Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo on PS3
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 19, 20, 21  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
clintar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tokka wrote:
Success:)
http://www.daniel.jp/joomla/info/ps3/creating-ps3-toolchains-on-gentoo.html

I've banged that together in a hurry as I want to go out, if there are any glaring errors please tell me:)

the alpha gcc failed for me with an internal compiler error: Segmentation faul, but I assume I can go on with the rest of it anyway, so I'm doing that now.
It was on
Code:
/bin/sh ./libtool --mode=compile /var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/build/./gcc/xgcc -B/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/build/./gcc/ -B/usr/powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu/bin/ -B/usr/powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu/lib/ -isystem /usr/powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu/include -isystem /usr/powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu/sys-include -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/gcc-4.3-20061209/libgfortran -I.  -iquote/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/gcc-4.3-20061209/libgfortran/io -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/gcc-4.3-20061209/libgfortran/../gcc -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/gcc-4.3-20061209/libgfortran/../gcc/config -I../.././gcc -D_GNU_SOURCE  -std=gnu99 -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -Wmissing-prototypes -Wold-style-definition -Wextra -Wwrite-strings -ftree-vectorize -funroll-loops -O2 -mcpu=G5 -pipe -O2  -c -o matmul_r4.lo `test -f 'generated/matmul_r4.c' || echo '/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/gcc-4.3-20061209/libgfortran/'`generated/matmul_r4.c
/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/build/./gcc/xgcc -B/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/build/./gcc/ -B/usr/powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu/bin/ -B/usr/powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu/lib/ -isystem /usr/powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu/include -isystem /usr/powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu/sys-include -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/gcc-4.3-20061209/libgfortran -I. -iquote/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/gcc-4.3-20061209/libgfortran/io -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/gcc-4.3-20061209/libgfortran/../gcc -I/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/gcc-4.3-20061209/libgfortran/../gcc/config -I../.././gcc -D_GNU_SOURCE -std=gnu99 -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -Wmissing-prototypes -Wold-style-definition -Wextra -Wwrite-strings -ftree-vectorize -funroll-loops -O2 -mcpu=G5 -pipe -O2 -c /var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/gcc-4.3-20061209/libgfortran/generated/matmul_r4.c  -fPIC -DPIC -o .libs/matmul_r4.o
/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/gcc-4.3-20061209/libgfortran/generated/matmul_r4.c: In function 'matmul_r4':
/var/tmp/portage/gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061209/work/gcc-4.3-20061209/libgfortran/generated/matmul_r4.c:87: internal compiler error: Segmentation fault

which looks like a test for vecorizing, so that's interesting. wonder how you got it working...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clintar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, your instructions
Code:
crossdev spu --stage-1
looks like it needs to say --stage1. it looks like it's wanting the alpha gcc anyway, so it will probably fail if it's going to do that as one of the steps... oh well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shai Hulud wrote:
Heads up.

IBM just posted SDK 2.0 for CBE on 12/15.

http://www.alphaworks.ibm.com/tech/cellsw?open&S_TACT=105AGX16&S_CMP=DWPA


I got all exited about that yesterday, becouse it includes the first public version of a PPC64 version of xlc!

However when I installed and tried to use it, it seems to actually be 32bit!!

Code:

# readelf -a /opt/ibmcmp/xlc/8.1/bin/ppuxlc
ELF Header:
  Magic:   7f 45 4c 46 01 02 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
  Class:                             ELF32
  Data:                              2's complement, big endian
  Version:                           1 (current)
  OS/ABI:                            UNIX - System V
  ABI Version:                       0
  Type:                              EXEC (Executable file)
  Machine:                           PowerPC
  Version:                           0x1


So it seems that to use it we will need to use a PPC64 multilib profile...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

clintar wrote:
well, your instructions
Code:
crossdev spu --stage-1
looks like it needs to say --stage1. it looks like it's wanting the alpha gcc anyway, so it will probably fail if it's going to do that as one of the steps... oh well.


Oops - sorry:)

Nope, I thought the same and it worked. Come on, a little faith!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickthecook
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:21 am    Post subject: crossdev spu -s1 fails for me too Reply with quote

I get this message in '/var/log/portage/cross-spu-elf-gcc-stage1.log' when I run 'crossdev spu -s1':

Code:
*** Configuration spu-unknown-elf not supported


and the compile fails.

Has anyone seen this before?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clintar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tokka wrote:
clintar wrote:
well, your instructions
Code:
crossdev spu --stage-1
looks like it needs to say --stage1. it looks like it's wanting the alpha gcc anyway, so it will probably fail if it's going to do that as one of the steps... oh well.


Oops - sorry:)

Nope, I thought the same and it worked. Come on, a little faith!

Yeah, failed on gcc again when doing the crossdev spu --stage1 still.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

clintar wrote:

Yeah, failed on gcc again when doing the crossdev spu --stage1 still.


Looking at your log above you are crapping out on the GCC-4.3 that went into portage since I did my intall - 4.3.0_alpha20061209. I get exactly the same problem with the new - I have 4.3.0_alpha20061111 installed.

Looking at the changelog this morning:

Code:

cc-4.3.0_alpha20061216 (17 Dec 2006)

  17 Dec 2006; Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
  +gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061216.ebuild:
  Update snapshot as last one ICEs while building on ppc.


I'd do an emerge --sync and try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickthecook
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

I'm using 4.3.0_alpha20061216, and I don't get the segfault. Just above-mentioned error:


Okay, I lied. :)

I'm using 4.3.0_alpha20061209. I'm updating to 4.3.0_alpha20061216 and I'll try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nickthecook wrote:
Quote:

I'm using 4.3.0_alpha20061216, and I don't get the segfault. Just above-mentioned error:


Okay, I lied. :)

I'm using 4.3.0_alpha20061209. I'm updating to 4.3.0_alpha20061216 and I'll try again.


4.3.0_alpha20061216 just installed fine for me, time for some tests...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickthecook
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tokka wrote:

4.3.0_alpha20061216 just installed fine for me, time for some tests...


It installed fine for me too, but the 'crossdev spu -s1' still fails...

I'm not using that stage4 tarball, is there anything I might be missing, in terms of configuration?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nickthecook wrote:
tokka wrote:

4.3.0_alpha20061216 just installed fine for me, time for some tests...


It installed fine for me too, but the 'crossdev spu -s1' still fails...

I'm not using that stage4 tarball, is there anything I might be missing, in terms of configuration?


It may be an issue with the new gcc-4.3, 4.3.0_alpha20061216, I think clintar is going to try the old one to see if that fixes his problem.

Turned out my issues were due to leaving distcc on - doh!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickthecook
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If anyone else has experienced problems because crossdev is picking an older version of gcc to compile (e.g. 4.2.something instead of 4.3.0_alpha20061111 or greater), a workaround was given to me by lu_zero on IRC:

change the following lines in /usr/sbin/crossdev (should be around line 141):

Code:

                spu*) TARCH=ppc64;
                      GVER="4.3.0_alpha20061111"; BVER="2.17.50.0.7";
                      KPKG="[none]";
                      LPKG="newlib";;
                ppu*) TARCH=ppc64;
                      CPRE=powerpc64;
                      GVER="4.3.0_alpha20061111"; BVER="2.17.50.0.7";;


to look as follows:

Code:

                spu*) TARCH=ppc64;
                      GVER="4.3.0_alpha20061216"; BVER="2.17.50.0.7";
                      KPKG="[none]";
                      LPKG="newlib";;
                ppu*) TARCH=ppc64;
                      CPRE=powerpc64;
                      GVER="4.3.0_alpha20061216"; BVER="2.17.50.0.7";;


Note the changed GVER values in each section. And if you have --synced today, you should get the right gcc from "crossdev spu --stage1".

Thanks to lu_zero and tokka!

BTW, if you're on IRC, watch what you say around that mtb guy, he really has a hate on for tokka...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Speed test of GCC-4.1.1 Vs GCC-4.3 using lame


gcc-4.1.1
CFLAGS="-mcpu=G5 -O2 -maltivec -mabi=altivec -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing"
Code:

# lame --preset cd A_Guy_Called_Gerald_-_Fools_Gold.wav A_Guy_Called_Gerald_-_Fools_Gold.mp3
LAME version 3.96.1 (http://lame.sourceforge.net/)
Using polyphase lowpass filter, transition band: 19383 Hz - 19916 Hz
Encoding A_Guy_Called_Gerald_-_Fools_Gold.wav
      to A_Guy_Called_Gerald_-_Fools_Gold.mp3
Encoding as 44.1 kHz average 192 kbps j-stereo MPEG-1 Layer III (7.3x) qval=3
    Frame          |  CPU time/estim | REAL time/estim | play/CPU |    ETA
 16534/16536 (100%)|    1:46/    1:46|    1:46/    1:46|   4.0608x|    0:00
 32 [    2] %
 40 [    0]
 48 [    0]
 56 [    0]
 64 [    0]
 80 [    0]
 96 [    0]
112 [    0]
128 [   57] %
160 [ 3694] %%%*********************
192 [10310] %%%%%%************************************************************
224 [ 1074] %******
256 [  929] %*****
320 [  471] %***
average: 193.9 kbps   LR: 1533 (9.270%)   MS: 15004 (90.73%)

Writing LAME Tag...done
ReplayGain: -4.9dB



gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061216
CFLAGS="-mcpu=cell -O2 -maltivec -mabi=altivec -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing"
Code:

lame --preset cd A_Guy_Called_Gerald_-_Fools_Gold.wav A_Guy_Called_Gerald_-_Fools_Gold.mp3
LAME version 3.96.1 (http://lame.sourceforge.net/)
Using polyphase lowpass filter, transition band: 19383 Hz - 19916 Hz
Encoding A_Guy_Called_Gerald_-_Fools_Gold.wav
      to A_Guy_Called_Gerald_-_Fools_Gold.mp3
Encoding as 44.1 kHz average 192 kbps j-stereo MPEG-1 Layer III (7.3x) qval=3
    Frame          |  CPU time/estim | REAL time/estim | play/CPU |    ETA
 16534/16536 (100%)|    1:45/    1:45|    1:45/    1:45|   4.0804x|    0:00
 32 [    2] %
 40 [    0]
 48 [    0]
 56 [    0]
 64 [    0]
 80 [    0]
 96 [    0]
112 [    0]
128 [   57] %
160 [ 3694] %%%*********************
192 [10310] %%%%%%************************************************************
224 [ 1074] %******
256 [  929] %*****
320 [  471] %***
average: 193.9 kbps   LR: 1533 (9.270%)   MS: 15004 (90.73%)

Writing LAME Tag...done
ReplayGain: -4.9dB


Well, I suppose at least it is an improvement:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If building the spu compiler, short term use:

Code:
CFLAGS=-O2 crossdev spu


It will bail out when it tries to build the stage2 c++ complier, but it will build newlib correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick one on my way to bed:

Code:
/usr/libexec/gcc/spu-elf/ld: crt1.o: No such file: No such file or directory
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status


Having had a closer look before breakfast (heh), seems that the install of newlib has not created crt1.o, crti.o or crtn.o.

OK clintar, I've just had a look at my working toolchain, the newlib in that has only crt0.o too, so I guess the issue is why the build with the new gcc-4.3 thinks it needs crti.o - which is lu_zero territory:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, thanks to Lu_zero's hard work we have a working newlib.

And a complete working toolchain.

I have instructions on how to build it here:

http://www.daniel.jp/joomla/info/ps3/creating-ps3-toolchains-on-gentoo.html

And I have put the new gcc-4.3, and new binutils needed during the toolchain build at http://www.daniel.jp/ps3-packages/

Code:

-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  3904181 Dec 19 20:30 binutils-2.17-r2.tbz2
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 25761306 Dec 19 20:30 gcc-4.3.0_alpha20061216.tbz2


That should save you a good 4 hours:)

See http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=2&chap=3#doc_chap4 for how to install them if you are unused to binary packages in Gentoo.


Last edited by tokka on Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dutchman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tokka,

Are you ready to make a new stage 4 with all this stuff yet? I think I'd rather recompile mame and mythtv rather than go back and catch up with the stuff you've already implemented :) With that said, I'm still worried about memory usage.. Maybe we need to think about some ways to lower the memory footprint of the kernel. I'm hoping to put some time into this during the holidays.

-d
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dutchman wrote:
Tokka,

Are you ready to make a new stage 4 with all this stuff yet?


Funny you should say that:)

Long term it looks like we are going to have a full binary package repository so no need to compile unless people want to have exotic CFLAGS, but short term I'll keep grinding out the tarballs...

Should be up in about 2 hours, and is 280GB, a new Stage-4. No xorg, it's an updated base install with a complete Cell development toolchain. Installing the toolchain is a bit of a pain in the bum, and getting it working is a bit hit or miss, so here it is with all the hard work done already:

http://www.daniel.jp/mtb-data/ps3-mtb-gentoo-02.tar.bzip2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dutchman wrote:
With that said, I'm still worried about memory usage..


Yeah, same here, and also disk usage.

I guess people don't usually choose their disk manager by hard disk estate, but the 10GB limit is a problem with consumers. A stage 3 with compilers and portage hits 2 GB, add Gnome and you are hitting 4GB.

Im not sure that is practical for consumers, a lot of people are going to want to store media files locally.

People on IRC are talking about maybe e17 instead of gnome, but I'm not too sure if that is any slimmer. I'm not too sure why people need a full blown desktop manager install on a PS3 at the moment - do you really want to use firefox on your TV? Read your email?

OK, maybe EvilWM(which I use on mini-itx) is going too far the other way, as an install is just 15k, but what about say IceWM? I used to use that on the Xbox, and it is very suited as a front end to a desktop box.

A install with IceWM, mame, xine-ui and a cheezy pygtk launcher/frontend/updater would be cool:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dutchman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tokka wrote:
People on IRC are talking about maybe e17 instead of gnome, but I'm not too sure if that is any slimmer. I'm not too sure why people need a full blown desktop manager install on a PS3 at the moment - do you really want to use firefox on your TV? Read your email?


Ok, I admit I'd like to occasionally check my email at my TV (gotta do something while the wife goes to the bathroom and Tivo is paused) :) With that said, I don't need a full blown desktop to do that.

tokka wrote:
A install with IceWM, mame, xine-ui and a cheezy pygtk launcher/frontend/updater would be cool:)


Agreed :)


Changing topics slightly, has anyone tried to figure out the partitioning scheme that Sony is using? It'd be cool to be able to pull the hard disk out, throw it in a PC, and resize the partitions so Linux and the PS3 each get 30GB.. What were they thinking with the 10GB garbage?

-d
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jathan_nj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tokka wrote:
dutchman wrote:
With that said, I'm still worried about memory usage..


Yeah, same here, and also disk usage.

I guess people don't usually choose their disk manager by hard disk estate, but the 10GB limit is a problem with consumers. A stage 3 with compilers and portage hits 2 GB, add Gnome and you are hitting 4GB.

Im not sure that is practical for consumers, a lot of people are going to want to store media files locally.

People on IRC are talking about maybe e17 instead of gnome, but I'm not too sure if that is any slimmer. I'm not too sure why people need a full blown desktop manager install on a PS3 at the moment - do you really want to use firefox on your TV? Read your email?

You can always use a larger hard drive. There are 160+GB 2.5in. SATA drives that you can just swap in or use a cable like this (http://www.cpustuff.com/estore/product.php?productid=342&cat=0&page=1) and have a 7200 RPM 3.5in. SATA drive outside of the PS3. There is a company that makes xbox mods that is also coming out with a commercial (read pretty) solution based on this cable that includes an external enclosure. I have the cable with a 250GB SATA drive I had collecting dust. When you install the drive, the PS3 asks you to (re)format it at which point you can choose to allocate 10GB to the PS3 OS and the remaining for the "Other OS". So disk space is not a problem if you are willing to upgrade your HD.

And yes, I do browse and read email. I own no PS3 games. The whole purpose of buying it was to get MythTV installed and running. There are several people trying to get this setup running as both a frontend/backend or just frontend Myth Box. Add one of these (http://www.adesso.us/product_details.asp?dept_id=106&pf_id=KA33KBWKB-4000) and you can have a very nice HTPC outputting on HDMI.

tokka wrote:

OK, maybe EvilWM(which I use on mini-itx) is going too far the other way, as an install is just 15k, but what about say IceWM? I used to use that on the Xbox, and it is very suited as a front end to a desktop box.

A install with IceWM, mame, xine-ui and a cheezy pygtk launcher/frontend/updater would be cool:)

Memory might be an issue but I have E17 running right now and it is very usable. WindowMaker has also been used by others and supposedly it works very well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnny99
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Oct 2005
Posts: 248
Location: Berkeley, California

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anunakin wrote:
Any here knows how to boot at kboot and dont start Gentoo ? :?


At the kboot: prompt, just start typing.
I have seen a kboot doc that mentions a target of 'local', but even after typing local, I must keep my kboot: shell busy or it boots into the default. This is where I saw the local target mentioned: http://kboot.sourceforge.net/doc/kboot-lk2005-talk.ps.gz

I messed up /etc/kboot.conf with a syntax error, and couldn't figure out how to fix it. In the end I had to reformat and start all over.

Is it possible to break out of kboot process when there is a syntax error in /etc/kboot.conf?


Last edited by johnny99 on Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:39 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dutchman wrote:
What were they thinking with the 10GB garbage?


I dunno, I have a feeling that that size was reached along the same way that the redbook cd format size was (um, how long is a bit of classical music?)...

Chances are it was an on the spot decision made by someone in a hurry to get on to the next task before that damn release date:)

jathan_nj wrote:

You can always use a larger hard drive.

Yeah, I could attach a 750GiB and have the option of 10 for the Game-OS or linux - and at nearly 5GiB for game installs nobody is going to use 10GiB for the Game-OS.

jathan_nj wrote:
Memory might be an issue but I have E17 running right now and it is very usable. WindowMaker has also been used by others and supposedly it works very well.


Yeah... I dunno, if you are just going to have a big gnome install you might as well save yourself some aggro and install FC5 - and the same could be said about YDL and E17. Gentoo should be lean'n'mean, a PS3 with a full WM is simply bloated - even gnome-light installs seamonkey...

On IRC we were talking about having two builds of Gentoo on PS3, the full desktop install for developers, and a lite version for the general public. The reason I suggested IceWM is it can be setup to be used easily with just a joystick for input - how many people will want a keyboard and mouse in the living room?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnny99
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Oct 2005
Posts: 248
Location: Berkeley, California

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

johnny99 wrote:
anunakin wrote:
Any here knows how to boot at kboot and dont start Gentoo ? :?


At the kboot: prompt, just start typing.
I have seen a kboot doc that mentions a target of 'local', but even after typing local, I must keep my kboot: shell busy or it boots into the default. This is where I saw the local target mentioned: http://kboot.sourceforge.net/doc/kboot-lk2005-talk.ps.gz

I messed up /etc/kboot.conf with a syntax error, and couldn't figure out how to fix it. In the end I had to reformat and start all over.

Is it possible to break out of kboot process when there is a syntax error in /etc/kboot.conf?


AR! it happened again. problem with my /etc/kboot.conf causing the repeated line:
"/init: /etc/kboot.conf: 6: Syntax error: Unternminated quoted string"

Is there a way to recover?


Last edited by johnny99 on Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jathan_nj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tokka wrote:

jathan_nj wrote:

You can always use a larger hard drive.

Yeah, I could attach a 750GiB and have the option of 10 for the Game-OS or linux - and at nearly 5GiB for game installs nobody is going to use 10GiB for the Game-OS.

I think you might be underestimating the number of people that have purchased the PS3 for non-gaming use only, i.e. linux and BluRay. The hardware alone warrants the purchase price of $500. It's really hard to put together a HTPC outputting on HDMI for that price... And yea, if you wanted to, you could actually boot back to the game OS and play a game...

tokka wrote:

jathan_nj wrote:
Memory might be an issue but I have E17 running right now and it is very usable. WindowMaker has also been used by others and supposedly it works very well.

Yeah... I dunno, if you are just going to have a big gnome install you might as well save yourself some aggro and install FC5 - and the same could be said about YDL and E17. Gentoo should be lean'n'mean, a PS3 with a full WM is simply bloated - even gnome-light installs seamonkey...

On IRC we were talking about having two builds of Gentoo on PS3, the full desktop install for developers, and a lite version for the general public. The reason I suggested IceWM is it can be setup to be used easily with just a joystick for input - how many people will want a keyboard and mouse in the living room?

Sounds like a plan. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 19, 20, 21  Next
Page 6 of 21

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum