Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
E17 is coming?? (Part 4)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 1:37 am    Post subject: E17 is coming?? (Part 4) Reply with quote

Long threads hurt the forums, so this is a continuation from E17 is coming?? (Part 3). Thanks.
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 51
Location: Gentofte, Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It'll probably arrive when there's two thursdays in the same week...
_________________
An admin might not always be right, but he's always an admin...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kang
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikl wrote:
It'll probably arrive when there's two thursdays in the same week...

this one's easy
buy a plane ticket to raster that's far enough, departure on early friday.. Tada! his 2nd thurday of the week :D
Thanks for solving this for us =) Welcome, e17-finale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ariem
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 296
Location: reykjavik

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK,

so I'm finally "up-to-date"!
Thanks you guys for the help.

Of course not all is running perfectly.. I still have to get used to the changes..
Let me just through a couple of things that I'm not sure:
1. - From screenshots I got the idea that one could spread all shelf components through out the screen, as in a pre-shelf era.. however I still can't achieve that.. all in one side!
2. - Some of my eap files are seem to need recompilation:
Code:
$ eap_edit .e/e/applications/all/fake_trans.eap
File: /opt/e17/share/ewl/themes/e17.edj is not up to date for key "collections/10" - needs rebuilding sometime
File: .e/e/applications/all/fake_trans.eap is not up to date for key "edje_file" - needs rebuilding sometime

How do I fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ariem wrote:
1. - From screenshots I got the idea that one could spread all shelf components through out the screen, as in a pre-shelf era.. however I still can't achieve that.. all in one side!
2. - Some of my eap files are seem to need recompilation:
Code:
$ eap_edit .e/e/applications/all/fake_trans.eap
File: /opt/e17/share/ewl/themes/e17.edj is not up to date for key "collections/10" - needs rebuilding sometime
File: .e/e/applications/all/fake_trans.eap is not up to date for key "edje_file" - needs rebuilding sometime

How do I fix this?
1. All on one side? You can have a total of 12 different shelves on 12 different regions at the fringes of your desktop. That should be enough space to spread out your stuff :P
2. I think you have to do as that message says,- rebuild your eap! I get those messages too, but the eaps do seem to work in the meanwhile. In fact, if you look at .xsession-errors, you will see a bunch of those messages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scratalacha
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:54 am    Post subject: Dynamic E17 Package List Reply with quote

I've been in the process of developing a script for handling the updates to E17 packages. One of the features which I have been working on is a dynamic system generated build list which doesnt require the user to update his/her build list when a new package is installed. Below is part of the script which generates such a list. I am looking for feedback on how accurate it is for your system. I know for a fact it doesnt get eterm because eterm does not inherit the enlightenment eclass. Any feedback on packages which do not show up would greatly help in developing this script. So far the script includes smart error logging, skipping broken packages, and resuming build of broken packages at next runtime as well as many other features. When I finish this script, it will blow away anything else I've seen to date for this purpose. :twisted:

Code:


SRCDIRS="/usr/portage/metadata/cache/"
   ILIST=$(find ${SRCDIRS} -iname '*9999*' -exec grep -l enlightenment '{}' \; | sed -e "s#${SRCDIRS}\(.*\)-9999#\1#g" -e '/enlightenment/d' | sed -e ':;N;s/\n/ /;t')
   DLIST=$(emerge -ep world | grep 9999 | cut -d] -f2 | sed -e ':;s/-9999//g' -e 'N;s/  \n//;t')
   for i in ${DLIST}; do
      for j in ${ILIST}; do
         if [ ${i} == ${j} ]; then
            echo "${j}"
         fi
      done
   done


_________________
Anime ate my computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boneyfrog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Apr 2005
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ariem wrote:

2. - Some of my eap files are seem to need recompilation:
Code:
$ eap_edit .e/e/applications/all/fake_trans.eap
File: /opt/e17/share/ewl/themes/e17.edj is not up to date for key "collections/10" - needs rebuilding sometime
File: .e/e/applications/all/fake_trans.eap is not up to date for key "edje_file" - needs rebuilding sometime

How do I fix this?


just eap_edit foo.eap click on save and close eap_edit. that will rebuild the eap and get rid of the error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lionheart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll make another try here :)

When I'll try to merge engage cvs Igot this compilation error :
Code:
/usr/bin/edje_cc -v module_icon.edc module.eap
/usr/bin/edje_cc: Opening "/tmp/edje_cc.edc-tmp-gAtwKA" for input
/usr/bin/edje_cc: Parsing input file
/usr/bin/edje_cc: Error. <stdin>:7 unexpected character at %d
/usr/bin/edje_cc: Error. <stdin>:7 integer -1213994944 out of range of 0 to 2147483647 inclusive
make[3]: *** [module.eap] Erreur 255
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/engage-9999/work/misc/engage/src/module'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Erreur 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/engage-9999/work/misc/engage/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Erreur 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/engage-9999/work/misc/engage'
make: *** [all] Erreur 2


Even after a emerge esmart ewl examine engage to make sure to have the same snapshot of the cvs for the dependencies.
Is anyone saw where the problem come from ?

Ps : when I comment the line max %d %d; in the file, and using the ebuild command to compile and merge it "manually" I can install it but I can't access to the configuration from the module version (theme,...).

And when I add my applications in the ~/.e/applications/engage/.order none of them appear in the dock :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boneyfrog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Apr 2005
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lionheart wrote:
I'll make another try here :)

When I'll try to merge engage cvs Igot this compilation error :
Code:
/usr/bin/edje_cc -v module_icon.edc module.eap
/usr/bin/edje_cc: Opening "/tmp/edje_cc.edc-tmp-gAtwKA" for input
/usr/bin/edje_cc: Parsing input file
/usr/bin/edje_cc: Error. <stdin>:7 unexpected character at %d
/usr/bin/edje_cc: Error. <stdin>:7 integer -1213994944 out of range of 0 to 2147483647 inclusive
make[3]: *** [module.eap] Erreur 255
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/engage-9999/work/misc/engage/src/module'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Erreur 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/engage-9999/work/misc/engage/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Erreur 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/engage-9999/work/misc/engage'
make: *** [all] Erreur 2


Even after a emerge esmart ewl examine engage to make sure to have the same snapshot of the cvs for the dependencies.
Is anyone saw where the problem come from ?

Ps : when I comment the line max %d %d; in the file, and using the ebuild command to compile and merge it "manually" I can install it but I can't access to the configuration from the module version (theme,...).

And when I add my applications in the ~/.e/applications/engage/.order none of them appear in the dock :(


change the %d %d; to 128 128; that will be the correct fix for the edje_cc error.

could you clarify for me is it the right click on engage menu or configuration dialog > modules dialog that you cant access?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lionheart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

boneyfrog wrote:

could you clarify for me is it the right click on engage menu or configuration dialog > modules dialog that you cant access?


It's on the right click on engage
And wathever the solution used to add icon none of them appears 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boneyfrog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Apr 2005
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm the .order for engage got moved a while back to ~/.e/e/applications/bar/engage/.order dont know exactly why, as far as the right click menu i am not sure why that isnt working either. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lionheart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right for the new .order location it work fine and I also got the right click menu I'll go to serach where to configure the theme ect
Thank's for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ariem
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 296
Location: reykjavik

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ppurka wrote:
Ariem wrote:
1. - From screenshots I got the idea that one could spread all shelf components through out the screen, as in a pre-shelf era.. however I still can't achieve that.. all in one side!
2. - Some of my eap files are seem to need recompilation:
Code:
$ eap_edit .e/e/applications/all/fake_trans.eap
File: /opt/e17/share/ewl/themes/e17.edj is not up to date for key "collections/10" - needs rebuilding sometime
File: .e/e/applications/all/fake_trans.eap is not up to date for key "edje_file" - needs rebuilding sometime

How do I fix this?
1. All on one side? You can have a total of 12 different shelves on 12 different regions at the fringes of your desktop. That should be enough space to spread out your stuff :P

:oops: :oops: Right in front of my eyes.... if it was a dog, I'd have been bitten!! :oops: :oops:

About the 2nd point, I thought it would be something else.
Thanks ppurka and boneyfrog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ariem
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 296
Location: reykjavik

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Although this worked before, it is not working now:
Code:
$ eap_edit openoffice.eap
eap_edit: error while loading shared libraries: libewl.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

The lib is present:
Code:
$ find /opt/e17/ -iname libewl*
/opt/e17/lib/libewl.la
/opt/e17/lib/libewl.so
/opt/e17/lib/libewl.so.0.0.0
/opt/e17/lib/libewl.so.0
/opt/e17/lib/libewl.a

but is not being found!
Since it is not controlled by portage, how do I fix this?
Do I run revdep-rebuild?
Is there any place to specify the path to these libs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viktor.tmv
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there :)
What is needed to install E17 except X? I'm new to linux, so I hope my questions are not bored. I have a little problem with X, but I also hope that I'll solve it. :)
_________________
Best regards,
Viktor Tomov
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RuiP
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Jan 2005
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Ariem,
are that happens to any eap or only to openoffice.eap?
Can you delete it and do another eap from fresh to OpenOffice?

Once my e17 lost reference of all libs (fail no know why...) a simple
Code:
ldconfig

make everything ok.

hth
_________________
ESTRAGON: We've lost our rights?
VLADIMIR: (distinctly) We got rid of them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RuiP
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Jan 2005
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

viktor.tmv wrote:
Hi there :)
What is needed to install E17 except X? I'm new to linux, so I hope my questions are not bored. I have a little problem with X, but I also hope that I'll solve it. :)

A compiler kit and X should be suficient (and xine-lib for movies).
e17 will build is own libraries.
Read the how-to and check some more scripts here.

:)
_________________
ESTRAGON: We've lost our rights?
VLADIMIR: (distinctly) We got rid of them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viktor.tmv
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RuiP thanks :)
_________________
Best regards,
Viktor Tomov
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ariem
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 296
Location: reykjavik

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RuiP wrote:
Hi Ariem,
are that happens to any eap or only to openoffice.eap?
Can you delete it and do another eap from fresh to OpenOffice?

It happens to any eap file.
RuiP wrote:
Once my e17 lost reference of all libs (fail no know why...) a simple
Code:
ldconfig

make everything ok.

It didnt change anything here.. :cry:
More ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lateralus__
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 May 2006
Posts: 100
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all !!

Does anybody know how to start an application on a specific pager ?

Thanks in advance ...
_________________
There are a lot of lies going around.... and half of them are true.
-- Winston Churchill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RuiP
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Jan 2005
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ariem wrote:
It didnt change anything here.. :cry:
More ideas?


uhmm strange, and it worked before then broke?

maybe tring to recompille ewl and e_utils with the --only flag,
or even with all dependencies:
Code:
./easy_e17.sh --only=edb,evas,ecore,edje,ewl,e_utils


after that i'm out of ideas, sorry...
_________________
ESTRAGON: We've lost our rights?
VLADIMIR: (distinctly) We got rid of them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bos_mindwarp
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 275
Location: stockholm, sweden

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just face it guys, e17 will never come. It is not meant to be finished.

In order to finish a project, you have to settle for final version, and accept that some of the great idea you got along the line might not be implemented in that version. Maybe save them for e-18.

Since raster seems to be happy with experimenting with new cool ideas and features, and is not really concerned to release a working desktop environment (or whatever the latest paradigm is), it will never move past cvs and *-9999

I mean, some stuff is really fancy, but I cannot for the life of me create an eapp without enlightement hanging itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ariem
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 296
Location: reykjavik

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RuiP wrote:
Ariem wrote:
It didnt change anything here.. :cry:
More ideas?


uhmm strange, and it worked before then broke?

maybe tring to recompille ewl and e_utils with the --only flag,
or even with all dependencies:
Code:
./easy_e17.sh --only=edb,evas,ecore,edje,ewl,e_utils


after that i'm out of ideas, sorry...

Yes it worked before.
I'm starting to realize that it is something worst..
I should mention that I was running an emerge world when the problems arose.
Somehow, the link to all e17 libs got lost.
Maybe a update was emerged and ...
Now, after e17 segfaulted, I can't even start a new session. Not even in e16.
So.. I am a bit clueless about what to do...
I can rebuild everything.. but this just looks like a case of a missing link to the libraries... :S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RuiP
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Jan 2005
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably you got some of e17 stuff in your world file.
And your emerge world either tried to emerge parts of e17 or at least broke some libs linkage (or something like...)

check your world file. Maybe you'll have to rebuild your e17 :(
_________________
ESTRAGON: We've lost our rights?
VLADIMIR: (distinctly) We got rid of them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ariem
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 296
Location: reykjavik

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RuiP wrote:
Probably you got some of e17 stuff in your world file.
And your emerge world either tried to emerge parts of e17 or at least broke some libs linkage (or something like...)

check your world file. Maybe you'll have to rebuild your e17 :(

I was carefull enough to "fix" my world file before the update.
All e17-related ebuilds were removed. It must have been other package/lib.

Rebuilding the e17 isn't that much of a problem.
What I'm concerned is that all the libs are where they should be.
So, rebuilding them, will place all in the same way. As I assume that the problem is "outside" e17.
Like adding the /opt/e17/bin to my PATH, is there a LIB variable to add /opt/e17/lib/??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22  Next
Page 1 of 22

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum