Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
how much ram does gentoo see? [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
swooshOnLn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 741
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 5:29 am    Post subject: how much ram does gentoo see? [solved] Reply with quote

How do you figure out how much ram gentoo actually see's? I am usign conky, and it only detects 883M (i have about 1024 Megs). Is this some fault in conky? Is there a way to check how much ram gentoo sees from console?
_________________
"WARNING: you may LOL"

This is my font size, color, and signature. It will change to whatever I pick. How cool is that?


Last edited by swooshOnLn on Mon Apr 17, 2006 3:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asiB4
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 370
Location: Inside the electric circus

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
$free

_________________
Registered Linux User #332738

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tekara
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 56
Location: UofI, Moscow

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try the command "free -m" in the console to bring up your amount of ram.

Some things that may be affecting your total amount is what is set aside for your video card if your using onboard video and if you purchased ram from a company that uses base 10 for calculations (common with storage). Also if you have a tmpfs filesystem set up this would subtract from your total.
_________________
The danger from computers is not that they will eventually get as smart as men, but that we will agree to meet them halfway. - Bernard Avishai
Computers are a lot like air conditioners - they both work great until you open windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swooshOnLn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 741
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no onborad video card, I put in 2 dual 512 sticks... how do I check if its my "tmpfs"? I do not remember setting up such a thing, is it by default?
_________________
"WARNING: you may LOL"

This is my font size, color, and signature. It will change to whatever I pick. How cool is that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tekara
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 56
Location: UofI, Moscow

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well first, what was the result of "free -m"? it may be conky that is misreporting free memory. Tmpfs has to be manually set in fstab.
_________________
The danger from computers is not that they will eventually get as smart as men, but that we will agree to meet them halfway. - Bernard Avishai
Computers are a lot like air conditioners - they both work great until you open windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syg00
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 907
Location: Brisbane, AUS

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 7:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a well known "feature" of Linux - which gets queried about once a week.
Do some searching.
There is a "fix" included in Cons patchset amongst others - has some alleged performance impacts.
There is also a kernel config work-around.

I suspect dmesg will show the true (hardware) view of the RAM installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColinK
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might try this kernel option:

Processor type and features -> High memory support (4GB)

it solved this issue for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swooshOnLn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 741
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep, that did it. Thanks ColinK
_________________
"WARNING: you may LOL"

This is my font size, color, and signature. It will change to whatever I pick. How cool is that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads in favour of the related discussion here: 512 != 435 [solved].
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum