Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Xorg 7 on ppc?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
raungst
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 2:55 am    Post subject: Xorg 7 on ppc? Reply with quote

I'm eager to get some direct rendering, but I'm nervous to try it after reading all of the threads about problems. If I follow the steps in the HowTo (http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/desktop/x/x11/modular-x-howto.xml), will I end up with a startable X? Will using the "dri" USE Flag break a lot of things? Thanks for any comments. It just seems like not many people have had luck with it. Maybe I'm wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're wrong. :) The conversion isn't as bad as it sounds in the HOWTO, we're actually looking at marking modular X stable on ppc in a month or so. If you're running ~ppc, you don't even have to override any keywords, it's the default X server.

You didn't say what kind of video card you would be using, but I'm guessing an r300 since you're not currently using DRI. I have a PB G4 1.67Ghz and DRI works pretty well on here. There are still some rendering bugs and xorg-7.1 looks like it'll be faster with better results, but it's fast enough to play tomatoes and crack-attack, so I'm happy with the results.

Good luck!
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raungst
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's ok to be wrong once in a while... I have a PBB G4 1.67 GHz, as well :) My video card is a Radeon 9600.

I was thinking that I would be using the r300 driver as well. Setting the "dri" USE flag automatically includes this? Or how do I set the driver? Perhaps I'll try tackling this tommorrow.... 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 5:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to set VIDEO_CARDS="radeon". I don't think the dri use flag actually does anything with modular X, but you'll want to make sure that you have opengl turned on so that mesa builds.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidgurvich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no problems with an r250 based card except for an odd error in the Xorg.0.log. The error seems to be either ignored or compensated for, since there is no effect from it. The sad thing is that translucency takes 99% of CPU, so although it now works I turn it off anyway.

Update portage to 2.1.x prior to following the guide. That is, if you are running 2.0.x now. Not a big deal, but there is some bookkeeping afterwards that you may miss if it's part of a big emerge cycle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the odd error is about a "VBIOS" or an invalid memory access, that's fine, both are the result of the driver probing for x86 specific things (namely a video bios). Since we don't have one, it shows a harmless error.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidgurvich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. It is exactly that. A fear was lurking in the dark recesses of my mind that perhaps this one error would lead to my computer actually exploding.

I forgot one item. xkeyboard-config does not work properly with modular xorg and is replaced with xkbdata. As of my installation, this was not a dependency and xkbdata was not installed If you are having problems switching between VTs using <ctrl>+<alt>+<FN-key>, this is most likelly the cause.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaeger63
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 38
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried Xorg 7 on my iMac G5 with an ATI 9600 last night. Direct rendering started but with some warnings, and glxgears showed 2700 FPS (but also generated a warning). Unfortunately everything locked up when I tried to run ppracer.

The odd thing is that after rebooting X wouldn't start at all - but I didn't have time to do any debugging on it.

Xorg 7 appeared to run fine without direct rendering, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jaeger63 wrote:
I tried Xorg 7 on my iMac G5 with an ATI 9600 last night. Direct rendering started but with some warnings, and glxgears showed 2700 FPS (but also generated a warning). Unfortunately everything locked up when I tried to run ppracer.

The odd thing is that after rebooting X wouldn't start at all - but I didn't have time to do any debugging on it.

Xorg 7 appeared to run fine without direct rendering, though.


you might want to run media-libs/mesa-6.5-r3 and x11-apps/mesa-progs-6.5. that fixed some problems I had with DRI and my Radeon 9600 used by my PowerMac G5 (lockups/X not starting). This is ppc64.

BTW: without DRI mesa 6.4 works just fine for me.

Regards,

Markus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaeger63
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 38
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 1:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I've upgraded to mesa 6.5-r3 and mesa-progs 6.5 but now I have a different problem.
Code:

localhost log # glxinfo | grep direct
libGL warning: 3D driver returned no fbconfigs.
libGL error: InitDriver failed
libGL error: reverting to (slow) indirect rendering
direct rendering: No
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
localhost log # glxgears
libGL warning: 3D driver returned no fbconfigs.
libGL error: InitDriver failed
libGL error: reverting to (slow) indirect rendering
436 frames in 5.7 seconds = 76.257 FPS
360 frames in 5.3 seconds = 67.404 FPS

Before upgrading (that is, using mesa 6.4) I was getting:
Code:
glxgears
*********************************WARN_ONCE*********************************
File r300_state.c function r300Enable line 456
TODO - double side stencil !
***************************************************************************
No ctx->FragmentProgram._Current!!
*********************************WARN_ONCE*********************************
File r300_render.c function r300_get_num_verts line 188
user error: Need more than 2 vertices to draw primitive QS !
***************************************************************************
13780 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2755.947 FPS

I'm not sure if it matters, but I'm using vanilla-sources 2.6.16 and a 32bit userland.

I didn't make any kernel or Xorg configurations after the upgrade. The only difference is the upgrade from mesa-6.4 to mesa-6.5-r3.

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raungst
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
You need to set VIDEO_CARDS="radeon". I don't think the dri use flag actually does anything with modular X, but you'll want to make sure that you have opengl turned on so that mesa builds.


This is probably another silly question, but how do I actually get direct rendering running? My VIDEO_CARDS="radeon", and the mesa version is 6.4.2. But glxgears still shows only about 400 fps. At least I haven't encountered any lockups yet...

I just emerged x11, and uncommented the RGB and ModulePath in xorg.conf. What else needs to be done?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_lior_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/dri-howto.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

raungst:
Check out the PPC FAQ:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml#drm

And you want to comment out the paths sections in Xorgautoconfig, not uncomment them.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bz31
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

_lior_ wrote:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/dri-howto.xml
I see in this howto
Quote:
< > Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support)
Make sure the Direct Rendering Manager (DRM) is off. The X11-DRM package will provide its own.


But in http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml#drm
Quote:
[*] Direct Rendering Manager (DRI support)


Why ? Which is correct ?
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The PPC FAQ is correct unless you want to use an external DRI/DRM module. I recommend using the built in kernel ones since they're easier than the DRM ebuilds.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raungst
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fantastic! I got it all working. It certainly wasn't as difficult as I thought it would be. I just didn't find the FAQs soon enough. Thanks everyone!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaeger63
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 38
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried any games, raungst? I have an ATI 9600 as well, but it's in an iMac G5. glxgears runs fine (2200 FPS) and chromium runs fast and reliable, but some other games I've tried (like ppracer) almost immediately lock up.

They've clearly made great progress on these drivers, but it looks like there's still some serious stability problems, at least with my particular setup.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just emerged ppracer on my PB G4 1.67GHz with a Radeon 9600. It worked okay, so it might be a ppc64 issue.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raungst
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Both chromium and ppracer work great for me. I get about 60 fps in chromium. I get some warnings in ppracer, but it seems to run pretty quick...

Code:

*********************************WARN_ONCE*********************************
File r300_state.c function r300Enable line 456
TODO - double side stencil !
***************************************************************************
No ctx->FragmentProgram._Current!!
*********************************WARN_ONCE*********************************
File r300_render.c function r300_get_num_verts line 193
user error: 341 is not a valid number of vertices for primitive T !
***************************************************************************
*********************************WARN_ONCE*********************************
File r300_render.c function r300_get_num_verts line 188
user error: Need more than 0 vertices to draw primitive Q !
***************************************************************************


Cheers,
Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uhm, I just emerged Xorg 7.1 and updated Gnome to 2.14. How do I get the transparency and shadows, still by using the old hacks from Xorg 6.8? Or is that built in now? Is that an Xorg feature and Gnome enables that, or how does it work?
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum