Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kernel 2.6.17 problems [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
goku8499
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 4:22 am    Post subject: Kernel 2.6.17 problems [solved] Reply with quote

I have a powerbook 17inch G4 1.33 ghz machine, that i must have wireless working on to use the net. i can't post my kernel config at all so i apologize for that. My problem is this VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block (0,0).
i loaded my config from 2.6.15-gentoo-r5 and added in the bcm43xx support. compiles fine. I don't know what is wrong and i have tried everything that i know of. Is there anyone out there that has this kernel running on their pbook that i can get the config from. Thank in advance.


Last edited by goku8499 on Thu Jun 29, 2006 6:19 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should not use a 2.6.15 or earlier config with 2.6.16 or later. Make a new config with make pmac32_defconfig and tweak from there.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 242
Location: Ramsey, MN

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick google search - http://kerneltrap.org/node/2318 - any help there? I got a similar problem on my Dell server... think it had something to do with the fact I had no idea what it had in there for hardware :D
_________________
last.fm
SFH, because it's awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goku8499
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you to JoseJX for the tip. i have it working now and wireless support hope to have kde done soon ( yeah right :wink: ) any way thank you again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
You should not use a 2.6.15 or earlier config with 2.6.16 or later. Make a new config with make pmac32_defconfig and tweak from there.


Oh... that explains why a
Code:
make oldconfig

from a 2.6.12 configuration to the 2.6.17 didn't really seem to work. Do you know why that is that you're not supposed to update a config this way? Too many changes in the kernek configuration syms?

What I used to do to get a useful .config file (about two years ago or so) was to boot from the latest install CD, and then grab the configuration from /proc/config.gz. Does that still function reliably?
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hope you don't mind if I paste a link instead of typing it all again. :) But the short version is that the ARCH changed between 2.6.15 and 2.6.16. Using oldconfig in this situation is like using oldconfig from an x86 configuration. :p
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-458059.html

I still suggest using make pmac32_defconfig to generate a minimal config that should boot, and then tweaking it until it works. Once we have a release with kernel 2.6.16 or newer, you can go back to your old method.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
I still suggest using make pmac32_defconfig to generate a minimal config that should boot, and then tweaking it until it works. Once we have a release with kernel 2.6.16 or newer, you can go back to your old method.


It took some time to get from a generic pmac32_defconfig to what I actually wanted, but it seems to work now. The only thing I still haven't figured out though is why the kernel now kicks off both net.eth0 and net.eth1 before entering runlevel 3. Neither of the net interfaces is in my default init scripts anymore. How/where can I disable that behavior in the kernel config?
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not the kernel. Most likely, you have something else that depends on the ethernet (perhaps sshd?) that's starting the network early.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I definitely do: apache2 and sshd and a few more. I'm just surprized that both interfaces are being brought up way before runlevel 3 is being entered.

I'll poke around a little bit, and see if I can find out something...
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe I'm not understanding what you're trying to accomplish here? What exactly is happening? What do you expect it to do?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Until now, only net.eth0 was started because it's been activated as one of the default init scripts. So it came up after runlevel 3 was entered.

Now I'm running a new kernel and a much updated Gentoo version. It seems that there is a dependency of a boot init script (or whatever you call the init script that execute before runlevel 3) to networking. Even before runlevel 3 is entered, both network interfaces eth0 and eth1 are started, and that's what confuses me. Wireless is enough now (eth1), I don't need both to be up. It looks to me as if one of the boot init scripts now have a network dependency.

That's the question I have: how can I switch either one off? Do I have to go through all the init scripts to see which one actually has a dependency to the network?
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you please show us rc-update show ?

Thanks
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
root@tigger ~ # rc-update show
           alsasound |      default           
             apache2 |      default           
            bootmisc | boot                   
             checkfs | boot                   
           checkroot | boot                   
               clock | boot                   
         consolefont | boot                   
            cpufreqd |      default           
                famd |      default           
                 gpm |      default           
            hostname | boot                   
             hotplug |      default           
             keymaps | boot                   
               local |      default nonetwork
          localmount | boot                   
             modules | boot                   
              net.lo | boot                   
            netmount |      default           
          ntp-client |      default           
                ntpd |      default           
  pb-mouse-emulation |      default           
          pbbuttonsd |      default           
                pmud |      default           
           rmnologin | boot                   
                rngd |      default           
              savage |      default           
              serial | boot                   
           shorewall |      default           
                sshd |      default           
           syslog-ng |      default           
             urandom | boot                   
          vixie-cron |      default           
              xinetd |      default           


Both net interfaces are initialized last in boot, and then runlevel 3 is being entered. I don't see a dependency in the scripts which would force the network to be brought up.

Something odd just happened though. Both interfaces are up, yet no network connection can be established anymore (didn't touch a thing, I swear!), and no nameserver can be found. Then I shut down both, and try to bring up either eth0 or eth1 with no success: no network access, although dhcp retrieves an IP. This is mighty flakey now...

I'm running 2.6.12 right now; network still functions fine here.
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh one more thing: booting with a 2.6.12 kernel results in a different execution order of the init scripts than booting the 2.6.17 kernel. That's why I initially thought the eth0/eth1 is a kernel issue.
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nebvin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Oct 2002
Posts: 83
Location: Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You will want to set this in /etc/conf.d/rc:
Code:
RC_PLUG_SERVICES="!net.*"

That will stop your network interfaces from loading on their own
_________________
Nebbie
"There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary and those that don't."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh thanks!

The next line in my rc config is the real culprit though, I think:
Code:
RC_NET_STRICT_CHECKING="no"

Reading the comment above that line, "no" here means that at least one of the network services (besides net.lo) has to be up. Setting this to "lo" will bring up net.lo only and no other of the network services.

I'll try both :-)

EDIT: If I set them to
Code:
RC_PLUG_SERVICES="net.eth1 !net.*"
RC_NET_STRICT_CHECKING="no"

then only the wireless interface is coming up right before runlevel 3 is entered. Seems to work now.
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

_savage wrote:
Setting this to "lo" will bring up net.lo only and no other of the network services.


Nope, misread the comment. Leave that to "no" and disabling all services with "!net.*" works great.
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum