Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo on PS3
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 19, 20, 21  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 7:05 pm    Post subject: Re: wii have gentoo on the ps3! Reply with quote

Matteo Azzali wrote:
whitesanjuro wrote:
check out my google page for details and procedure! i am going to work on getting X going in the future, but now its time to wait for the wii!

Hu? isn't yellowdog gonna be working with X on PS3? I mean, they have OOo and firefox inside that distro....
which issue did you encountered in emerging X?

Also, is the wii supposed to run linux??


yeah, yellowdog will have X working out of the box, according to their website the distro is going to be free to download which has me confused.... does that mean the ps3 can boot burned disks??? that would be awsome, however, i wonder if yellowdog is going to open up the source to the bootloader or if that is going to besomething that is customizable so that we can boot our own kernel and run a gentoo userland
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whitesanjuro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 12:31 am    Post subject: Re: wii have gentoo on the ps3! Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
Matteo Azzali wrote:
whitesanjuro wrote:
check out my google page for details and procedure! i am going to work on getting X going in the future, but now its time to wait for the wii!

Hu? isn't yellowdog gonna be working with X on PS3? I mean, they have OOo and firefox inside that distro....
which issue did you encountered in emerging X?

Also, is the wii supposed to run linux??


yeah, yellowdog will have X working out of the box, according to their website the distro is going to be free to download which has me confused.... does that mean the ps3 can boot burned disks??? that would be awsome, however, i wonder if yellowdog is going to open up the source to the bootloader or if that is going to besomething that is customizable so that we can boot our own kernel and run a gentoo userland


I didn't run into any X issues yet, it was just that compiling things took a while because I realized halfway through that i was using GCC 3.x instead of 4.x and wanted to switch my profile to 4.x. I needed to go wait in line for a Wii, so that delayed the project until today. As for yellow dog, it comes out Nov 27 and will have a DVD installer with E17 and a bunch of other fancy stuff, but i'm more of a fluxbox kind of guy.

as for "burned discs" - if you mean games in game-os mode, no; if you mean things like the gentoo live cd or fedora core install dvd, then yes. sony gives you a binary bootloader that allows you to boot your own os and then switch the ps3 to start that instead of the game-os. kboot is a kexec-based linux bootloader that works with this, so the sony bootloader can hand it over to kboot (which is really just a linux kernel used in place of lilo/grub to boot another linux kernel). kboot is open source and another thing that my friend and i are working on is building a gentoo-based live cd with our own kboot that would be vastly superior to the kboot on the sony cell addon cd (which is very primitive).

i've also done extensive compatability testing of the ps3 in game-mode - all the details are on my google page, if you scroll to the bottom. right now, though, i can boot the game-os or my install of gentoo with the toggle of a command-line or menu-option.

edit: forgot to enable bbcode, lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
airbatica
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 18
Location: Irving, TX

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd be really curious to see if MOL (Mac on Linux) runs or not on the PS3... could be a very unsuported way of running OSX on it :D Anyone that actually has one care to try it out?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iplayfast
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Cambridge On,CA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got a (probably stupid) couple of questions. I've tried installing linux on the PS3 but got stuck because of lack of hardware.
1. Where do you get a usb keyboard? Are adapters available?
2. How to hook up the monitor? What are you using? (My tv resolution is too low to make out the letters).

TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azote
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 415

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iplayfast wrote:

1. Where do you get a usb keyboard? Are adapters available?

any usb keyboard will work... plugs strait without any extra cables... (any thing that I plug so far recognizes it. (usb mouse,usb headset, usb keyboard, bluetooth headset)
iplayfast wrote:
2. How to hook up the monitor? What are you using? (My tv resolution is too low to make out the letters).

I use a HDMI cable from the ps3 to my LCD with a HDMI to DVI converter...
but you can use a regular RCA cable if your monitor has a plug..
_________________
contact me -> azote@mail.i2p

What do you want to emerge today?

if you think that a person is normal, it is because you do not know them well
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whitesanjuro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

airbatica wrote:
I'd be really curious to see if MOL (Mac on Linux) runs or not on the PS3... could be a very unsuported way of running OSX on it :D Anyone that actually has one care to try it out?


i'd be interested in trying it in the future, but right now i'm focusing on making a live cd to make for an easier installation and (in parallel with that), getting X going.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whitesanjuro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

iplayfast wrote:
I've got a (probably stupid) couple of questions. I've tried installing linux on the PS3 but got stuck because of lack of hardware.
1. Where do you get a usb keyboard? Are adapters available?
2. How to hook up the monitor? What are you using? (My tv resolution is too low to make out the letters).

TIA


1. USB keyboards are pretty common nowadays, but you can also buy PS2->USB adapters fairly cheaply
2. I am using HDMI to hook up to a 1080p LCoS HDTV, but you could also theoretically use an HDMI->DVI adapter to hook up to an LCD monitor (I haven't tested this though; the PS3 manual says in one part that you can't use a non-HDCP-compliant device to view anything, but another part says you can use a non-HDCP-compliant monitor to view everything except copy-protected Blu-ray movies).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
okoru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Dallas, TX

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pliablemammal wrote:
can you s'plain more? :twisted:

okoru wrote:
If you sign up for PartnerWorld, you can gain access to our Cell Blades...

www.ibm.com/partnerworld/
www.ibm.com/servers/enable/site/vlp/


In the Virtual Loaner Program at IBM, we offer free access to IBM hardware, operating systems, and middleware for developers who are members of PartnerWorld.

Our Cell Bladecenters will be available beginning of next year; shortly there after, zSeries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Neurobrainy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:18 am    Post subject: Auto-vectorizing && power-consume Reply with quote

Hi!
Read quite happy about the first Gentoo ports to PS3 during the last days. Have to wait till march to add one of these PPC to my x86-maschines.

I would be interested about the first impressions about the scalability with GCC on Cell. I hope there will be some auto-vectorizing and auto-SIMDization in the future as it is in the XL-C/C++. Has anyone an idea, why (as I know) IBM offers it just as crosscompiler for x86-maschines or why they do not open it for the community?

The other thing is about this rumour about the power-consume of up to 450 Watts. Has anybody done some measures how much power it takes while idle or under stress? Does it support hibernating or any alternative powersaving??

Will be happy to hear about your impressions!!! :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MOL isn't 64 bit compatible, so it cannot run on the PS3. I'll take donations or patches if anyone wants to get it working. :)
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:34 am    Post subject: Re: Auto-vectorizing && power-consume Reply with quote

Neurobrainy wrote:

The other thing is about this rumour about the power-consume of up to 450 Watts. Has anybody done some measures how much power it takes while idle or under stress? Does it support hibernating or any alternative powersaving??

Will be happy to hear about your impressions!!! :lol:


Things are a bit mad round here, so I haven't had a chance to do the linux install on mine yet, but I can tell you mine doesn't consume 450 watts:) I think that rumour started on a M$ weasel blog, when someone simply looked at the published spec's of the PSU - using the same thinking, my Opteron based workstation 'uses up to 600Watts' - I think not:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tcx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Porto, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just out of sheer curiosity...
Could someone post a PS3's /proc/cpuinfo and lspci -vvv please?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gendal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tcx wrote:
Just out of sheer curiosity...
Could someone post a PS3's /proc/cpuinfo and lspci -vvv please?

Thanks

Posting this with Fedora Core 6 on the PS3
Code:

cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
cpu             : Cell Broadband Engine, altivec supported
clock           : 3192.000000MHz
revision        : 5.1 (pvr 0070 0501)

processor       : 1
cpu             : Cell Broadband Engine, altivec supported
clock           : 3192.000000MHz
revision        : 5.1 (pvr 0070 0501)

timebase        : 79800000
machine         : PS3PF


But I don't have lspci installed, and yum install lspci doesn't work =p
I want gentoo runnging on this much more than Fedora, but I can't get past whitesanjuro's instructions when he asks you to mount -o bind. Something like "mount -o bind /bin /rwlivecd/bin" always returns invalid argument, no matter combination what I tried. Yes, all those paths exists, I get a different error if they don't.I can chroot into gentoo, but lots of stuff doesn't seem to work because of that obviously.

That and I don't really understand the whole tempfs rwlivecd thing. Wouldn't you want to just go straight to a partition on sda?

talking about the walkthrough at http://whitesanjuro.googlepages.com just to be clear.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brewin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gendal wrote:
[
But I don't have lspci installed, and yum install lspci doesn't work =p

Try yum install pciutils (running as root of course). I'd also like to see what lsmod displays. (yum install modutils)

Also, how responsive are programs in general? Can you play videos at all? Does audio work? Thanks for the info. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gendal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

brewin wrote:
Gendal wrote:
[
But I don't have lspci installed, and yum install lspci doesn't work =p

Try yum install pciutils (running as root of course). I'd also like to see what lsmod displays. (yum install modutils)

Also, how responsive are programs in general? Can you play videos at all? Does audio work? Thanks for the info. :D


Duh.
lspci -vvv
Code:
00:01.0 USB Controller: Toshiba America Unknown device 01b6 (rev 01) (prog-if 10 [OHCI])
        Control: I/O- Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
        Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
        Interrupt: pin ? routed to IRQ 16
        Region 0: [virtual] Memory at 4000001a0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=64K]
        Capabilities: [dc] Power Management version 2
                Flags: PMEClk+ DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0+,D1-,D2-,D3hot+,D3cold-)
                Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

00:01.1 USB Controller: Toshiba America Unknown device 01b5 (rev 01) (prog-if 20 [EHCI])
        Control: I/O- Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
        Status: Cap- 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
        Interrupt: pin ? routed to IRQ 10
        Region 0: [virtual] Memory at 4000001b0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=64K]

00:02.0 USB Controller: Toshiba America Unknown device 01b6 (rev 01) (prog-if 10 [OHCI])
        Control: I/O- Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
        Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
        Interrupt: pin ? routed to IRQ 17
        Region 0: [virtual] Memory at 4000001c0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=64K]
        Capabilities: [dc] Power Management version 2
                Flags: PMEClk+ DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0+,D1-,D2-,D3hot+,D3cold-)
                Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

00:02.1 USB Controller: Toshiba America Unknown device 01b5 (rev 01) (prog-if 20 [EHCI])
        Control: I/O- Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
        Status: Cap- 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
        Interrupt: pin ? routed to IRQ 11
        Region 0: [virtual] Memory at 4000001d0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=64K]


and lsmod
Code:
rfcomm                 58160  0
l2cap                  35376  5 rfcomm
spufs                  73352  1
snd_ps3pf              23192  1
snd_seq_dummy           6348  0
snd_seq_oss            59976  0
snd_seq_midi_event     11040  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                92744  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device         12952  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            78472  0
snd_mixer_oss          27600  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm               129604  2 snd_ps3pf,snd_pcm_oss
snd_page_alloc         14696  1 snd_pcm
snd_timer              35192  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    87656  10 snd_ps3pf,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore              13024  1 snd
evdev                  14712  2
hci_usb                18284  2
joydev                 15320  0
sr_mod                 24420  0
cdrom                  49024  1 sr_mod
bluetooth              72300  7 rfcomm,l2cap,hci_usb
sg                     46280  0
usbhid                 42676  0
usb_storage            48708  0
ohci_hcd               27524  0
ehci_hcd               44088  0
ps3pf_storage          55512  2
sd_mod                 21256  3
scsi_mod              143880  5 sr_mod,sg,usb_storage,ps3pf_storage,sd_mod


Responsiveness was pretty bad at first, but then I released it was running updatedb and the prelinker in the background at the same time. Let that run for awhile and now it's pretty decent. Definitely usable, if not blazingly fast. Firefox won't run, as well as some other programs that came default with FC6, but Epiphany will. I really didn't want to take the time to get a lot of things working with FC6, since I plan on replacing it with gentoo or yellowdog as soon as I can. Took me long enough to figure out gentoo and ubuntu, don't feel like finding my way around yet another linux package management tool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brewin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Much appreciated! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tcx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Porto, Portugal

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

brewin wrote:
Much appreciated! :)
Indeed.
Thanks.

Has anyone tried spufs or any other way to use the SPEs yet?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PlayerZero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just one question when you are making the PS3 kernel do you have to do it on the PS3 or is there a way to make it on a non-cell machine?

Also do you use the kernel supplied on the add-on cd or do you use the Gentoo PPC kernel with the cell patches applied to it?

Cheers for any help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Neurobrainy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Auto-vectorizing && power-consume Reply with quote

tokka wrote:

Things are a bit mad round here, so I haven't had a chance to do the linux install on mine yet, but I can tell you mine doesn't consume 450 watts:) I think that rumour started on a M$ weasel blog, when someone simply looked at the published spec's of the PSU - using the same thinking, my Opteron based workstation 'uses up to 600Watts' - I think not:)


According to the german c't-Magazin the power-consume of their test PS3 is 165 Watts in idle, 185 Watts during game playing and in standby less the 1 Watt. Am still interested where it better under Linux.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bloo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which resolutions are supported by the video driver under linux? In the games the ps3 have a max resolution of 1080, but it will be usefull to have an higher resolution for office use connecting the ps3 to an lcd monitor for pc...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxtuxhellsinki
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 700
Location: Hellsinki

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bloo wrote:
Which resolutions are supported by the video driver under linux? In the games the ps3 have a max resolution of 1080, but it will be usefull to have an higher resolution for office use connecting the ps3 to an lcd monitor for pc...

So, are you saying that 1920x1080 is not enough to you :?:


whitesanjuro

Do you've some problems with the project, cause we haven't heard about you in almost 10 days :?:
_________________
1st use 'Search' & lastly add [Solved] to
the subject of your first post in the thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marschw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2003
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running gentoo on a PS3, if anybody wants more information about it ask here. I'm currently working on getting a good MAME setup together -- does anybody know of a good frontend?

BTW regarding video modes, you set the resolution with a utility from the addon cd called ps3videomode (X doesn't use modelines or anything since it has to be run with the fbdev driver). The resolutions it supports are as follows:

Code:
# ps3videomode -h
Usage:
  ps3videomode [options]

Options:
  --help,  -h          print this message
  --video, -v <ID>     set video mode ID
  --full,  -f          use full screen mode
  --dither,-d          use dither ON mode

Video mode ID:
  0:auto mode
  YUV 60Hz  1:480i  2:480p  3:720p  4:1080i  5:1080p
  YUV 50Hz  6:576i  7:576p  8:720p  9:1080i 10:1080p
  RGB 60Hz 33:480i 34:480p 35:720p 36:1080i 37:1080p
  RGB 50Hz 38:576i 39:576p 40:720p 41:1080i 42:1080p
  VESA     11:WXGA 12:SXGA 13:WUXGA

  full screen mode: <video mode ID> + 128
  dither ON mode  : <video mode ID> + 2048

Example:
  ps3videomode -v 3 -f    720p 60Hz with full screen mode.
  ps3videomode -v 131     Same as above.

If no arguments are given, ps3videomode displays the current video mode.

I haven't had luck with the "full screen mode" on my TV -- it just seems to draw the screen way bigger than fits on the screen, and I only see the center.

Edit: /proc/meminfo, for those interested, is as follows:
Code:
MemTotal:       202320 kB
MemFree:        138184 kB
Buffers:          1152 kB
Cached:          24104 kB
SwapCached:       4256 kB
Active:          35372 kB
Inactive:        11128 kB
HighTotal:           0 kB
HighFree:            0 kB
LowTotal:       202320 kB
LowFree:        138184 kB
SwapTotal:      977912 kB
SwapFree:       923068 kB
Dirty:             392 kB
Writeback:           0 kB
Mapped:          22812 kB
Slab:            14492 kB
CommitLimit:   1079072 kB
Committed_AS:    95464 kB
PageTables:       1084 kB
VmallocTotal: 8589934592 kB
VmallocUsed:      1344 kB
VmallocChunk: 8589933068 kB

If it looks a bit heavily utilized, it was because I was building qt4 at the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lu_zero
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Sep 2002
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 1:18 am    Post subject: Re: wii have gentoo on the ps3! Reply with quote

Matteo Azzali wrote:

Hu? isn't yellowdog gonna be working with X on PS3? I mean, they have OOo and firefox inside that distro....
which issue did you encountered in emerging X?


No issue expected, you just have to use fbdev and to _disable_ shadowfb. (don't expect great graphics in linux anytime soon)

Quote:

Also, is the wii supposed to run linux??


I'm afraid it won't at least out of box...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anhlon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,

how is video play back on the ps3? what i'm interested in doing is install mythTV and get a USB tuner addon and make it into a nice lil pvr. play some xvid...hdtv videos, mame.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marschw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2003
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anhlon wrote:
hi,

how is video play back on the ps3? what i'm interested in doing is install mythTV and get a USB tuner addon and make it into a nice lil pvr. play some xvid...hdtv videos, mame.

thanks

I've been looking into that, I haven't gotten mythtv to build (the error escapes me at the moment), but video playbck via mplayer and such works fine. The only USB tuners I've seen around for cheap use a Trident chipset that isn't supported by Linux yet, though. I'm sure there are some that'll work, I just haven't come across them yet; I have an em28xx-based USB capture device that works (unstably), but it's capture-only (no tuner).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 19, 20, 21  Next
Page 2 of 21

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum