Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How To Play Quicktime movies and useful mplayer tips:
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vanguardist
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee :) :) :)

Finally. I emerged gentoo-sources-2.4.20-r3 and everything's great.

:wink: :roll: 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since faad makes everything run extremely slowly on my box, I've ripped the audio and encoded it to ogg. Reencoding the movie seems to make it much bigger (by about 60% before adding the audio), and I'm short on hard drive space. Is there any way to leave the video as-is, only replacing the audio?
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikepb78
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 171
Location: London

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vanguardist wrote:
Finally. I emerged gentoo-sources-2.4.20-r3 and everything's great.


So you think it was the kernel or something related to that that caused the crash? I have heard of other people also having mplayer crashes with the win32 codecs and quciktime. So that might be a possible solution. If only there was an explaination i could give as to why it occurs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikepb78
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 171
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2003 4:58 pm    Post subject: Another XMMS Plugin : Reply with quote

XMMPlayer

This one works better then than Xmms-MPlayer, although i am sure the latter will have its bugs sorted out.

XMMPlayer features :

Quote:

local file playback of AVI, MPEG, QuickTime and OGG movies using MPlayer
uses magic to detect AVI, MPEG and QuickTime movies (checks for .ogm extension to detect OGG movies)
pause files from within xmms


TODO :
Quote:

1) stream playback
2) configuration screen
3) seeking / status / title / etc
4) lots and lots of stuff


I will be very please to see that project have no. 3 done in the TODO list.

XMMPlayer :
http://thegraveyard.org/xmmplayer/

Xmms-Mplayer :
http://www.cse.iitb.ac.in/~nandan/xmmsmplayer/xmmsmplayer.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Praxxus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 193
Location: Indiana, US

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Man, thanks for that, Vanguardist. It was a kernel config issue for me, too.

Even more frustrating, Mplayer was working great on my laptop, but kept barfing out (same errors you were getting) on the desktop. :P

A kernel reconfig/recompile fixed it. :D
_________________
My glaucoma just got worse!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gondoi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Mar 2003
Posts: 138
Location: San Angelo, TX

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2003 2:47 pm    Post subject: animatrix Reply with quote

I'm a little confused about something....

I saw the tip on the animatrix movies.. (putting both audio channels in one then playing that file, etc)... well, here is the thing, I don't have trouble with any of the movies playing except for the detective story.
All the others I can just do
Code:
mplayer animatrix.mov
and they work just fine, but with the detective one i have to extract the audio.....

Anyone have any idea about this one?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2003 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could someone post tips how to play mplayer on the framebuffer, especially when you have one of those nifty splash-screens on the background?
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikepb78
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 171
Location: London

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 1:29 am    Post subject: Framebuffers Reply with quote

I will go through all of the video output drivers for mplayer. The most usefull one is directfb. Basically you should

Code:

emerge DirectFB
emerge mplayer


You need to have set up your kernel for framebuffer support etc.. and then you can play your movie like so :

Code:
mplayer -vo directfb -fs movie.avi


I will go into more detail when i have time during the weekend.

PS : GGI/SDL/Vesa/SVGAlib and fbdev all can run on the frambuffer, directfb generally performs the best.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikepb78
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 171
Location: London

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tactless wrote:
Since faad makes everything run extremely slowly on my box, I've ripped the audio and encoded it to ogg. Reencoding the movie seems to make it much bigger (by about 60% before adding the audio), and I'm short on hard drive space. Is there any way to leave the video as-is, only replacing the audio?


This is due to the win32 quicktime codecs used to play the movie. Try rencoding with "v4mv", "vme=1" etc in your "lavcopts" for mencoder. And also do a 2pass encoding.

You can reduce the cpu usage when playing the original, by adding "-pp 0" to your mplayer cmd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikepb78
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 171
Location: London

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 1:38 am    Post subject: Re: animatrix Reply with quote

gondoi wrote:
I'm a little confused about something....

I saw the tip on the animatrix movies.. (putting both audio channels in one then playing that file, etc)... well, here is the thing, I don't have trouble with any of the movies playing except for the detective story.
All the others I can just do
Code:
mplayer animatrix.mov
and they work just fine, but with the detective one i have to extract the audio.....

Anyone have any idea about this one?

Thanks


with the detective eps you need to append the 2 audio channels so that it is in sync.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acid_kewpie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2003 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

AcidRip - a Gtk::Perl application for ripping and encoding DVD's. - http://acidrip.thirtythreeandathird.net/

ooh that's mine! tell me what you think of it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikepb78
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 171
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

acid_kewpie wrote:
Quote:

AcidRip - a Gtk::Perl application for ripping and encoding DVD's. - http://acidrip.thirtythreeandathird.net/

ooh that's mine! tell me what you think of it!


Oh it is cool, i just want one feature. The ability to convert already ripped vobs on the harddrive. :) I do not remember is being able to do that. Otherwise it is quite cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikepb78
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 171
Location: London

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2003 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

m00dawg made step 3 in the audio resyncing a little easier :

Code:
seconds=`mencoder -aid 2 -ofps 24 -oac copy -ovc copy -o /dev/null the_seccond_renaissance.mov 2> /dev/null | grep "Audio streaam" | awk '{print $10 * 1000}'`
 ogmmerge -o the_second_renaissance.ogm -A the_second_renaissance.avi -s $seconds stream.mp3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cybermans
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2003
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2003 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when i try to see the apple keynot about the G5 (maybe intressting when paladium hardware is introduced) (http://stream.apple.akadns.net/) i get the error message:
MOV: Reference Media file!!!
QuickTime/MOV file format detected.

RTSP protocol support requires the "LIVE.COM Streaming Media" libraries!
Unable to open URL: rtsp://a2047.v1424b.c1424.g.vq.akamaistream.net/5/2047/1424/pri_250_1/1a1a1a0377e94eaf1c4abb2fa5d334a41480e51376e55281e65cc12fa31645af2492c1298afa6ae342b93094f7/wwdc_250.sdp

Playing rtsp://a2047.v1424b.c1424.g.vq.akamaistream.net/5/2047/1424/pri_250_1/1a1a1a0377e94eaf1c4abb2fa5d334a41480e51376e55281e65cc12fa31645af2492c1298afa6ae342b93094f7/wwdc_250.sdp


Exiting...

i already downloaded that libraries en maked the thing but it aint working yet. Anyone knows a solution?
_________________
My weBlog
Linux compability list (hardware)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grzewho
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Dec 2002
Posts: 626
Location: /home/g

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here`s my tip:

to disable xscreensaver during mplayer`s playback add
Code:
stop_xscreensaver=yes

to your .mplayer/config file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
0ctane
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 115
Location: Cincinnati, OH

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been having trouble viewing AVIs with mplayer so I figured I should upgrade. I had a strange error pop up when trying to emerge the latest mplayer. I was trying to emerge it, but would get some sort of error. So I figured my problem might be quicktime related. I added quicktime to my USE list in make.conf. I got this new error after emerging the latest quicktime.
Code:
bash-2.05b# emerge -u mplayer
Calculating dependencies ...done!

!!! Error: the <dev-perl/File-Spec-0.84-r1 package conflicts with this package and both can't be installed on the same system together.

Any ideas? BTW, here is my current version info from "emerge -p mplayer":
Code:
[ebuild    U ] media-video/mplayer-0.90-r2 [0.90_rc5]


[edit]
Well, I am now at mplayer-1.0pre2 so my problems emerging are not an issue anymore.
_________________
<signature></signature>
-----------------------------


Last edited by 0ctane on Wed Dec 31, 2003 5:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joseh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
You can use kmplayer/mplayerplug-in or plugger to play the rtsp:// streams in the web browser (Although Realone seems to be an
improvement to be an improvement over Realplayer8)


Uh.. how?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1677
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 11:33 pm    Post subject: Konqueror playing videos. Reply with quote

Hi,

This seems like the appropriate thread to ask this and, if not, please feel free to bash me about the head :P.

I have gotten video to work pretty well save in one area, i.e., video off the internet (I'm using konqueror as my browser). The video for a movie trailer comes through just dandy, but I get no audio.

The problem appears to be that the command konqueror uses to bring up mplayer does not have a 9 after the -ao alsa. Hence, it's trying to output to a sound system that is not recognized.

mplayer -wid 33557770 -slave -vo xv -ao alsa [snipped rest]

Does anybody know which configuration file is behind the execution of this command so that I can fix it in about 2 seconds?

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joseh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
mplayer -wid 33557770 -slave -vo xv -ao alsa [snipped rest]


That line is in the kmplayer source. Upgrade, try adding the command line option in kmplayer, or change the source and recompile. I'd recommend upgrading both kmplayer and mplayer and simply changing the audio driver from the configuration dialog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1677
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 10:33 pm    Post subject: Compiling, etc. Reply with quote

Hi,

Ok, I tried to re-emerge kmplayer (8.1) and this did not resolve the problem. Unfortunately, I am not that adept at modifying the source code, recompiling, etc., so I wouldn't know where or with what file to start.

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1677
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 10:38 pm    Post subject: kmplayer Reply with quote

P.S. - I tried to use the command line option and it didn't help any.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joseh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, I use the CVS version of KMplayer with mplayer 1.0pre3-3.2.3. If you don't have these following options or equivalents, then you won't be able to change the command line to run mplayer.

first option :
Code:
Settings -> Configure KMPlayer -> General Options -> Output -> Audio driver


change to Default from MPlayer Config, then add 'ao=alsa9' to ~/.mplayer/config

second option:

Make sure to add the '-ao alsa9' option to the edit box at
Code:
Settings -> Configure KMPlayer -> General Options -> Mplayer -> Additional command line arguments


Doing the second option even works for my version, so I'd try to find that in the options to your version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joseh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, I use the CVS version of KMplayer with mplayer 1.0pre3-3.2.3. If you don't have these following options or equivalents, then you won't be able to change the command line to run mplayer.

first option :
Code:
Settings -> Configure KMPlayer -> General Options -> Output -> Audio driver


change to Default from MPlayer Config, then add 'ao=alsa9' to ~/.mplayer/config

second option:

Make sure to add the '-ao alsa9' option to the edit box at
Code:
Settings -> Configure KMPlayer -> General Options -> Mplayer -> Additional command line arguments


Doing the second option even works for my version, so I'd try to find that in the options to your version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joseh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2004 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops. Double post. You should probably also file a bug report at bugs.gentoo.org and recommend that the maintainer add a patch to the kmplayer ebuild (which would be very simple), so others don't experience the same trouble. Doing so would be very helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1677
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2004 1:00 am    Post subject: Thanks.... Reply with quote

That did the trick, it's working now.

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum