Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mkdir: cannot create directory ‘mnt/gentoo’: file exists?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
newtonusr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:20 am    Post subject: mkdir: cannot create directory ‘mnt/gentoo’: file exists? Reply with quote

On a G4_500DP, single 40gb ata, tons of RAM; CD burn of install-ppc-universal-2006.0 boots fine. This is my first linux install, so I did exactly as the book specifies. Used mac-fdisk to partition and moved on to create the file system (ext3 file system on root). Did mkswap, then swapon, and all was cool. When I went to create the mountpoint, it declined (I did this by the book).
“mkdir /mnt/gentoo” returned “mkdir: cannot create directory ‘mnt/gentoo’: file exists”.
I made the mistake of ignoring this detail the first time, and it led to issues later. Anyone know the mistake I made?
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m_spidey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 312
Location: Planetexpress Ship

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you mounted your harddrive into the /mnt/gentoo ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newtonusr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:27 am    Post subject: mount-point... Reply with quote

m_spidey wrote:
Have you mounted your harddrive into the /mnt/gentoo ?

Yeah. Here’s what the online manual says...

”4.f. Mounting

Now that your partitions are initialized and are housing a filesystem, it is time to mount those partitions. Use the mount command. Don't forget to create the necessary mount directories for every partition you created. As an example we create a mount-point and mount the root partition:

Code Listing 6: Mounting partitions
# mkdir /mnt/gentoo
# mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/gentoo”

I did this after creating the partitions and saving them, installing ext3, mkswap and swapon.
I’m sure it’s a lack of syntax on my part...

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m_spidey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 312
Location: Planetexpress Ship

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A good way to see if the your harddrive is already mounted is using the command
Code:
df

If the drive is already mounted then when you do a mkdir again it will say
Quote:
‘mnt/gentoo’: file exists”.

So if its mounted then you can just continue with your install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AaronPPC
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 522
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:48 am    Post subject: Re: mkdir: cannot create directory ‘mnt/gentoo’: file exis Reply with quote

newtonusr wrote:
“mkdir /mnt/gentoo” returned “mkdir: cannot create directory ‘mnt/gentoo’: file exists”.
I made the mistake of ignoring this detail the first time, and it led to issues later. Anyone know the mistake I made?
Thanks.


Yes, you can skip the mkdir /mnt/gentoo step. /mnt/gentoo is already there when the live CD boots. Just mount your drive there and proceed.
_________________
--Aaron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newtonusr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:02 am    Post subject: Re: mkdir: cannot create directory ‘mnt/gentoo’: file exis Reply with quote

AaronPPC wrote:
newtonusr wrote:
“mkdir /mnt/gentoo” returned “mkdir: cannot create directory ‘mnt/gentoo’: file exists”.
I made the mistake of ignoring this detail the first time, and it led to issues later. Anyone know the mistake I made?
Thanks.


Yes, you can skip the mkdir /mnt/gentoo step. /mnt/gentoo is already there when the live CD boots. Just mount your drive there and proceed.

Cool. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newtonusr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

m_spidey wrote:
A good way to see if the your harddrive is already mounted is using the command
Code:
df

If the drive is already mounted then when you do a mkdir again it will say
Quote:
‘mnt/gentoo’: file exists”.

So if its mounted then you can just continue with your install.

I like that cmd-df. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum