Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
PPC memory
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wheeler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 1:17 pm    Post subject: PPC memory Reply with quote

I have a 17"pb and happily have X etc working on both lcd and external monitor (No airport of course).

The porblem is this. The machine under MacOSX registers 1024M RAM, cpuinfo reports 1024 M RAM but meminfo says 768M. This is also what is reported by "top"

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pengi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 54
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2003 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How much fysical memory do you have? Maybe there some type of virtual memory in MacOS, so you only have 768M of fysical memory...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2003 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

under linux you only see 768 mb? is that what you're saying? if so, post the output of 'free -m' in linux here. also, check in the output of 'dmesg' right after boot, the linux kernel will report how much physical ram it sees at the beginning of dmesg.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wheeler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2003 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes--but I have 1024M in there
"free -m" yeilds 754 for Mem total

"dmesg" interestingly says "Warning, memory limited to 768Mb, use CONFIG_HIMEM to reach 1024Mb"

Then it says "Total memory = 768MB"

I assume I have to change this somewhere?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stimuli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you need to build 'High Memory Support' into your kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nitrous
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Posts: 37
Location: somewhere over the rainbow

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well that solved...check your kernels everyone :roll: :lol:
_________________
BONZIII
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stimuli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I always thought High-Mem support was for >1GB ram, but apparently anything over 768MB is more than the stock kernel can deal with. It was just curiosity that led me to read my dmesg about 4 months ago, which was when I learned that only 768MB of my TiBook's GB of memory was used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frankOnPPC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 169
Location: Fulda, Hessen, Germany, Europe, Earth

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stimuli wrote:
Yes, I always thought High-Mem support was for >1GB ram, but apparently anything over 768MB is more than the stock kernel can deal with. It was just curiosity that led me to read my dmesg about 4 months ago, which was when I learned that only 768MB of my TiBook's GB of memory was used.


hm,
I thougt it "breaks" the 512M "barrier".
*wondering*...
anyway, with himem it runs...

krgds,
frank
_________________
always look at yellow site of Linux on the PPC.
Its PPCNUX.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

on the x86 architecture, highmem is needed for anything over 896mb. must be something to do with the way its memory addressing is set up. a niave view would assume that you wouldn't need highmem until you had more than 4gb, but apparently there's some limiting factor of the x86 instruction set/architecture.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SignOfZeta
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Three-year bounce. :-)

Anyway, I'm having this same problem. I've got a sweet dual-processor Power Mac G4 (Sawtooth, AGP graphics) with 1 GB of RAM; only 896 MB is showing up under 2.6.15-gentoo-r5. CONFIG_HIMEM=y, yet I don't have my full gig yet. What's going on here? There's no kernel option for (none, 4GB, 64GB) like on x86.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oniq
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Sep 2002
Posts: 597
Location: Connecticut

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:31 pm    Post subject: Powerbook 12" not seeing all the ram? Reply with quote

For some reason, my new Gentoo install isn't seeing my 1.25gb ram, its only seeing 768mb. I have Two modules in the pbook, a 768mb and a 512Mb.. OS X sees the full 1.25gb.. any Ideas? Running 2006.0, kernel 2.6.17-rc5
_________________
open like a child's mind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

merged above post here.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oniq:

You need to enable HIGHMEM just like suggested in the rest of the thread.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oniq
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Sep 2002
Posts: 597
Location: Connecticut

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, thanks for the thread merge.. got my answer :) :oops:
_________________
open like a child's mind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum