Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
from ~amd64 to amd64
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fasa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 6
Location: France (paris)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 10:38 am    Post subject: from ~amd64 to amd64 Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

Here is my situation. Actually I am running with ~amd64 arch, but each type I do an update my system is broke for some reasons.
has I am getting tired of this I am considering to switch to amd64 arch flag when I get the damn thing up and running, instead of ~amd64.
- Can I safely do it ?
- What are the possible issue ?
_________________
Darth Vader:
The force is with you young Skywalker, but you are not a Jedi yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Downgarding can be very troublesome and may brake your system. You might want to reinstall instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Gentoo on AMD64 to Duplicate Threads.

See https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-348163-highlight-switching+arch.html

Although the above post deals with x86, the theory behind switching from ~arch :arrow: arch is the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum