Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Errors in kernel compile
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eulipion2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Huntington, WV

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

patch: command not found

I've exited to the point of getting the "Welcome to Gentoo Linux" message, my prompt looks like "livecd root #".

BTW, I really appreciate you taking so much time helping me get this straightened out. Thanks so much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eulipion2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Huntington, WV

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, and is yaboot-kernel.patch supposed to patch something called yaboot-kernel? I don't see that anywhere in /mnt/gentoo/usr/sbin.

EDIT: I'm back at "livecd sbin #" but still get "patch: command not found". I can't seem to find patch in any of my bin or sbin directories, but I might have missed a couple.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I thought patch was on the InstallCD. :p Try /mnt/gentoo/usr/bin/patch instead of just "patch".
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eulipion2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Huntington, WV

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I actually got patch to run, got the following:
Code:
livecd sbin # /mnt/gentoo/usr/bin/patch < /yaboot-kernel.patch
patching file yabootconfig
Hunk #1 succeeded at 470 (offset 26 lines).
Hunk #2 succeeded at 533 (offset 26 lines).
Hunk #3 succeeded at 561 (offset 26 lines).

livecd sbin # rm /yaboot-kernel.patch
livecd sbin # chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
livecd / # /usr/sbin/env-update && source /etc/profile
livecd / # exit

livecd sbin # yabootconfig --chroot /mnt/gentoo
yabootconfig: Cannot find a kernel, please locate one


Did the patch not work? Or am I just in the wrong pwd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See, you patched the yabootconfig in your chroot: /mnt/gentoo/usr/sbin/yabootconfig, but when you ran just yabootconfig, it used the one in /usr/sbin/yabootconfig. What you need to do is type /mnt/gentoo/usr/sbin/yabootconfig --chroot /mnt/gentoo which will use the "right" yabootconfig.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eulipion2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Huntington, WV

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did exactly as you said, once from livecd sbin #, and once from livecd root #, and both times it couldn't find the kernel. What should my pwd be? Does it matter? Do I need to re-patch yaboot?

EDIT: Oh,oh! I finally got it! Time to proceed and hope this works.


Last edited by eulipion2 on Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your pwd doesn't matter. The example that you pasted above isn't right, you need to actually type "/mnt/gentoo/usr/sbin/yabootconfig", not cd /mnt/gentoo/usr/sbin then yabootconfig. Do you see the difference?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eulipion2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Huntington, WV

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX,
As soon as I replied I tinkered around and I'm now booted into Gentoo! Thank you SO much for your patience and help getting my installation up and running! Mad props to you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did the patch for yabootconfig help then?

Glad you got it working. :)
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eulipion2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Huntington, WV

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still had to enter the path to the kernel, but this time it recognized it, so I'm guessing the patch worked. Thanks!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eulipion2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Huntington, WV

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hate to bring this thread back to life, but I couldn't get Portage to install, so I tried reinstalling. I make it to 7c. in the handbook
Code:
make && make modules_install
but I get this:
Code:
CC        fs/seq_file.o
CC        fs/xattr.o
fs/xattr.c: In function `vfs_removeattr':
fs/xattr.c:161: internal compiler error: Segmentation fault


Every time I retry I get a different file, but same Segmentation fault. Any thoughts? Help?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you mean that you couldn't get portage to install?

That sounds like a memory problem, make sure the machine isn't overheating and that you have enough memory and disk space. If that isn't it, you could try using memtester (it's on the InstallCD). Run that for a while and watch for errors. The only other thing I can suggest is incorrect use flags (for a G4 instead of a G3 etc.) or a kernel with preempt (but you haven't gotten there yet right?). Sorry I can't be of more help. Good luck!
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eulipion2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Huntington, WV

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
What do you mean that you couldn't get portage to install?

My bad, I meant X11, specifically something called Mesa.

JoseJX wrote:
you could try using memtester (it's on the InstallCD).

I typed memtester at the boot: prompt on the install cd and got
Code:
cd:2,memtester: Unknown or corrupt filesystem
I get the same error for memtest (was suggested on first page), mem-test, and mem-tester. Do I need to reburn my install cd?

JoseJX wrote:
The only other thing I can suggest is incorrect use flags (for a G4 instead of a G3 etc.) or a kernel with preempt (but you haven't gotten there yet right?).

I tried both G3 and 750 (the example file said to use 750 for processor type), and using menuconfig I tried both non-preemptive and voluntarily preemptive kernels, but to no avail. As for overheating, it's no hotter than it's ever been. It's an old bubble iMac, no fan, just huge vents everywhere. It has a 30 gig HD and 256 megs of RAM.

Hope this can help some. It shouldn't be my hardware, as I can get OS X up and running without problem. Unless OS X is more forgiving than Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The mesa bug was a known issue. :p It's not your fault and should be fixed now.

By on the install CD, I mean, it's an appliction on the install CD. It's a program that you run after you've booted.

OSX is more forgiving than Gentoo, especially when compiling. Not much drives your computer harder I'm afraid. You could try pointing a fan at it and see if that helps, but I'd test the memory first.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eulipion2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Huntington, WV

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX, thanks for that. So when I boot to cd, I get a prompt that says "boot: " Do I type "memtester", do I browse the cd for it, is it "cd: memtest"? Or is it something once I actually boot into Gentoo that I have to emerge? Basically, would it be
Code:
boot: memtester
or
Code:
livecd / # memtester
, or neither? I can't seem to get it going.

How long ago was the mesa bug fixed? I've been having trouble with it, using portage to get it, for the last few days. Doesn't matter right now, as I can't get the stupid OS to compile properly, but I'm sure it'd be helpful to know if it was on the software end or the hardware.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Like I said in the previous post, memtester is a program that you run after booting the install cd. It's a program, not a kernel. The boot: menu is only for booting kernels. It should be on the InstallCD, if it's not, you can emerge it in your chroot and run it there. Your Mesa issue was probably this bug: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=138920
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eulipion2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Huntington, WV

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick memtester question: Does it make a log or some other output file? Everything scrolls by so fast I can't see it all. I tried redirecting "memtester 256 > /memtester.output" but it stalled on me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1353

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
memtester 256 > output
Hangs indefinitly on my imac REV B 233mhz
Holding down
Code:
controle c
kills the process and gets me a prompt back and
Code:
nano output
displays the output.
_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't hang, it's just running the program. You redirected all of the output to the file "output" so you won't see anything on the screen. If you'd like to see something *and* write to a file, the tee utilitity is useful:
Code:
memtester 256 | tee output

_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum