Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo on PS3
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jugix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 May 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any way to change 32ul --> 64ul but to format PS3 HDD and start over with 64ul tarball? If so, then I need to get one of those 80GB external USB HDDs to backup my music/videos/saves! :)
_________________
PS3 - gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garlicbread
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the only way I can think of
and no I haven't tried this and yes it could very easily result in a very broken system that wouldn't even boot

1. boot into a 64bit enviroment with a Live CD
2. mount the existing file system
3. overwite the toolchain / basic utils with the 64bit stage 4 tar ball
4. completley re-emerge system / world using the -e option
5. replace the kernel with a 64bit one
6. pray to the great gentoo devs in the sky :D
7. don't say I didn't warn you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anunakin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

garlicbread wrote:
the only way I can think of
and no I haven't tried this and yes it could very easily result in a very broken system that wouldn't even boot

1. boot into a 64bit enviroment with a Live CD
2. mount the existing file system
3. overwite the toolchain / basic utils with the 64bit stage 4 tar ball
4. completley re-emerge system / world using the -e option
5. replace the kernel with a 64bit one
6. pray to the great gentoo devs in the sky :D
7. don't say I didn't warn you


If you want more compatibility and less RAM use, stay at 32bit ul with 64bit kernel... but if you wants do a server machine with a PS3... is best use 64bit ul.... I did the opposite ... going from 64->32bit ul :P
_________________
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)
PHP/Java/C++ Developer
Sony PS3 JPN 60GB, with Gentoo Linux + HDD 160GB
Sony PS2 50001, with PS2Linux, HDD 80GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hexonn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 16
Location: LA, CA

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anunakin wrote:
run
Code:
alias powerpc64make='make ARCH=powerpc CROSS_COMPILE=powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu-'

before try powerpc64make .....

yes, i did that before doing so :P

but i still get that problem :?



garlicbread wrote:
for later releases of the kernel the "pf" prefix has been removed from a lot of files
to try and find it just cd into the kernel directory and try
Code:
find -iname '*ps3*'

to find something that looks like the config file and copy it across to .config

i just searched using Windows, but the only config is ps3pf_defconfig (in .16) and ps3_defconfig (in .21) within linux-2.6.xx-20070425\arch\powerpc\configs


i'll try it again though
_________________
working on it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garlicbread
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try arch/powerpc/configs/ps3_defconfig for 2.6.21

also I'm not sure what extra compatibility you gain from having the system at 32bit
with an amd64 system normally the gains are from the fact that if the system is 32bit then it's similar to an x86 / i686 arch
therefore some of the software is more likely to compile correctly without patches for a 64bit arch

but considering the difference here is from ppc to ppc64 and from what I've seen quite a lot of problems for 64bit have now been patched
(apart from gambas at least)
so far the only thing I've had to do is setup a few ebuilds in an overlay to add in the missing ppc64 keyword

although I'll admit I haven't tried all that much yet on the PS3 (apart from enlightenment / snes9x) due to lack of space on the HD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hexonn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 16
Location: LA, CA

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when i was installing it for the first time, i just went with 32 not really sure why. But now i don't want to re-install since i've got a few programs allready compiled. I'm also not really in a huge hurry for wireless or ALSA or something else for me to switch to 64 and start all over, so i'll wait till i get this done :P (if it can be done)

but how was the 32bit UL even found originaly then? and why wasn't a 32bit kernel released recently?


btw, what is the dtc thing you said to install first? i kinda realized that i'm not sure what that means so i didn't try to compile hehe
_________________
working on it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garlicbread
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

as far as the source code is concerned 32 bit / 64bit is just a different option inside the .config file
(you use the same kernel source to compile ether one)
it's just a case of going into make menuconfig and selecting a different option
since the processor is 64bit at the moment ps3_defconfig seems to default to 64bit
but you should be able to change this to 32bit by just selecting a different option at the top of the menu

as to where 32 bit / 64 bit systems originated from
the PS3 is using an already existing arch that was setup for the Apple Mac
ppc (32bit) / ppc64 (64bit)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Powerpc
as the PPU used as part of the Cell processor uses the same type of architecture / instruction set

I'm not familiar with ppc / ppc64 arch's as I don't have a Mac
but I do have an amd64 system (the equivilent 64bit for a standard PC arch) and sometimes you get the odd app that doesn't always compile since the code assumes the system is using 32bit integers (like gambas)
early on when the amd64 first came out a lot of code had to be patched
but to be honest it's a while since I've had any compatibility issues on a 64bit system

dtc is a small utility that sorts out an initial device tree for embeded devices during initial bootup
the later versions of the kernel now use this util during the compile process for the PS3 becuase the PS3 is setup in a similar way to an embeded device
it's something that just needs to be installed before the kernel is compiled
http://dtc.ozlabs.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hexonn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 16
Location: LA, CA

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

garlicbread wrote:
dtc is a small utility that sorts out an initial device tree for embeded devices during initial bootup
the later versions of the kernel now use this util during the compile process for the PS3 becuase the PS3 is setup in a similar way to an embeded device
it's something that just needs to be installed before the kernel is compiled
http://dtc.ozlabs.org/

can i install it using emerge? or how :oops:
_________________
working on it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jugix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 May 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I downloaded linux-2.6.16-20070425.tar.bz2 and casted a spell like this on it:
Code:
# tar linux-2.6.16-20070425.tar.bz2 -C /usr/src
# ln -s /usr/src/linux-2.6.16-20070425/ /usr/src/linux
# cd /usr/src/linux
# cp arch/powerpc/configs/ps3pf_defconfig .config
# powerpc64make
# powerpc64make modules_install
# cp vmlinux /boot
# genkernel initrd
# reboot


Alas my system booted with no hiccups and I was back at xfce login screen! Now the question is, how do I know I have wireless device in my system. And how to configure it? I am anxious to take that ethernet cable off from my PS3 and go strangle people... j/k! :D

iwconfig:
Code:
eth0   no wireless extensions
lo   no wireless extensions

dmesg | grep -i eth
Code:
eth0: Gelic Network Driver
eth0: Ethernet Address: 00:19:C5:5E:F1:D7

Need... gentoo... PS3... wireless... HOWTO... *gah*
_________________
PS3 - gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RaZoR1394
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 356

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A new graphical boot loader called Petite based on kboot: http://ps3mods.blogspot.com/2007/05/petitboot-ps3-graphical-bootloader-for.html .
_________________
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cell_(microprocessor)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rangerpb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RaZoR1394 wrote:
A new graphical boot loader called Petite based on kboot: http://ps3mods.blogspot.com/2007/05/petitboot-ps3-graphical-bootloader-for.html .


Be careful with petitboot. The first release of it is not compatible with kboot conf files in that petitboot cannot deal with device names yet.
_________________
-->
rangerpb
<--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garlicbread
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2007 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just put up a new overlay, now have wireless working on 2.6.21
over Here
this contains ebuilds for dtc / cell sources / ps3-git-sources etc

there's a bit of fiddling with /etc/fstab and /etc/kboot.conf though
so you may want to have a bootable CD ready just in case to recover
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rangerpb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2007 3:15 pm    Post subject: squashfs Reply with quote

I was messing around with the same things this week. In order for me to build any media based on 2.6.21x, git or otherwise, it has to have aquashfs. When I patched squashfs into the git tree, it failed to build (although patched ok).

If anyone wants to be helpful, please consider taking a look at it and producing a squashfs patch that will build. This will go a long way to helping out.
_________________
-->
rangerpb
<--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garlicbread
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've managed to patch in squashfs 3.2 into 2.6.22-rc1 in the overlay
you may also need to add "=sys-fs/squashfs-tools-3.2_p2" to "/etc/portage/package.keywords" for 3.2
(although not the extended LZMA version, it complained about a missing header of some kind)
it seems to build without any errors
just tested and it seems to mount okay

One problem I'm checking on is all the logging of the hard disk activity (debug messages) under dmesg
which I need to turn off

something else I've noticed is some form of Dynamic loopback support
where the devices are only created as needed
losetup isn't working properly unless I manually create the device node for /dev/loop0
Code:
mknod /dev/loop0 b 7 0
mkdir -p /dev/mapper
mknod /dev/mapper/control c 10 63

before losetup can be used

but this should be automatic via udev / the userspace tools
I think something needs to be updated on the userspace side, for this new feature but I'm not sure what at this point
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jenkler
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 215
Location: Sweden - Stockholm

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 12:44 pm    Post subject: kboot Reply with quote

Hello!

I am trying to build kboot-11 from kboot-20070425 (sony ADDON CD). I want to have reiserfs support in otheros.bld because i want my / to be reiserfs
having some trubles with gcc and some other stuff

I have searched the "World" for a otheros.bld that supports reiserfs but with no sucess

Someone with some experience about this? how to make a own kboot image?


/Jenkler
_________________
This is me: Jenkler IT AB / Jenklermedia, use google translate when viewing my page, please!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jenkler
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 215
Location: Sweden - Stockholm

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 1:27 pm    Post subject: gcc error output Reply with quote

This is the error i get when compiling gcc with kboot-11/Makefile any idees?



Code:

TARGET_CPU_DEFAULT=""
        HEADERS="ansidecl.h" DEFINES=""
        /bin/sh ../../gcc-3.4.6/gcc/mkconfig.sh tconfig.h
( echo '#ifndef __powerpc64__';
          echo '#define FLOAT';
          cat ../../gcc-3.4.6/gcc/config/fp-bit.c;
          echo '#endif' ) > fp-bit32.c
( echo '#ifndef __powerpc64__';
          cat ../../gcc-3.4.6/gcc/config/fp-bit.c;
          echo '#endif' ) > dp-bit32.c
/var/tmp/ps3/kboot-20070425/kboot-11/gcc-3.4.6-host/gcc/xgcc -B/var/tmp/ps3/kboot-20070425/kboot-11/gcc-3.4.6-host/gcc/ -B/var/tmp/ps3/kboot-20070425/kboot-11/build/host/powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu/bin/ -B/var/tmp/ps3/kboot-20070425/kboot-11/build/host/powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu/lib/ -isystem /var/tmp/ps3/kboot-20070425/kboot-11/build/host/powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu/include -isystem /var/tmp/ps3/kboot-20070425/kboot-11/build/host/powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu/sys-include -O2 -DIN_GCC    -W -Wall -Wwrite-strings -Wstrict-prototypes -Wmissing-prototypes -Wold-style-definition  -isystem ./include  -I. -I. -I../../gcc-3.4.6/gcc -I../../gcc-3.4.6/gcc/. -I../../gcc-3.4.6/gcc/../include   -g0 -finhibit-size-directive -fno-inline-functions -fno-exceptions -fno-zero-initialized-in-bss -fno-unit-at-a-time -msdata=none
           -c ../../gcc-3.4.6/gcc/crtstuff.c -DCRT_BEGIN
          -o crtbegin.o
In file included from /usr/include/stdio.h:833,
                 from ../../gcc-3.4.6/gcc/tsystem.h:79,
                 from ../../gcc-3.4.6/gcc/crtstuff.c:62:
/usr/include/bits/stdio.h: In function `vprintf':
/usr/include/bits/stdio.h:36: error: syntax error before "__restrict__"
/usr/include/bits/stdio.h: In function `getchar':
/usr/include/bits/stdio.h:43: error: syntax error before "__restrict__"
/usr/include/bits/stdio.h:59: confused by earlier errors, bailing out
make[2]: *** [crtbegin.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/ps3/kboot-20070425/kboot-11/gcc-3.4.6-host/gcc'
make[1]: *** [all-gcc] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/ps3/kboot-20070425/kboot-11/gcc-3.4.6-host'
make: *** [gcc-3.4.6-host/.kboot-built] Error 2

_________________
This is me: Jenkler IT AB / Jenklermedia, use google translate when viewing my page, please!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jenkler
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 215
Location: Sweden - Stockholm

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 6:39 am    Post subject: Answer form anoter forum! Reply with quote

Quote:
Are you compiling this with the CELL SDK? If not, it will (of course) fail to work!


The only thing i do is download the file kboot-11.tar.gz

or take it from sonys addon CD, place it on the ps3 and to a make in that dir, the makefile downloads all files and tryes to kompile, do i need to setup a special env with CELL SDK ? for this

Have someone here succesfully compiled kboot to a otheros.bld ? do anyone have the time to make a little guide :-? any dev people please?
_________________
This is me: Jenkler IT AB / Jenklermedia, use google translate when viewing my page, please!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rangerpb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 1:50 pm    Post subject: start another thread Reply with quote

jenkler, start another thread and I will author a quick howto on this.
_________________
-->
rangerpb
<--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hexonn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 16
Location: LA, CA

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i made a mistake, and i think i deleted powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu- folder from /usr/

now, when i try to use popwerpc64make i get an error

Code:
localhost linux # powerpc64make
gcc-config error: Could not run/locate "powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc"
  HOSTCC  scripts/basic/fixdep
gcc-config error: Could not run/locate "gcc"
make[2]: *** [scripts/basic/fixdep] Error 1
make[1]: *** [scripts_basic] Error 2
gcc-config error: Could not run/locate "powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc"
gcc-config error: Could not run/locate "powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc"
*** 2.6 kernels no longer build correctly with old versions of binutils.
*** Please upgrade your binutils to 2.12.1 or newer
make: *** [checkbin] Error 1


i did remove gcc, i think, since kgcc64 was blocking, but my binutils are 2.17
_________________
working on it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anunakin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any hope on using AD-HOC mode with gelic at 2.6.16 kernel?
_________________
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)
PHP/Java/C++ Developer
Sony PS3 JPN 60GB, with Gentoo Linux + HDD 160GB
Sony PS2 50001, with PS2Linux, HDD 80GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eponalank
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 7:01 pm    Post subject: Re: ps3 Reply with quote

whitesanjuro wrote:
i am working on getting gentoo going on the ps3 now that it is finally out - see a gallery of my progress here. so far what i have done is:

-download firmware update
-partition drive in system settings menu
-download sony bootloader
-download sony cell addon cd

right now i am syncing the portage tree, more updates as they come (i am ssh-ed into it remotely from work at the moment)


i am trying to find the Otheros.bld and otheros.self files ... but i can't find them on the net, all the links are dead

where can you download sony bootloader / sony cell addon cd from?
...

also, when i will be installing Gentoo, do i need to be connected to internet via ethernet ... or can i use wireless (if i was using that with my ps3 without gentoo)?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phatfel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

download them both from here:
http://dl.qj.net/index.php?pg=19&src=otheros&catid=

I wasn't sure how to get the wifi working from the minimal install cd so i downloaded the stage 4 to my thumbdrive and copied it and used it as my base system. After the system could boot i went ahead and configured wifi. it's very simple to set up just follow the howto's and pay attention. if you have any other questions let me know. I just got gentoo installed this morning and wifi working as well. updating world as we speak. good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matteo Azzali
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1133

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might find interesting the claims of RSX driver integrated in Nouveau ones here .

(I take no responsibility about it not really working or not givin any real OpenGL acceleration)
_________________
Every day a new distro comes to birth. Every day a distro "eats" another.
If you're born distro, no matter what, start to run.
---- http://www.linuxprinting.org/ ---- http://tuxmobil.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drikus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2004
Posts: 12
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rangerpb made some new PS3 Stages and a minimal install CD. Just giving some feedback about it.

see: http://planet.gentoo.org/developers/ranger and http://overlays.gentoo.org/proj/cell/wiki/InstallGentooOnPS3

End result: after double checking everything, kexec finds kboot.conf with the correct entries but the boot process halts at
>> Booting (initramfs).

md5sum checked the stage4 32ul tarbal and was fine. Downloaded it from here. http://gentoo.chem.wisc.edu/gentoo/experimental/ppc64/stages/

Kboot.conf is fine, fstab is fine, everything fine in /boot, e2label /dev/ps3da1 / went fine. /dev/ps3da1 is marked active. Extracted stage4 again with verbose option didn't see any unpack error's.

And used otheros.bld from here http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/people/geoff/cell/ installed it via game-os

I'm wondering if anyone as able to boot initramfs with these new builds ?

Couple of comments on the installation instructions at http://overlays.gentoo.org/proj/cell/wiki/InstallGentooOnPS3

- found a reference to otheros.self and isn't used anymore still there.
- found a reference to /dev/sda and isn't used anymore in 2.6.23
- when trying to install the base system I found out that the network didn't work. Had to kill procesid with /sbin/dhcpd -d eth0 and had to start it again on the cmd line with /sbin/dhcpd -d eth0. Restarting via initscripts didn't work. Connected via LAN.
- probably better to add the verbose option while unpacking the stage4 tarball with tar -vxjpf, because the screen stays blank for a very long time while unpacking and it's good pratice to inform the user about what is happening.
- after chrooting and trying an emerge -sync I found out that the network wasn't available again. Had to kill the proces again en started it from the cmdline as stated above.
- and didn't use the ps3 portage snapshot because they are outdated but it's better to use links2 again instead of wget. In that way user can select the tarball instead of guessing the date. (portage-DATE.tar.bz2) :-)

But thanks for the effort providing us with this new stage4 and minimal install CD. Although it doesn't work for me right now. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rangerpb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:58 pm    Post subject: Booting Reply with quote

I cannot speak the problems. I retested both stages this morning and they both worked correctly. Be certain you have not accidently injected an error into the kboot.conf entries. Check for a typo or something that the initrd might be misunderstanding. Also, initrd's should not be required. You should be able to boot without it by editing the kboot.conf file.

Thanks for the doc suggestions. I fixed this morning.
_________________
-->
rangerpb
<--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next
Page 18 of 21

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum