Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gnash linux flashplayer
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
davidgurvich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:07 am    Post subject: gnash linux flashplayer Reply with quote

On the plus side, this version no longer crashes firefox.
On the minus, the plugin doesn't actually work. Perhaps that should go on the plus side.

There is the interesting side effect of not getting nagged to install macromedia flash.

I have changed my mind. This version of gnash is great, there are no minuses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
e-ipi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Aug 2005
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 2:38 am    Post subject: Re: gnash linux flashplayer Reply with quote

davidgurvich wrote:
On the plus side, this version no longer crashes firefox.
On the minus, the plugin doesn't actually work. Perhaps that should go on the plus side.

There is the interesting side effect of not getting nagged to install macromedia flash.



Well, if it did work, you could've installed the flashblock extension for firefox. I wonder if that works with gnash.

I don't miss flash at all, but my kids like flash games, which they play on x86 linux. Now that I think about it, it would have been much better had they never seen the flash stuff in the first place -- but in that case they would probably be bugging me to play battalion with them. You just can't win.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1554
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does gnash integrate into konqueror, or is it just the same problem as with the firefox plugin?
What is the current state of gnash, acceptable flash playback?
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1554
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As soon as I have emerged gnash I have a process klash running with 100% load.
I didn't touched the running konqueror or accessed any flash content. Even when I kill klash it comes up again.
I will have to deinstall this ebuild.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Enverex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 501
Location: Worcester, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gnash plays some old Flash files ok but it doesn't have any anti-aliasing (which means everything looks awful) and it doesn't really seem to play much at all, heh...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avieth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

paoleela wrote:
As soon as I have emerged gnash I have a process klash running with 100% load.
I didn't touched the running konqueror or accessed any flash content. Even when I kill klash it comes up again.
I will have to deinstall this ebuild.


Yeah, klash isn't quite working. It integrates with konqueror and actually attempts to play the files, which is more than netscape-flash can say. But it's always a runaway process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

avieth wrote:
paoleela wrote:
As soon as I have emerged gnash I have a process klash running with 100% load.
I didn't touched the running konqueror or accessed any flash content. Even when I kill klash it comes up again.
I will have to deinstall this ebuild.


Yeah, klash isn't quite working. It integrates with konqueror and actually attempts to play the files, which is more than netscape-flash can say. But it's always a runaway process.

I find it plays simple animations but not animations needed to access popular video/audio streaming sites. (YouTube, MLB)
Hit a page with several flash animations and you'll quickly see the spawned klash process monopolizing the CPU.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avieth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've actually never seen klash play any animation. Gnash will, but not klash. I'm not much of a programmer but I can't imagine making klash work like gnash is very difficult.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

avieth wrote:
I've actually never seen klash play any animation. Gnash will, but not klash. I'm not much of a programmer but I can't imagine making klash work like gnash is very difficult.

klash is the name of the plugin used with konqueror, it is part of gnash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avieth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Headrush wrote:
avieth wrote:
I've actually never seen klash play any animation. Gnash will, but not klash. I'm not much of a programmer but I can't imagine making klash work like gnash is very difficult.

klash is the name of the plugin used with konqueror, it is part of gnash.


exactly, so why can't it function like gnash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

avieth wrote:
Headrush wrote:
avieth wrote:
I've actually never seen klash play any animation. Gnash will, but not klash. I'm not much of a programmer but I can't imagine making klash work like gnash is very difficult.

klash is the name of the plugin used with konqueror, it is part of gnash.


exactly, so why can't it function like gnash.

Ohhh, your saying it doesn't work on konqueror, gotcha now. (I thought you were being a smart ass before, now I get ya. :oops: )

It actually worked for me and it wasn't a runaway process per sa.
It always cleaned up on close and a single process never took over 100% cpu.
The issue was that each process would take approximately 17% of CPU on my system, so a page with 5 animations and the CPU was monopolized.

If I still had it installed I guess it would have been good to compare the CPU usuage in Firefox also to determine whether it was strictly gnash or gnash/konqueror.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1554
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had this cpu load right after emerging, without browsing any sites and the running konqueror hadn't any flash pages opened.
I think that won't be the right solution for me to have flash on ppc..
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timotheus25
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Location: *upstate* New York, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

paoleela wrote:
I had this cpu load right after emerging, without browsing any sites and the running konqueror hadn't any flash pages opened.
I think that won't be the right solution for me to have flash on ppc..


Just a note that gnash performance is proportional to 3D acceleration support in X.org for my machine. And that with konqueror 3.5.2, about 1/2 of klash processes go to la la land, where as gnash does not. Either way, it is ridiculously inefficient with the CPU.
_________________
http://tstotts.net/linux/gentoopb.html
http://tstotts.net/linux/gentooinsp640m.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum