with - no monitor, kb, etc.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jmahler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 6:05 am    Post subject: my boss gave me a G3 to play with - no monitor, kb, etc. Reply with quote

It's a very pretty G3 box, feels very 2000. :)

AAAANYWAY it's fairly useless to me, since I don't have an extra monitor laying around I can use to get it started into a gentoo install (so i can start ssh etc) - is there a way I could plug the nic into my router, boot it to a gentoo cd, and get ssh up and running without plugging in a monitor / kb? that would make my life SOOOO much easier...
was thinking I'd run a web server off of it from here for the heck of it, and any other suggestions are more than welcome as well.

has 384 MB ram, and a hard drive I'm about to replace with a 60 gig deathstar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'll need a keyboard, but
  • Boot the LiveCD
  • Give it enough time to load and get to command prompt
  • Type passwd
  • Enter a root password and hit enter
  • Enter the same password again and hit return
  • Type /etc/init.d/sshd start
  • Now you can ssh in from you other machine and install
    (You may have to ping to find the IP assigned to this box, or check your router for the IP it assigned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmahler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Headrush wrote:
You'll need a keyboard, but
  • Boot the LiveCD
  • Give it enough time to load and get to command prompt
  • Type passwd
  • Enter a root password and hit enter
  • Enter the same password again and hit return
  • Type /etc/init.d/sshd start
  • Now you can ssh in from you other machine and install
    (You may have to ping to find the IP assigned to this box, or check your router for the IP it assigned.



wonderful! thank you... do you know, offhand, if the default behavior of a mac is to boot from cd first?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Still outside the Matrix ...

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might find this interesting:

http://www.osnews.com/story.php?news_id=13648
_________________
This space available!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmahler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dhave wrote:
You might find this interesting:

http://www.osnews.com/story.php?news_id=13648


that is interesting actually... if i had an extra monitor laying around i'd probably go ahead and use os9 on it, but since i don't... i'm just making it a utility server, i guess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
COiN3D
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Aug 2004
Posts: 543
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh my god, a G3, how nice, so you're able to use yaboot, right?

I tried out to install Gentoo on a very old PowerMac 7600/120, but didn't get the live-cd running. :cry:

Good luck anyways ;)
_________________
e17 documentation | Be free and use Jabber as your IM! | Combine IRC and IM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmahler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

COiN3D wrote:
Oh my god, a G3, how nice, so you're able to use yaboot, right?

I tried out to install Gentoo on a very old PowerMac 7600/120, but didn't get the live-cd running. :cry:

Good luck anyways ;)


no idea about yaboot, or what it even is... google, here i come. :) thank you! i'll probably post progress somewhere on this board, since I KNOW I'm going to get stuck somewhere along the line, and this place has always been awesome for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Gentoo on PPC.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's a Blue and White G3 or an iMac G3 then it is a new-world machine and should boot from the Gentoo InstallCDs just fine. If it's a Beige Box, then it's an old-world machine and pretty much impossible to boot without a monitor. (Requires MacOS9).

If it's a new-world Mac, then the only thing to add to the instructions you were given below is that to boot, you need to hold the c key down at startup. Also, be aware that if it's a B+W, the IDE devices can be a little tricky, watch out for flip floping hda/hdc names for the two different controllers.

There are some differences in bootloaders and partitioning, so *please* read the PPC handbook before starting your install.

Good Luck!
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmahler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well... update:
i brought it into the office to plug into one of our spare monitors, plugged in the kb and a mouse... and....
it doesn't boot.

it powers on, but nothing happens. no signal to the monitor, no mac sound.

how the hell do you troubleshoot one of these things?? :) this is certainly more fun than i should be allowed to have as a net admin.

edit: it's a powermac g3, blue/white.

edit 2: played with buttons on the motherboard, reseated the battery, booting ubuntu right now. we'll see how it works out from here - gentoo is next! woohoo!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmahler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One final update:

the system is too unstable to work on this project. It's not the OS, it's the hardware. I think it's probably ram, but I don't have the time to mess with it unfortunately, so it might be getting donated to goodwill or someone who wants it in my area. my next project will be a gentoo HTPC. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmahler wrote:
One final update:

the system is too unstable to work on this project. It's not the OS, it's the hardware. I think it's probably ram, but I don't have the time to mess with it unfortunately, so it might be getting donated to goodwill or someone who wants it in my area. my next project will be a gentoo HTPC. :)

What area is that? I would love a crack at it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmahler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Headrush wrote:
jmahler wrote:
One final update:

the system is too unstable to work on this project. It's not the OS, it's the hardware. I think it's probably ram, but I don't have the time to mess with it unfortunately, so it might be getting donated to goodwill or someone who wants it in my area. my next project will be a gentoo HTPC. :)

What area is that? I would love a crack at it.


toledo, Ohio.

I can ship it anywhere needed for the cost of shipping plus say 10 dollars for the effort. :) not sure how much this monster would cost to ship though, and it just might not be worth it, you know?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmahler wrote:
toledo, Ohio.

I can ship it anywhere needed for the cost of shipping plus say 10 dollars for the effort. :) not sure how much this monster would cost to ship though, and it just might not be worth it, you know?

Not too far from my favorite place in the world, Cedar Point. (Hence my Avatar)

I'll PM you and we can arrange something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum