Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
yaboot and init= parameter problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
metal13
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 5:02 pm    Post subject: yaboot and init= parameter problems Reply with quote

Hey all,

This isn't a gentoo specific question, but I didn't know where else to go. Searching mailing lists and google has failed me.

I have a machine running linux on a ppc chip. It's somewhat of an embedded system. We're using yaboot as our bootloader.

I've created a new init program, that needs to do some checks before running the actual /sbin/init program. I've used the init= parameter in
the append line in yaboot.conf. Yaboot seems to parse this out, when I boot like that, /proc/cmdline doensn't show it in there. It does show it loading it
like a ramdisk image right after it does that with the kernel.

To get around this, I've added it twice. This way, the second one is actually passed to the kernel. However, it doesn't run. Only the original /sbin/init runs. The new init that I have created is on the boot partition. Is this a problem? Can I not have it on the boot partition? I'm not sure if it's getting mounted. Moving /sbin/init to some other name results in a shell being run. Running mount in this shows my boot partition is mounted, but running ls in the directory doesn't show the files.

Is this just a problem of the boot partition being mounted? Is there a reason yaboot parses out the first init? Am I way off track with what I'm trying to do?

Thanks a lot for any help, I'm pretty stuck on this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The boot partition can't be mounted until after init executes afaik. So your init needs to be on the root partition or perhaps in an initrd/initramfs filesystem.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
metal13
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:05 pm    Post subject: thanks Reply with quote

thanks nixnut. I'm gonna give that shot. looks possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum