Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Connecting to AP using WPA PSK-TKIP issues
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kvetch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 318
Location: /dev/null, VA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 2:08 am    Post subject: Connecting to AP using WPA PSK-TKIP issues Reply with quote

Hello I am having some frustrating issues getting my G4 ibook to connect to my WRT54G router and was hoping someone might be able to help me. I followed the instructions on setting up the broadcom drivers and got my wireless working and was able to connect to an open AP but I am unable to connect to my home AP that is using WPA-PreShared Key and TKIP. I can scan the AP's around me but I can't connect to mine and get an address. I have hotplug and coldplug installed and loaded on boot. I have rc verbose on and it shows it loading
Code:

* Starting eth2
 *   Loading networking modules for eth2
 *     modules: wpa_supplicant essidnet iptunnel ifconfig dhcpcd apipa
 *       wpa_supplicant provides wireless
 *       ifconfig provides interface
 *       dhcpcd provides dhcp
 *   Bringing up eth2
 *     dhcp
 *       Running dhcpcd ... 

Then dhcpcd fails.

My conf.d/net looks like
Code:
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_eth0="nodns nontp nonis"
config_eth2=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_eth2="nodns nontp nonis"
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_eth2="-Dbcm43xx"
wpa_timeout_eth2=60

My /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf looks like
Code:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
eapol_version=1
ap_scan=1
fast_reauth=1
network={
        ssid="Greedo"
        proto=WPA
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        pairwise=TKIP
        group=TKIP
        psk="mykey"
        priority=5
}

I did notice when I emerged wpa_supplicant it put the wpa_supplicant.conf.example in the /etc/wpa_supplicant dir. Should the conf be in /etc or /etc/wpa_supplicant/?

lsmod shows.
Code:
Module                  Size  Used by
ieee80211_crypt_tkip    12736  0
uhci_hcd               44304  0
ehci_hcd               36616  0
bcm43xx               433400  0
firmware_class         11936  1 bcm43xx
ieee80211softmac       28576  1 bcm43xx
ieee80211              36968  2 bcm43xx,ieee80211softmac
ieee80211_crypt         6944  2 ieee80211_crypt_tkip,ieee80211
uninorth_agp           10856  1
agpgart                38012  1 uninorth_agp
eth1394                22600  0


iwconfig shows
Code:
eth2      IEEE 802.11b/g  ESSID:off/any  Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency=2.437 GHz  Access Point: Invalid
          Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=off
          RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off

iwlist eth2 scan shows
Code:
          Cell 03 - Address: 00:12:17:CB:13:48
                    ESSID:"Greedo"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11bg
                    Mode:Master
                    Channel:8
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
                    Extra: Rates (Mb/s): 1 2 5.5 6 9 11 12 18 24 36 48 54
                    Quality=100/100  Signal level=-165 dBm
                    Extra:wpa_ie=dd160050f20101000050f20201000050f20201000050f202
                    Extra: Last beacon: 360ms ago


Does anybody have any clue as to why I wouldn't be able to connect to my router using wpa psk tkip? I have monkeyed around with wpa_supplicant now for a couple days and am at a lost.

On a side note. Anyone have any clues as to why my ibook shows 3 NIC's available in ifconfig. eth0 should be my built in NIC, eth2 appears to be my AirPort2 but what is eth1? Firewire?
Thanks,
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bz31
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try wpa_supplicant_eth2="-Dwext".

eth1 is your firewire because you have loaded the module eth1394.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kvetch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 318
Location: /dev/null, VA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks bz31, no that didn't work for me. Am I not suppose to use Dbcm43xx?
Any other ideas on what I might have done wrong?

Thanks,
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you solved it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WPA-TKIP will not really work with SoftMAC, but WPA-PSK will, so stick with that. After each step in bringing the device up, you need to check "dmesg" to see what the result is (if you've followed the topic at the top of this board, you will have compiled in support for debugging). The bcm43xx target is for Devicescape, not for SoftMAC, use Wext.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bz31
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
The bcm43xx target is for Devicescape, not for SoftMAC, use Wext.

bcm43xx/devicescape also uses "-Dwext" for wpa_supplicant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum