Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Yaboot on G3 hangs "please wait loading kernel" [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1351

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:56 am    Post subject: Yaboot on G3 hangs "please wait loading kernel" [s Reply with quote

I have searched here, RTFM and yaboot does not find kernel [Edit finds kernel now but hangs scroll to 2nd post by turtles]. From rebooting the live cd I
Code:
 livecd ~ #mount /dev/hdb4 /mnt/gentoo livecd ~ # mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
livecd ~ # mount -o bind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
livecd ~ # chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
livecd / # /usr/sbin/env-update && source /etc/profile
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
livecd / #nano -w /etc/yaboot.conf

[EDIT out all comented lines to save space.]
Code:
boot=/dev/hdb2
device=hd:2 #I also tried a 1 here and leaving blank like it shows in manual#
partition=4
delay=10
timeout=40
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
image=/boot/2.6.16-gentoo-r9
 label=Linux
 root=/dev/hda4
 partition=4
 read-only

ofboot=hd:1




Question remains why wouldent yaboot find at least a broken kernel?? Me thinks it has to be
Code:
/boot/kernel-2.6.16-gentoo-r9

Instead of
Code:
/boot/2.6.16-gentoo-r9



and now i emerged mac-fdisk in the chroot so I dident have to keep re chrooting every time yabootconfig doesnt work.

Code:
(chroot) livecd / # yabootconfig
yaboot is the Linux Loader for PowerPC.  yabootconfig sets up your system to boot directly
from your hard disk, without the need for a boot CD, floppy or a network boot.
Install yaboot bootstrap on /dev/hdb2 to boot Linux from /dev/hdb4? [Yes] yes
Creating a simple /etc/yaboot.conf...
yabootconfig: Cannot find a kernel, please locate one
Enter path to a kernel image: /boot/kernel-2.6.16-gentoo-r9
Enter path to an initrd image (hit Enter for none):
ofpath: Unable to determine sysfs mountpoint
yabootconfig: Unable to determine OpenFirmware device name to /dev/hdb, aborting...
(chroot) livecd / # ofpath /dev/hdb
ofpath: Unable to determine sysfs mountpoint
(chroot) livecd / # mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
mount: mount point /mnt/gentoo/dev does not exist
(chroot) livecd / # mount -o bind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount: mount point /mnt/gentoo/sys does not exist
(chroot) livecd / # /usr/sbin/env-update && source /etc/profile
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...


Code:
livecd / # ls /sys
block  class    firmware  module
bus    devices  kernel    power


Code:
livecd / # ls /dev
[EDITED OUT EXTRA STUFF]
hdb       ptye1  ptyu0  ptyzf   ttya6  ttyq5  ttyw4
hdb1      ptye2  ptyu1  ram0    ttya7  ttyq6  ttyw5
hdb2      ptye3  ptyu2  ram1    ttya8  ttyq7  ttyw6
hdb3      ptye4  ptyu3  ram10   ttya9  ttyq8  ttyw7
hdb4      ptye5  ptyu4  ram11   ttyaa  ttyq9  ttyw8


Code:
livecd ~ # mac-fdisk /dev/hdb
/dev/hdb
Command (? for help): p
/dev/hdb
        #                    type name                  length   base      ( size )  system
/dev/hdb1     Apple_partition_map Apple                     63 @ 1         ( 31.5k)  Partition map
/dev/hdb2         Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap               1600 @ 64        (800.0k)  NewWorld bootblock
/dev/hdb3         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap                 1048576 @ 1664      (512.0M)  Linux swap
/dev/hdb4         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root               155251248 @ 1050240   ( 74.0G)  Linux native

Block size=512, Number of Blocks=156301488
DeviceType=0x0, DeviceId=0x0


I have read https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-369501-start-0-postdays-0-postorder-asc-highlight-initrd+ppc.html
and
[url] http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-ppc.xml?part=1&chap=10[/url]
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-371681-highlight-initrd+ppc.html

ANY clues I am missing in here?
_________________
Donate to Gentoo


Last edited by turtles on Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:07 am; edited 7 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you mean by: "yaboot does not find kernel"? Is there a specific error? Everything looks fine to me, the boot link is a link to prevent people with seperate /boot partitions from screwing up their paths. Grub2 is not mature enough to suggest it for regular use.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1351

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edited above post and title to better describe problem
UPDATE
I could do a
Code:
ofpath /dev/hdb
on the live cd but not chrooted

From the chroot
I have tried adding a few different combinations to /etc/yaboot.conf
Code:
device=hd:/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@1:2

did not work
then
Code:
device=/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@1:2

did not work
then
Code:
device=/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@1:


did not work
then
Code:
device=hd:/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@1:




Code:
livecd / # mkofboot -v
mkofboot: Finding OpenFirmware device path to `/dev/hdb2'...
ofpath: Unable to determine sysfs mountpoint
mkofboot: Unable to find OpenFirmware path for boot=/dev/hdb2
mkofboot: Please add ofboot=<path> where <path> is the OpenFirmware path to /dev/hdb2 to /etc/yaboot.conf

thanks again for ANY ideas!
_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1351

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Part way to solved!
From the live cd (non chrooted)
Code:
ofpath /dev/hdb


then adding a line to /etc/yaboot.conf that contains the output of
Code:
ofpath
:
Code:
#OpenFirmware device path
ofboot=/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@1:

got me
Code:
livecd / # mkofboot -v

mkofboot: Create hfs filesystem on /dev/hdb2? [y/N] y
mkofboot: Creating HFS filesystem on /dev/hdb2...
mkofboot: Installing first stage bootstrap /usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
mkofboot: Installing primary bootstrap /usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot ont
mkofboot: Installing /etc/yaboot.conf onto /dev/hdb2...
mkofboot: Setting attributes on ofboot...
mkofboot: Setting attributes on yaboot...
mkofboot: Setting attributes on yaboot.conf...
mkofboot: Blessing /dev/hdb2 with Holy Penguin Pee...
mkofboot: Updating OpenFirmware boot-device variable in nvram...
mkofboot: Installation complete.
livecd / # ybin -v
ybin: Installing first stage bootstrap /usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot ont
ybin: Installing primary bootstrap /usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot onto /d
ybin: Installing /etc/yaboot.conf onto /dev/hdb2...
ybin: Setting attributes on ofboot...
ybin: Setting attributes on yaboot...
ybin: Setting attributes on yaboot.conf...
ybin: Blessing /dev/hdb2 with Holy Penguin Pee...
ybin: Updating OpenFirmware boot-device variable in nvram...


But now it wont boot on reboot (does automaticly go to the cdrom after the grey ? / mac screen
UPDATE (at hour 5 of yaboot)
Ok so I removed the drive from the computer and set it up as hda and made shure it was set as a MASTER drive it had a jumper "cable select" installed wich I moved to master.
I changes fstab, and yaboot.conf
ran ybin and mkofboot again with no errors. ran yabootconf to check file and it compalins
Code:
ofpath: /dev/hdb: No such file or directory
yabootconfig: Unable to determine OpenFirmware device name to /dev/hdb, aborting...
A quick doubble check and I have in fact changed all entrys to /hda from /hdb.

UPDATE
I reboot and get "Welcome to yaboot version 1.3.13
Enter "help" to get some basic usage information
boot:linux
please wait loading kernel....."

and it just hangs ther forever?

UPDATE
I finaly got yabootconfig to run without errors, and I have compiled 2 kernels so I am going back to the first one for this round. yabootconfig generates:
Code:
 GNU nano 1.3.9                        File: /etc/yaboot.conf

## yaboot.conf generated by yabootconfig 1.0.8
##
## run: "man yaboot.conf" for details. Do not make changes until you have!!
##
## For a dual-boot menu, add one or more of:
## bsd=/dev/hdaX, macos=/dev/hdaY, macosx=/dev/hdaZ

boot=/dev/hda2
device=/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@0:
partition=4
root=/dev/hda4
timeout=30
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot

image=/boot/2.6.16-gentoo-r9
        label=Linux
        read-only


MORE INFO:
Code:
livecd / # ls /boot/
2.6.16-gentoo-r9  boot  kernel-2.6.16-gentoo-r9
livecd / # nano -w /etc/yaboot.conf
livecd / # exit
exit
livecd ~ # yabootconfig --chroot /mnt/gentoo/
yaboot is the Linux Loader for PowerPC.  yabootconfig sets up your system to boot directly
from your hard disk, without the need for a boot CD, floppy or a network boot.
Install yaboot bootstrap on /dev/hda2 to boot Linux from /dev/hda4? [Yes] yes
Creating a simple /mnt/gentoo/etc/yaboot.conf...
yabootconfig: Cannot find a kernel, please locate one
Enter path to a kernel image: /mnt/gentoo/boot/2.6.16-gentoo-r9
Enter path to an initrd image (hit Enter for none):
Running mkofboot to make the disk bootable...
Done
livecd ~ # chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
livecd / # /usr/sbin/env-update && source /etc/profile
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
livecd / # nano -w /etc/yaboot.conf
livecd / # exit
exit
 


I guess I should mention that the live CD has a coupple of errors on boot up one about a signel 11 and quite a few about ipv6, I made a 2nd live cd today and it has same errors, they are minor but you never know the errors are reported here kinda https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=126688.
I reboot and it just hangs ther forever?
If it were a kernel problem wouldn't it say kernel panic???

I cant tell if it is related to this https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=119642
Anything I missed?
UPDATE
Looks like there is a bug https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=126421
This bug is resolved as a wont fix but does not accuratly match this problem. The bug report says
Quote:
The work around is to use the "nodetect" option.
I do not understand what that means or how to do/ try that. It is G3 imac 233 (REV B) blue and white. it has been running gentoo for a wile as a server and it does a great job i would like to keep it out of the trash for a wile longer.
_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1351

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 7:02 am    Post subject: fstab config wrong Reply with quote

Incase anyone is having the same problem JoseJX just pointed out that I hac /etcfstab configured wrong there is no line needed for apple bootstrap.
[url]gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-457922-highlight-ppc+fstab.html[/url]
We will try yabootconfig again after the update world finishes.
_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pindar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assuming that the information you post is correct...

From your yaboot.config:
Code:
root=/dev/hda4


From the output of mac-fdisk:
Code:
/dev/hdb4         Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root               155251248 @ 1050240   ( 74.0G)  Linux native


So what IS the disk and partition where yaboot is supposed to load the kernel: hda4 or hdb4?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1351

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Short answer = hda
To clarify & summary:
  • between the above posts I removed the drive from the computer to check for hard ware issues.
  • Drive had a jumper "cable select" installed.
  • I moved jumper to master.
  • Drive showed as hda instead of hdb on reboot of live cd.
  • I edited fstab, and yaboot.conf to reflect the hdb to hda change.
    (the imac seems to support only 1 hd so the cable select was my mistake)
  • ran ybin and mkofboot again with no errors.
  • ran yabootconf to check file and it compalind
    Code:
    ofpath: /dev/hdb: No such file or directory
    I think was because I had not remounted properly?
  • yabootconfig later ran with no errors.
  • I did not end up with the
    Code:
    #OpenFirmware device path
     ofboot=/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@1:
    in the new /etc/yaboot.config generated by yabootconfig.
  • Upon reboot yaboot hangs at please wait loading kernel on 2 different kernels I compiled
  • It was pointed out I had hda /boot in fstab, not needed so I removed and resaved fstab





the emerge --info /etc/fstab, mac-fdisk, /etc/yaboot.config and everything you ever wanted to know about the computer is[/list][/list] here.
to save space.
It has been so long that I am now up dating the system which is leading me to update gcc and recompile, getting errors with this so i wont be rebooting for a little wile.
Thanks for ANY ideas, soloutions, thoughts or just reading.
_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pindar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is your iMac really a "New World" Mac? What happens if you boot it up while holding down the option/alt key?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The iMac rev. B (which is what he's got) is certainly a new world mac, all iMacs are. I think the problem is that he replaced the < 8GB drive that it came with with an 80GB drive which leads me to this FAQ question: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml#gblimit

Hope that helps. :)
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1351

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FAQ says
Quote:
There is an 8GB limit for the root partition

Looks like I'll be using parted to resize my root because mac-fdisk cant resize.

Since I am going to mainly be using it as a headless server for apache2 cups postgres database. would anyone have any recomendations on a partitioning lay out??? srever details here

thanks for any ideas!
_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1351

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ivecd ~ # parted /dev/hda
GNU Parted 1.6.23
Copyright (C) 1998 - 2005 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This program is free software, covered by the GNU General Public License.

This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful, but WITHOUT ANY
WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A
PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the GNU General Public License for more details.

Using /dev/hda
(parted) p
Disk geometry for /dev/hda: 0kB - 80GB
Disk label type: mac
Number  Start   End     Size    File system  Name                  Flags
1       1kB     32kB    32kB                 Apple
2       33kB    851kB   819kB   hfs          bootstrap             boot
3       852kB   538MB   537MB   linux-swap   swap                  swap
4       538MB   80GB    79GB    ext3         root                  root
(parted) resize 4 538  7GB
No Implementation: This ext2 file system has a rather strange layout!  Parted can't
resize this (yet).
(parted)                                               


Any other way to resize lay out?
_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1351

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
livecd ~ # e2fsck -f /dev/hda4
e2fsck 1.38 (30-Jun-2005)
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes
Pass 2: Checking directory structure
Pass 3: Checking directory connectivity
Pass 4: Checking reference counts
Pass 5: Checking group summary information
/dev/hda4: 231884/9715712 files (1.9% non-contiguous), 856924/19406406 blocks
livecd ~ # resize2fs /dev/hda4 8G
resize2fs 1.38 (30-Jun-2005)
Resizing the filesystem on /dev/hda4 to 2097152 (4k) blocks.
The filesystem on /dev/hda4 is now 2097152 blocks long.


then I used mac-fdisk to delete the root
Code:
livecd ~ # mac-fdisk /dev/hda
/dev/hda
Command (? for help): d 4


And created a 8 GB root
Code:
Command (? for help): c
First block: 4p
Length (in blocks, kB (k), MB (M) or GB (G)): 8G
Name of partition: /root

I then created a /var 30GB
and a /usr (rest of disk)
And it now boots
But how does it know that I "moved" var or that I moved "usr"?
Thanks for the help.
_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm glad it boots now. In order to use those partitions, you must mount them (add them to fstab) when the computer starts. If you didn't do this already, it will put all of the files intended for /var and /usr on the root partition instead.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum