Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2006.0 on a G5
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hexadevil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:36 pm    Post subject: 2006.0 on a G5 Reply with quote

Darn forum account keeps expiring =) "First" post...


I have a G5 (970, not intel) here that I'd like to dual-boot with OS X and Gentoo 2006.0 First, a few quick addtions:

- I have pretty solid Gentoo skills, so if you could please provide me with some exact details on how to get rolling, I think I would do a backflip.
- I can't seem to locate 2006.0 PPC64 disk images, only 2005.1. Is it even finished?
- The yaboot config for dual-booting seems pretty self-explanatory, but if anyone else has already hit some headaches with it, I'd love to hear about it before I get started.

Thanks a bunch!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:47 pm    Post subject: Re: 2006.0 on a G5 Reply with quote

hexadevil wrote:
- I have pretty solid Gentoo skills, so if you could please provide me with some exact details on how to get rolling, I think I would do a backflip.


the right place to start is the ppc64 handbook: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-ppc64.xml

hexadevil wrote:
- I can't seem to locate 2006.0 PPC64 disk images, only 2005.1. Is it even finished?


you can find them on your mirror of choice in this directory: /releases/ppc/2006.0/ppc64/
(you can find them in there, because profiles and release structure were updated)

hexadevil wrote:
- The yaboot config for dual-booting seems pretty self-explanatory, but if anyone else has already hit some headaches with it, I'd love to hear about it before I get started.


yes, I have had *some* headaches with yaboot. just make sure you have mounted /sys correctly. (i.e. mount -o bind /sys/ /mnt/gentoo/sys/) before trying to run "mkofboot -v". else the config given in the handbook should be a good example. If you cannot get it working then let us know. (I wrote the PPC64 parts of the Gentoo handbook, but newer got much "user input" wheather you can follow the intructions well or not if you are doing it the first time...)

Regards,

markus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hexadevil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:55 pm    Post subject: Re: 2006.0 on a G5 Reply with quote

corsair wrote:
you can find them on your mirror of choice in this directory: /releases/ppc/2006.0/ppc64/
(you can find them in there, because profiles and release structure were updated)


Ah! they were hidden... I was looking in the /releases/ppc64 folder.

corsair wrote:
yes, I have had *some* headaches with yaboot. just make sure you have mounted /sys correctly. (i.e. mount -o bind /sys/ /mnt/gentoo/sys/) before trying to run "mkofboot -v". else the config given in the handbook should be a good example. If you cannot get it working then let us know. (I wrote the PPC64 parts of the Gentoo handbook, but newer got much "user input" wheather you can follow the intructions well or not if you are doing it the first time...)


duely noted. thanks for the input!
Justin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ephesus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 May 2003
Posts: 4
Location: japan

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to install gentoo 2006.0 on a 17" iMac version 12,1 and after I boot the G5 kernel (64 bit, 32 bit user space) it loads something, prints a white screen with some text that says:
MMinit
CF000100

MM init done
CF000012

Setup Arch

and then freezes at this point. After a while the fan comes on, does anybody have any ideas about this? I have pretty solid gentoo skills on x86 boxes but not on PPC architecture.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ephesus wrote:
I'm trying to install gentoo 2006.0 on a 17" iMac version 12,1 and after I boot the G5 kernel (64 bit, 32 bit user space) it loads something, prints a white screen with some text that says:
MMinit
CF000100

MM init done
CF000012

Setup Arch

and then freezes at this point. After a while the fan comes on, does anybody have any ideas about this? I have pretty solid gentoo skills on x86 boxes but not on PPC architecture.


Hi,

could you point out the filename of the livecd you are using and also the machine version would be nice. It should be something like PowerMac7,3 (this comes from my PowerMac and not an iMac). You get that version from OpenFirmware (Option+Control+O+F at boot). It is printed in one of the first lines when entering OF.

Generaly the question is, if the machine is a very latest iMac with dual core support and if you are using the correct live cd for it. Otherwise there might be a problem with the live cd and you could try out 2005.1 live cd and see if that works (only try it out, if your machine is NO dual core one).

Regards,

Markus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlphaBetaGamma
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

corsair wrote:
Hi,

could you point out the filename of the livecd you are using and also the machine version would be nice. It should be something like PowerMac7,3 (this comes from my PowerMac and not an iMac). You get that version from OpenFirmware (Option+Control+O+F at boot). It is printed in one of the first lines when entering OF.

Generaly the question is, if the machine is a very latest iMac with dual core support and if you are using the correct live cd for it. Otherwise there might be a problem with the live cd and you could try out 2005.1 live cd and see if that works (only try it out, if your machine is NO dual core one).

Regards,

Markus

I'm receiving the same problem on a dual-core 2GHz PowerMac G5 with the 2006.0 Universal Install, using both "G5" and "G5 video=ofonly". The machine version that OpenFirmware reports is "PowerMac 11,2". I'm also using an NVIDIA video card. Don't know if that would have anything to do with it.


Last edited by AlphaBetaGamma on Mon May 15, 2006 8:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rangerpb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 7:21 pm    Post subject: try the experimental cd? Reply with quote

Could both of you try the experimental iso located on your favorite mirror?

../experimental/ppc64/livecd/install-ppc64-minimal-dual-core-2006.0-32ul.iso

And definetely join us on #gentoo-ppc64 and we can see about helping you out. The g5 should definately boot. Our devs have and use that exact model.
_________________
-->
rangerpb
<--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlphaBetaGamma
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 8:36 pm    Post subject: Re: try the experimental cd? Reply with quote

rangerpb wrote:
Could both of you try the experimental iso located on your favorite mirror?

../experimental/ppc64/livecd/install-ppc64-minimal-dual-core-2006.0-32ul.iso

And definetely join us on #gentoo-ppc64 and we can see about helping you out. The g5 should definately boot. Our devs have and use that exact model.

The experimental ISO booted without a hitch. I didn't proceed with the installation because I have to mess around with a few things from Mac OS X first, but I'll try installing in a while and post my results here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlphaBetaGamma
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

While the actual installation and kernel compiling went without a hitch, I tried setting up things like X and ALSA and ran into a bunch of problems. Whether this is because of my system or my own noobness, I have no idea.

First of all, when I booted the install CD without the option "video=ofonly", there was about 2/5 of the screen at the top that was just constantly black. Text would still act as if it was written there properly, but nothing would show up until past that point. I didn't think much of it and used "video=ofonly" and the problem disappeared. This same issue pops up in my compiled kernel. Now the real problem occurs when I start X, because it does something similar. There's a section of the screen similar to how it was on the console, except it distorts everything that gets drawn there. Oddly enough, this doesn't seem to affect the background of GDM, though it does affect the dialogs. Again, I'm not sure if this is because of my GeForce or something else.

And second, I cannot get ALSA set up for the life of me. I've followed all the guides, compiled it as a module, and tried to run it, but it keeps saying that I don't have the module "snd_powermac".

EDIT: Got X to work by removing the "video=ofonly" option on boot. However, this messes up the console (not in virtual terminals, though) by having the cursor placed about 10-15 lines above where text gets entered. Not incapacitating, but definitely annoying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
popsickle
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 11
Location: Belgium - Ghent

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AlphaBetaGamma wrote:

And second, I cannot get ALSA set up for the life of me. I've followed all the guides, compiled it as a module, and tried to run it, but it keeps saying that I don't have the module "snd_powermac".

Try to use the experimental snd-aoa ebuild, for more info: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-463411.html
I have the same box as you, and it worked for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum