Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
XGL on a powerbook
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 6:10 am    Post subject: Sorry Reply with quote

I hate to pester, but I want this to work, and it would be really cool if it could be made to work on a powerbook....(I haven't seen anything that says I can't yet).

Thanks
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 9:14 am    Post subject: Re: Xgl Reply with quote

Subie wrote:
Alright, so I am trying to get xgl to work, but when I try to compile subversion, I get a seg fault after:
Code:
JVMDG217: Dump Handler is rocessing Signal 11 - Please Wait.
JVMDG303: JVM Requesting Java core file
JVMDG304: Java core file written to /var/tmp/portage/subversion-1.2.3-r2/work/subversion-1.2.3/javacore.20060320.123951.1825.txt
JVMDG215: Dump Handler has Processed Exception Signal 11.
make: *** [subversion/bindings/java/javahl/classes/org/tigris/subversion/javahl/DirEntry.class] Segmentation fault

!!! ERROR: dev-util/subversion-1.2.3-r2 failed.

Is this because of the java problems I have been having? If not, anyone know what may be up?

Thanks


OK. Let's help you a little bit. First it would help if you were showing a bit more of the output you get
(stuff further up so we can see what is happening and where).
Second, subversion can be compiled without java. I don't think java is in any way essential to pull
xgl out of svn, so you can do something like this as root:
Code:
echo "dev-util/subversion -java" >> /etc/portage/package.use

and then emerge subversion again. It should now compile without java which would pretty much
solve your problem here. Or so I hope :D .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KeyserZero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey!

What's your kernel version?

Greetz
_________________
www.ruby-lang.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KeyserZero wrote:
Hey!

What's your kernel version?

Greetz


2.6.16-rc3. Thanks
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KeyserZero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey!

Mmmhh, i had the same problem as you may have. I don't have a solution to fix that problem. The only thing that will work is to downgrade your kernel. I use the 2.6.15.1 version of the kernel and java works perfect.

You can also have look at this post:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-441234.html

Greetz
_________________
www.ruby-lang.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 12:35 am    Post subject: Subversion Reply with quote

Well, fb's suggestion worked. I was reluctant to downgrade because I want my bcm43xx in the kernel (with me having a Powerbook and all)!!! But thanks for the suggestion, Keyser. Now I am hung up on mesa 6.5.0 not compiling. I will post the code once it appears...I closed the term window so I have to do it again :D

fb wrote:
OK. Let's help you a little bit. First it would help if you were showing a bit more of the output you get
(stuff further up so we can see what is happening and where).


Alright, sorry bout that! I'll remember to go further up.

EDIT: Here is the code it gives me:
Code:
powerpc-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc -c -I../../include -I../../src/mesa -I../../src/mesa/main -I../../src/mesa/glapi -I../../src/mesa/math -I../../src/mesa/tnl -I../../src/mesa/shader -I../../src/mesa/shader/grammar -I../../src/mesa/shader/slang -I../../src/mesa/shader/slang/OSDependent/Linux -I../../src/mesa/shader/slang/OGLCompilersDLL -I../../src/mesa/swrast -I../../src/mesa/swrast_setup -Wall -Wmissing-prototypes -O2 -mtune=powerpc -maltivec -fsigned-char -mcpu=7450 -mstring -mpowerpc -gfxopt -pipe -fPIC  -D_POSIX_SOURCE -D_POSIX_C_SOURCE=199309L -D_SVID_SOURCE -D_BSD_SOURCE -D_GNU_SOURCE -DPTHREADS -DUSE_EXTERNAL_DXTN_LIB=1 -DIN_DRI_DRIVER -DGLX_DIRECT_RENDERING -DHAVE_ALIAS -DDEFAULT_DRIVER_DIR='"/usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri"' -DUSE_X86_ASM -std=c99 -ffast-math  x86-64/x86-64.c -o x86-64/x86-64.o
x86-64/x86-64.c:80: warning: no previous prototype for '_mesa_init_all_x86_64_transform_asm'
powerpc-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc -c -I../../include -I../../src/mesa -I../../src/mesa/main -I../../src/mesa/glapi -I../../src/mesa/math -I../../src/mesa/tnl -I../../src/mesa/shader -I../../src/mesa/shader/grammar -I../../src/mesa/shader/slang -I../../src/mesa/shader/slang/OSDependent/Linux -I../../src/mesa/shader/slang/OGLCompilersDLL -I../../src/mesa/swrast -I../../src/mesa/swrast_setup -Wall -Wmissing-prototypes -O2 -mtune=powerpc -maltivec -fsigned-char -mcpu=7450 -mstring -mpowerpc-gfxopt -pipe -fPIC  -D_POSIX_SOURCE -D_POSIX_C_SOURCE=199309L -D_SVID_SOURCE -D_BSD_SOURCE -D_GNU_SOURCE -DPTHREADS -DUSE_EXTERNAL_DXTN_LIB=1 -DIN_DRI_DRIVER -DGLX_DIRECT_RENDERING -DHAVE_ALIAS -DDEFAULT_DRIVER_DIR='"/usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri"' -DUSE_X86_ASM -std=c99 -ffast-math  shader/slang/slang_execute_x86.                                            c -o shader/slang/slang_execute_x86.o
shader/slang/slang_execute_x86.c: In function `set_fpu_round_neg_inf':
shader/slang/slang_execute_x86.c:86: error: `FAST_X86_FPU' undeclared (first use in this function)
shader/slang/slang_execute_x86.c:86: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
shader/slang/slang_execute_x86.c:86: error: for each function it appears in.)
shader/slang/slang_execute_x86.c: In function `_slang_x86_codegen':
shader/slang/slang_execute_x86.c:481: error: `FAST_X86_FPU' undeclared (first use in this function)
make[4]: *** [shader/slang/slang_execute_x86.o] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/mesa-6.5.0_alpha20060322-r1/work/Mesa/src/mesa'
make[3]: *** [default] Error 2
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/mesa-6.5.0_alpha20060322-r1/work/Mesa/src/mesa'
make[2]: *** [subdirs] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/mesa-6.5.0_alpha20060322-r1/work/Mesa/src'
make[1]: *** [default] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/mesa-6.5.0_alpha20060322-r1/work/Mesa'
make: *** [linux-dri-ppc] Error 2

!!! ERROR: media-libs/mesa-6.5.0_alpha20060322-r1 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 216, Exitcode 2
!!! Build failed


Just looking at the x86 scattered throughout puts up flags of suspicion in my mind.... I saw on the GentooWiki XGL howto that they got one of the video cards working on an iBook, so I would assume it can be done.

Anyone have any ideas? Thanks!
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lordcris
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2002
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 12:54 pm    Post subject: XGL on powerbook Reply with quote

anyone managed to get XGL working?
i've used the WIKI Howto http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_XGL
and everything compiles fine,
but when i try the following commands i get a crash

Xgl :1 -ac -accel glx:pbuffer -accel xv:pbuffer
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/opengl/xorg-x11/lib/ DISPLAY=:1 compiz gconf
DISPLAY=:1 gnome-window-decorator
DISPLAY=:1 xterm <------ CRASH

does anybody have the XGL working?
I have a powerbook 2.6.16-gentoo and Xorg 7.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m_spidey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 312
Location: Planetexpress Ship

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have it running, not on a mac though. From what you ran i'm guessing you have an ATI. Try turning mtrr in xorg.conf and also post the error you actually get when it crashes.

EDIT: Also are you using closed or open source drivers?
_________________
Ronald McDonald -> The necessary Evil.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:53 am    Post subject: Re: XGL on powerbook Reply with quote

lordcris wrote:
anyone managed to get XGL working?
i've used the WIKI Howto http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_XGL
and everything compiles fine,
but when i try the following commands i get a crash

Xgl :1 -ac -accel glx:pbuffer -accel xv:pbuffer
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/opengl/xorg-x11/lib/ DISPLAY=:1 compiz gconf
DISPLAY=:1 gnome-window-decorator
DISPLAY=:1 xterm <------ CRASH

does anybody have the XGL working?
I have a powerbook 2.6.16-gentoo and Xorg 7.


How did you get mesa installed? I am having problems with it giving strange compilation errors with "x86" scattered throughout.
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m_spidey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 312
Location: Planetexpress Ship

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using XGL coffee? Dont' use the other one its not as reliable.
_________________
Ronald McDonald -> The necessary Evil.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

m_spidey wrote:
Are you using XGL coffee? Dont' use the other one its not as reliable.


Me? Yes. I didn't even know there was an other one :D
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m_spidey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 312
Location: Planetexpress Ship

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what USE flags are you compiling MESA with? Have you tried it with just ati or nothing?
_________________
Ronald McDonald -> The necessary Evil.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

m_spidey wrote:
what USE flags are you compiling MESA with? Have you tried it with just ati or nothing?

I just tried ati... same thing. Will set to nothing

EDIT: no USE flags gives me the same thing.
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-444004.html

That is the problem I am having (at the bottom).
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lordcris
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2002
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Subie, these are my use flags [ i use mesa from xgl-coffee overlay]
Code:
powerbook ~ # emerge -pv mesa

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ] media-libs/mesa-6.5.0_p20060326  USE="motif -debug" VIDEO_CARDS="ati -i810 -mga -none -s3virge -savage -sis -tdfx -trident -via" 0 kB [1]


m_spidey
turning on "mtrr" solved my crash problems, but now i see only green windows ( no text insede them )....
... still testing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lordcris wrote:
Subie, these are my use flags [ i use mesa from xgl-coffee overlay]
Code:
powerbook ~ # emerge -pv mesa

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ] media-libs/mesa-6.5.0_p20060326  USE="motif -debug" VIDEO_CARDS="ati -i810 -mga -none -s3virge -savage -sis -tdfx -trident -via" 0 kB [1]



Tried that exactly...same thing. Thanks tho.
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 1:44 am    Post subject: Anyone? Reply with quote

Anyone?
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 10:11 am    Post subject: Please? Reply with quote

Please? Mesa won't build no matter what i try.... or give me ideas on where else to look? (I have googled...)
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh...I updated the overlay and it compiled just fine. Now, I gotta figure out how to configure XGL to work....

I am using fbdev for my driver (card is the 128MB Radeon 9700), ati and radeon did not work but that may have changed (not sure, gonna check).

EDIT: The radeon driver works under normal X, but it is in a low resolution (800x600 or something) and I don't know where to change it....using fbdev gives me my 1280x854 resolution.

I tried starting xgl under radeon but got:
Code:
(WW) ****INVALID IO ALLOCATION**** b: 0xf0000400 e: 0xf00004ff correcting^G
(EE) end of block range 0xefffffff < begin 0xf0000000


When I try fbdev, I get "No screens found." I am using screen 0.

Any ideas? Thanks
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ibbumpin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Mar 2005
Posts: 22
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:15 pm    Post subject: Same here Reply with quote

I get the same error when trying to start Xgl followed by:
Code:
(EE) RADEON(0): MergedDB does not work with Option UseFBev, MergedFB mode is disabled


Any help would be appreciated :)
_________________
"I don't wanna large farva! I want a God damn liter'a'cola!" - R. Farva
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 3:01 pm    Post subject: No ideas....? Reply with quote

Nothing? Anyone?
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ibbumpin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Mar 2005
Posts: 22
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 5:07 am    Post subject: X11 drm/dri is pwning m3 :-( Reply with quote

Subie... I still haven't got my dri working. I see on other people's output they get the 'Invalid IO Allocation' error but their's works. In my system messages it appears that the drm drivers are loaded but I still don't get it. I don't get any drm/dri/glx output from the startx output which leads me to belive something is not getting loaded that should but I don't know what. I have tried compiling in DRM support, making it a module, and leaving it out all together. I have followed detail instructions and still no go. I will post more info if I get any progress. I am a n00b at the Powerbook setup but hopefully we can get it working. If anyone has struggled through this and knows of any easily overlooked details please let us know :)

When I do 'lsmod' it says the radeon and drm modules are loaded and the system messages also shows this...I compiled debug support for the readon drivers but it seems to only be readable to a graphics guru.

Best,

Matt
_________________
"I don't wanna large farva! I want a God damn liter'a'cola!" - R. Farva
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:50 pm    Post subject: Re: X11 drm/dri is pwning m3 :-( Reply with quote

ibbumpin wrote:
Subie... I still haven't got my dri working. I see on other people's output they get the 'Invalid IO Allocation' error but their's works. In my system messages it appears that the drm drivers are loaded but I still don't get it. I don't get any drm/dri/glx output from the startx output which leads me to belive something is not getting loaded that should but I don't know what. I have tried compiling in DRM support, making it a module, and leaving it out all together. I have followed detail instructions and still no go. I will post more info if I get any progress. I am a n00b at the Powerbook setup but hopefully we can get it working. If anyone has struggled through this and knows of any easily overlooked details please let us know :)

When I do 'lsmod' it says the radeon and drm modules are loaded and the system messages also shows this...I compiled debug support for the readon drivers but it seems to only be readable to a graphics guru.

Best,

Matt


We seem to be in the exact same boat.... I know it has been done on Ubuntu, so I might have to see if I can translate some of that into Gentoo-speak :D
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sarumont
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 94
Location: /dev/urandom

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys. I am trying the same on my iBook G4 with the Radeon 9200 Mobility. I have successfully gotten Xorg modular running with DRI (using the xf86-video-ati, not the kernel driver). Starting XGL and compiz, however, fails. I will post the output as soon as my revdep-rebuild finishes...libexpat broke many things. 8)
_________________
~Sarumont
"Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ibbumpin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Mar 2005
Posts: 22
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:27 pm    Post subject: dude I got it!!!!!!!! Reply with quote

Hey I did the following....

Code:

eselect opengl set xorg-x11


This gave me direct rendering!!! Try it. I remembered setting it to mesa-cvs a long time ago and I reset it and this instantly worked for me.

I happened accross this when I entered:

Code:

eselect opengl list



It gave me a list of open gl settings and it was set to mesa-cvs which I think was from the old manual install I tried to do.

Hope this works for you man!

NOTE: In the kernel I took out DRM support and only left support for the uninorthAGP and ATI Framebuffer....try disabling the DRM in your kernel if the above doesn't work.

Best,

Matt
_________________
"I don't wanna large farva! I want a God damn liter'a'cola!" - R. Farva
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 12:11 am    Post subject: Well, Reply with quote

I tried that, and it doesn't seemed to have helped at all (any of it).

Which video driver are you using? The only one that works for me is fbdev...
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum