Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dr_s99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 2:29 pm    Post subject: Grub problem Reply with quote

well i have followed the instructions for installing gentoo... i got to the last part where i need to reboot!
The problem is that when grub runs i get this error

Quote:
Booting 'Gentoo Linux'
Kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root=/dev/hda3

Error 15:File not found

Press any key to continue....


how can i fix this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cybermonkey
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 194

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 2:37 pm    Post subject: Re: Grub problem Reply with quote

dr_s99 wrote:
well i have followed the instructions for installing gentoo... i got to the last part where i need to reboot!
The problem is that when grub runs i get this error

Quote:
Booting 'Gentoo Linux'
Kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root=/dev/hda3

Error 15:File not found

Press any key to continue....


how can i fix this problem?


Try removing the /boot from the kernel line IE
Code:
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root=/dev/hda3


There's a sticky on grub above this post, I have the same issue when adding /boot as in the howto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43015
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dr_s99,

Welcome to gentoo.

One (or more) of the filenames you have in your grub.conf does not match the filenames you have in /boot. This is normally because you have copied the handbook verbatim and file versions have changed since it was written.

As long as the names match - that can be anything you like.

Look at your kernel filename and your inird file name.

Oh. I'm going to merge this post with the grub thread, but i need to practice first, since I'm new to moderating :)

Enjoy your gentoo.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_s99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well the problem is that right now i can't get pass the grub screen,
now i even tryied to make kernel /usr/src/linux/boot/imagebz (or something like this) but when i type boot, my whole system restarts...!


How do i get pass the GRUB?

is there anyway i could get the handbook??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rakeyry
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Ont. Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you are in the grub selection screen type in C, it will take you to a console screen

Do
Code:
#root (hd0,0)


Then do
Code:
kernel= /<yourkernelversion> root=/dev/hda3


If you don't know your kernel version just type in kernel= / and then press TAB, it should tell you the version.

Then type
Code:
Boot


It will take you to a tux login, type in the root login and password when asked.

Once you are in, if you haven't already emerge gnome or kde or alsa or whatever you need if you haven't already.

Then type gdm, it should take you to the gnome login screen (I use gnome, not sure about KDE) if this doesn't work use "start X"

This should work. If it doesn't let us know and we'll try to work around it.
_________________
The box said Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_s99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, that doesn't work either...
The only folders under (hd0,0) are

lost+found
.keep
boot
grub

and when i try to make root hda3 tell it that the kernel is in /usr/...etc the system crashes as soo as i type boot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rakeyry
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Ont. Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well therein lies the problem. Post here the grub.conf

And also, did you use genkernel or did you manually config your kernel?
_________________
The box said Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_s99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rakeyry wrote:
Well therein lies the problem. Post here the grub.conf

And also, did you use genkernel or did you manually config your kernel?


When i boot my system ,all i see is the grub... nothing else and i can't go farther...(thats why i'm going to use knoppix and i hope i could get access to my HD so i get the conf files)

i manually config my kernel... but i did follow the instructions..!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rakeyry
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Ont. Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boot from the Livecd and post the outcome of the grub.conf
_________________
The box said Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_s99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grub.conf
Code:

default 0
timeout 30
title=Gentoo Linux
root(hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root/dev/hda3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rakeyry
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Ont. Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try first getting rid of the /boot part so it should look something like this.

Code:
default 0
timeout 30
title=Gentoo Linux
root(hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root/dev/hda3

_________________
The box said Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cybermonkey
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 194

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dr_s99 wrote:
rakeyry wrote:
Well therein lies the problem. Post here the grub.conf

And also, did you use genkernel or did you manually config your kernel?


When i boot my system ,all i see is the grub... nothing else and i can't go farther...(thats why i'm going to use knoppix and i hope i could get access to my HD so i get the conf files)

i manually config my kernel... but i did follow the instructions..!


To get past grub, Just type 'e' on your entry line
then highlight the kernel line on the next screen and press 'e' again and you can change the line from there. Then press return when your done and the 'B' to boot.

You mentioned that you were trying to tell grub that the kernel was in /usr?
After you compilleed the kernel you should of had /boot mounted and copied the kernel over to /boot
Quote:
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Oh. I'm going to merge this post with the grub thread, but i need to practice first, since I'm new to moderating :)

NeddySeaggon, take your time. :-) We won't add any pressure! :wink: :P
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dr_s99 wrote:
well, that doesn't work either...
The only folders under (hd0,0) are
Code:
lost+found
.keep
boot
grub


That means that you didn't copy your kernel to /boot.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_s99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i got grub working,but now
i get this error

Quote:
The root block deviceis unspecified or not detected
please specify a device to boot, or "shell" for a shell



well now i have no clue what i should do ...anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post the previous 5 to 10 lines. You should have a "unknown block device (X,Y)" message. That usually means that you forgot to compile the driver for your storage controller in the kernel <*> and not as a module <M>. You should look at the output of lspci if you don't know what storage controller you have.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_s99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, i don't see that error, and how can i run lspci? when i'm at boot():: ?

all i see is

>>Activating udev
>>Determining root device...
!! The root block device is unspecified or not detected
Please specify a device to boot, or "shell" for a shell...
boot() ::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're still using this grub.conf
dr_s99 wrote:

code]
default 0
timeout 30
title=Gentoo Linux
root(hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root/dev/hda3
[/code]

change the kernel line to the following:
Code:
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root=/dev/hda3

_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_s99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well right now, form the edit part of grub... i see this commands...

root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-genkerne-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ram
initrd /initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're missing the real_root parameter. Without it, you can't start Gentoo. Use the following:
Code:
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ram=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3
initrd /initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r10

_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_s99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey,i tried that the error i get now is

Block device /dev/hda3 is not a valid root device...
The root block device is unspecified or not detected


Now i have also tried sda3 but that doesn't work either...!

is there anyway i could get access to fstab... through the grub / shell before (ie. boot():: ) i want to make sure my fstab is correct.. :P

or is there any way i could reinstall grub? or is there anyprogram that could fix it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boot with the live-cd, mount your partitions and look at /mnt/gentoo/etc/fstab and /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf. If you want to reinstall GRUB, chroot and run grub.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_s99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

woot...
now the next error i get

Filesystem couldn't be fixed

what should i do now
it tells me to push control d to continue or to give root password for maintenance...!




hahaha


i found the problem... :D it was the fstab file... i forgotten to replace the BOOT with hdc1 ..etc


Last edited by dr_s99 on Tue Apr 18, 2006 9:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post the exact error message, your /etc/fstab file and the output of fdisk -l. If you can, emerge parted and post the output of parted -s /dev/hda print.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raggamuffin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I seem to have a similar problem. After setting everything up for about 2,5 hours I came to the point to reboot my system.

After the reboot GRUB brings me the warning:

Code:

Booting 'Gentoo Linux'
   root (sd0,0)
   Error 23: Error while parsing number


I tried to find out what this means but couldn't find any solution to that.

Hope someone knows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum