Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo on PS3
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 19, 20, 21  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:34 am    Post subject: Re: Thank you tokka! Reply with quote

nickthecook wrote:

Your guide was great!


Thanks, it seems to have helped a bunch of people out, so I think at some point with the help of the gentoo-ppc64 peeps I'll migrate it over to somewhere more official.

nickthecook wrote:
I
I get errors such as "/sbin/boot-game-os: line 3: /sbin/other-os-flash-util: Accessing a corrupted shared library" and hopefully this will take care of it.


Ah, using the SCE binaries? Probably best to get the source for those and recompile them, I'll add a quick way to do that to my guide this weekend.

nickthecook wrote:

Would you be willing to post a revised tarball w/ Gnome 2.14 included?

I've got a backup that I could use for that, the only issue is I'll have to make a few tweaks to it before making it public so I am not 100% confident that it will work, I'll make it available later today if someone wants to test it before the masses download nearly 900MB and find it's useless:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

anhlon wrote:

just installed xfce4 and when i try to test the xorg server (startx) black screen :( tried using xorgcfg to auto generate the xorg.conf file and the one tokka posted, no luck. i'm using the hdmi cable to a lcd tv.

any ideas?

thanks


I'd say you want to try the SCE utility ps3videomode

OK, I've updated the guide at:

http://www.daniel.jp/joomla/info/ps3/installing-gentoo-on-the-ps3.html

It now has a quick and nasty way to compile the SCE PS3 Linux utilities, and how to upgrade your profile to 64bit-userland-gcc4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BrummieJim
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 642

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I don't know anything about the ps3 and linux and was wondering if anyone had tried using it for scientific apps, number crunching etc. and how it performed?
Not the most focussed comment admittedly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickthecook
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 2:41 pm    Post subject: Corrupted library messages Reply with quote

You were right, tokka, I did need to recompile the utils from source. That took care of it.

However, I have a new problem - I want a new TV, since mine is SD and can only do 480i. Thanks a lot. ;)

Something else now - I can't get an optical disk mounted! I have no /dev/cdrom*, and /dev/sd* don't work... not sure if anyone else has encountered this issue, or if we're even allowed to mount the cdrom in Hypervisor land, but if anyone has any recommendations, the help would be appreciated!

nickthecook
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickthecook
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 2:59 pm    Post subject: LDFLAGS Error Reply with quote

Something else I wanted to mention briefly:

Last night after the switch to GCC 4, I found I couldn't compile anything at first. I was getting an error that said my compiler was unable to make executables. I thought to myself: "that's funny... most compilers nowadays can make executables."

I looked in config.log for the package in question, and it turns out that it was the LDFLAGS="-W1,-O1" in make.conf. Previously I had had no problem with it. I removed it, and everything was fine.

Just thought I'd mention that in case anyone else tripped over it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:51 pm    Post subject: Re: LDFLAGS Error Reply with quote

nickthecook wrote:

I looked in config.log for the package in question, and it turns out that it was the LDFLAGS="-W1,-O1" in make.conf. Previously I had had no problem with it. I removed it, and everything was fine.


Hmmmm, that is curious - I got LDFLAGS="-W1,-O1" from the safe flags page on www.gentoo-wiki.com and things are fine here. After you changed compiler, did you completely rebuild the toolchain - i.e. emerge -e system?

I'm currently using:

Code:
CFLAGS="-mcpu=G5 -O2 -maltivec -mabi=altivec -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing"
CHOST="powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickthecook
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 4:01 pm    Post subject: Re: LDFLAGS Error Reply with quote

tokka wrote:

Hmmmm, that is curious - I got LDFLAGS="-W1,-O1" from the safe flags page on www.gentoo-wiki.com and things are fine here. After you changed compiler, did you completely rebuild the toolchain - i.e. emerge -e system?


It was when I went to recompile things that the config checks failed. Portage started with glibc, and I couldn't compile it until I removed the flags.

I could try putting the flags back in now, maybe while I was in the middle of upgrading I had my system in an inconsistent state.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 4:52 pm    Post subject: Re: LDFLAGS Error Reply with quote

OK, dim question, but you did compile the new glibc BEFORE you switched compilers? It should be automatic if you had done an emerge -u gcc, as a emerge -e system doesn't start with glibc...

8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anhlon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tokka wrote:
anhlon wrote:

just installed xfce4 and when i try to test the xorg server (startx) black screen :( tried using xorgcfg to auto generate the xorg.conf file and the one tokka posted, no luck. i'm using the hdmi cable to a lcd tv.

any ideas?

thanks


I'd say you want to try the SCE utility ps3videomode

OK, I've updated the guide at:

http://www.daniel.jp/joomla/info/ps3/installing-gentoo-on-the-ps3.html

It now has a quick and nasty way to compile the SCE PS3 Linux utilities, and how to upgrade your profile to 64bit-userland-gcc4.


oi, still a black screen when i try startx :( the ps3videomode -v 0 works fine, i can change resolution and everything is ok in the terminal.
eh...maybe i'll upgrade to gcc4.1.1 and recompile xfce/xorg and see how it goes. but if anyone have any ideas, please share :)

thanks,

PS: tokka, nice guide, wouldn't have gotten this far without it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickthecook
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 6:56 pm    Post subject: LDFLAGS Error Reply with quote

Yes, IIRC it occurred when it started to compile glibc right after it compiled gcc, but it was pretty early this morning, so I might have done something else in there, like switch to gcc 4.

Note that this was before I saw your howto, so I was using the gentoo upgrade guide, and may have followed a different process than you.

If it works for you, let's just call it user error, and I'll try sticking the flags back in. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shai Hulud
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 7:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Thank you tokka! Reply with quote

Shai Hulud wrote:

Would you be willing to post a revised tarball w/ Gnome 2.14 included?

tokka wrote:

I've got a backup that I could use for that, the only issue is I'll have to make a few tweaks to it before making it public so I am not 100% confident that it will work, I'll make it available later today if someone wants to test it before the masses download nearly 900MB and find it's useless:)


Thanks tokka! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Thank you tokka! Reply with quote

I have a feeling I am going to regret this... Can anyone mirror this file, I have about 100GB of bandwidth a month and this could chew through it in a day...:)

OK, my gnome install is currently at:
http://www.daniel.jp/mtb-data/ps3-mtb-gnome-01.tar.bz2

It has gnome-2.14, gcc-4.1.1, vlc with xvid, and an overlay with Lu_zero's 2.6.16 kernel - it is currently set to boot from the standard SCE kernel.

***warning***
1) The tarball is unchecked as I don't have the time to do a test install
2) Gnome is pretty well untested - I ran a terminal and used vlc - so don't moan to me if nothing else works:) I prefer the command line.
3) distcc is installed, remember to change the host ip's if you enable it:)

Oh, and I did a new version of my guide just for tarballs, as non gentoo peeps are downloading it and getting confused.

http://www.daniel.jp/joomla/info/ps3/installing-a-gentoo-stage4-tarball-on-the-ps3.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shai Hulud
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 5:26 am    Post subject: Re: Thank you tokka! Reply with quote

tokka wrote:

OK, my gnome install is currently at:
http://www.daniel.jp/mtb-data/ps3-mtb-gnome-01.tar.bz2

Thanks tokka! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonlacon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:03 am    Post subject: Re: Thank you tokka! Reply with quote

tokka wrote:
I have a feeling I am going to regret this... Can anyone mirror this file, I have about 100GB of bandwidth a month and this could chew through it in a day...:)

OK, my gnome install is currently at:
http://www.daniel.jp/mtb-data/ps3-mtb-gnome-01.tar.bz2


Make use of bittorrent?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidraven
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the file on my own tracker if anyone knows how to add it to a better tracker feel free. I don't normaly start bittorents.

http://acidraven.is-a-geek.net:6969/

it is the only file I have listed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevintshaver
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Feb 2006
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here it is on a bigger tracker. I'll leave it up until a few people grab it.

http://torrents.thepiratebay.org/hashtorrent/3574380.torrent/ps3-mtb-gnome-01.tar.bz2.3574380.TPB.torrent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marschw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2003
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:16 am    Post subject: Re: Corrupted library messages Reply with quote

nickthecook wrote:
Something else now - I can't get an optical disk mounted! I have no /dev/cdrom*, and /dev/sd* don't work...

It's /dev/sr0, and you need to have the sr_mod module loaded for it to work.

anhlon wrote:
oi, still a black screen when i try startx :( the ps3videomode -v 0 works fine, i can change resolution and everything is ok in the terminal.

Do you have ShadowFB set to off? Do you have glx disabled?

If it helps anybody, my working xorg.conf is as follows. Note that there's a bit of cruft in it still from when I was trying to get it to work:

Code:
Section "Module"
    Load        "dbe"   # Double buffer extension
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection
    Load        "freetype"
    Load        "dummy"
    Load        "fbdevhw"
EndSection
Section "Files"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection
Section "ServerFlags"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Keyboard1"
    Driver      "kbd"
    Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    Option "XkbRules"   "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel"   "microsoft"
    Option "XkbLayout"  "us"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Mouse1"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"    "IMPS/2"       # IntelliMouse PS/2
    Option "Device"      "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "ZAxisMapping"   "4 5 6 7"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "MyMon"
    HorizSync   31.5 - 60
    VertRefresh 60
EndSection
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "MyFb"
    Driver      "fbdev"
    #VideoRam    4096
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
    Option      "ShadowFB" "off"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "MyFb"
    Monitor     "MyMon"
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       8
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubsection
EndSection
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Simple Layout"
    Screen "Screen 1"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dutchman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tokka:

I've installed your stage 4 with Gnome and it looks pretty good. Thanks for the pre-compiling :)

The only issues I'm seeing right now have to do with resolutions. Kboot seems happy enough to boot with a higer res text mode, but Gentoo clears this and goes to 80x25.

I can change this with the ps3videomode -v 3 command, which switches the framebuffer to 720p, but it only affects the current console. If I try to switch to another console, it seems to be accessing the previous display mode, which ends up looking like garbage.

I can actually live with this if I had to.. My real problem is that X doesn't seem to want to use 720p. It also seems to be stuck (and corrupted) in mode 1. YDL worked great, so I know its possible. Does anyone have any ideas?

Fwiw, it probably comes as no surprise that Gentoo seems to have a bit more jump than YDL.. Gotta love Gentoo :)

-d
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anunakin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi! I just have received my new PS3... and I have a Sony SDM-HD75P LCD Monitor... and I have a HDMI to DVI cable... but I cant see nothing at XBM/GameOS ... it right?
When starting my Gentoo intall on PS3... if I init kboot with HDMI cable connected this not have image too, can any help me?
_________________
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)
PHP/Java/C++ Developer
Sony PS3 JPN 60GB, with Gentoo Linux + HDD 160GB
Sony PS2 50001, with PS2Linux, HDD 80GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marschw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2003
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dutchman wrote:
The only issues I'm seeing right now have to do with resolutions. Kboot seems happy enough to boot with a higer res text mode, but Gentoo clears this and goes to 80x25.

Are you passing the mode in on the kernel command line? That should set it for all of them. In other words, append video=ps3fb:mode:3 to the linux= line in /etc/kboot.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clintar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

marschw wrote:
dutchman wrote:
The only issues I'm seeing right now have to do with resolutions. Kboot seems happy enough to boot with a higer res text mode, but Gentoo clears this and goes to 80x25.

Are you passing the mode in on the kernel command line? That should set it for all of them. In other words, append video=ps3fb:mode:3 to the linux= line in /etc/kboot.conf.

Oh, nice. Now if only we had 2d acceleration. Is there any official word about them eventually giving access? Anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anunakin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I cant get image on my LCD monitor (Sony SDM-HS75P), using HDMI-->DVI cable, any help?
I have tried all modes using psevideomode -v XX -f and nothing .... :? all I can get is a black screen with a video signal .... I thinking this not have HDCP support.... its right? :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Other good news I got sucess using a HomeBrew PS2-->VGA(HD15) cable, but only at 640x480 on Linux (mode 162) and at XBM using Multi AV/SCATER at 480p/RGB .... :D

Here schematic for build this cable:
http://ps2vga.modchip.sm/pics/ps2Vga_FINAL_DIAGRAM_NO_GREEN_SCREEN.jpg
_________________
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)
PHP/Java/C++ Developer
Sony PS3 JPN 60GB, with Gentoo Linux + HDD 160GB
Sony PS2 50001, with PS2Linux, HDD 80GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clintar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anunakin wrote:
I cant get image on my LCD monitor (Sony SDM-HS75P), using HDMI-->DVI cable, any help?
I have tried all modes using psevideomode -v XX -f and nothing .... :? all I can get is a black screen with a video signal .... I thinking this not have HDCP support.... its right? :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Other good news I got sucess using a HomeBrew PS2-->VGA(HD15) cable, but only at 640x480 on Linux (mode 162) and at XBM using Multi AV/SCATER at 480p/RGB .... :D

Here schematic for build this cable:
http://ps2vga.modchip.sm/pics/ps2Vga_FINAL_DIAGRAM_NO_GREEN_SCREEN.jpg

People on gaming message boards have been saying you need an HDCP compatible display to use HDMI. If that really is true, then that's just stupid... I'd need to start a petition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dutchman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

marschw wrote:
dutchman wrote:
The only issues I'm seeing right now have to do with resolutions. Kboot seems happy enough to boot with a higer res text mode, but Gentoo clears this and goes to 80x25.

Are you passing the mode in on the kernel command line? That should set it for all of them. In other words, append video=ps3fb:mode:3 to the linux= line in /etc/kboot.conf.


Yes, here is my kboot.conf file.. Maybe I did something wrong?

Code:
PS3 ~ # cat /etc/kboot.conf
default=linux
timeout=10
root=/dev/ram0
linux='/boot/vmlinux real_root=/dev/sda2 initrd=/boot/initramfs-genkernel-ppc64-2.6.16' video=ps3fb:mode:3


Damn.. I now see that I didn't put it *inside* the quotes.. DOH! Ok, I'll give it another shot when I get home tonight if MythTV ever finishes compiling. Thanks for getting me to paste this in a message so I could catch it ;)

-d
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anunakin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any here knows how to boot at kboot and dont start Gentoo ? :?

Azote, you HDMI->DVI .... adapter ... the DVI is a DVI-D, I.... ? DVI-D single or dual?
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/f/fb/DVI_Connector_Types.svg/181px-DVI_Connector_Types.svg.png
_________________
Anunakin (Marcus Fazzi)
PHP/Java/C++ Developer
Sony PS3 JPN 60GB, with Gentoo Linux + HDD 160GB
Sony PS2 50001, with PS2Linux, HDD 80GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 19, 20, 21  Next
Page 4 of 21

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum