Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Problems with slune (slow FPS)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sodki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 419
Location: London, U.K. & Lisbon, Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:33 am    Post subject: [Solved] Problems with slune (slow FPS) Reply with quote

Has anyone been playing slune on ppc? It's terrible slow (1 FPS) on my iBook G4, except on some of the nighly levels. I have 3D acceleration working (I can play Quake 3, for example), but somehow slune doesn't seem to take advantage of it:

Quote:
$ slune
* Slune * Slune lives in /usr/share
* Slune * PySDL_mixer not installed, trying PyOpenAL...
* Soya * Using 8 bits stencil buffer

* Soya * version 0.10.1
* Using OpenGL 1.3 Mesa 6.2.1
* - renderer : Mesa DRI R200 20040929 AGP 4x TCL
* - vendor : Tungsten Graphics, Inc.
* - maximum number of lights : 8
* - maximum number of clip planes : 6
* - maximum number of texture units : 4
* - maximum texture size : 1024 pixels


Last edited by Sodki on Thu Jul 06, 2006 1:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alienjon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1689

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

* - renderer : Mesa DRI R200 20040929 AGP 4x TCL


I'll bet it's because you are using the Mesa drivers. What kind of video card do you have (nvidia/ati/other?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alienjon:
Mesa is the only option on ppc, so his system is configured correctly.

Sodki:
slune isn't keyworded ppc and is currently masked for security issues. :p
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=103524

You may want to think twice about playing it anyway.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alienjon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1689

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry bout that, missed the ppc. It looks like the game shouldn't be hard masked any more, though. The game has had a work around built into it so as to not use that python package (which was the vulnerability) It has apparently been fixed since 1.0.6 (according to the last post on the bug) but now we're on 1.0.9, why is it still hard masked?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sodki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 419
Location: London, U.K. & Lisbon, Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alienjon wrote:
I'll bet it's because you are using the Mesa drivers. What kind of video card do you have (nvidia/ati/other?)

I have an ATI 9200 with 3D acceleration using free drivers.

JoseJX wrote:
Mesa is the only option on ppc, so his system is configured correctly.

I don't understand. Since I have 3D acceleration on other apps, why is that Mesa is the only option for slune?

Quote:
slune isn't keyworded ppc and is currently masked for security issues. :p
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=103524

Yes, I mentioned it on my Slune bump bugreport: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=130843
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mesa is your 3D acceleration. alienjon didn't realize you were using ppc and was suggesting that you use the binary nvidia/ati drivers.

On my PB G4 1.67 with radeon r300, slune works fine, so I'd suspect it's a problem with the r200 drivers. Have you tried lowering the graphics quality? You may also want to ask upstream (x.org) if it's a known issue.

As for the masking, I think it's because slune still depends on py2play which is still vulnerable. I'm not sure if/when/how that will be resolved.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml


Last edited by JoseJX on Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sodki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 419
Location: London, U.K. & Lisbon, Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
As for the masking, I think it's because slune still depends on py2play which is still vulnerable. I'm not sure if/when/how that will be resolved.

In py2play 0.1.8's README file, there is this text:

Quote:
WARNING !!!
DUE TO SECURITY PROBLEM, NETWORK SUPPORT HAS BEEN DISABLED.

So I guess it is resolved... sort of. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alienjon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1689

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A new ebuild (for 1.0.11) was released earlier today, but it's still hard masked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sodki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 419
Location: London, U.K. & Lisbon, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I don't know what happened, but now Slune works perfectly, with 40+ FPS, with the same output as in the first post. Maybe it was the migration to X11R7.1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum