Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't find inital console problem - need help/
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
EAD
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 352

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 9:18 am    Post subject: Can't find inital console problem - need help/ Reply with quote

Hi, I have installed Gentoo-sources and resier-4 patch, now when I am bootig I get a message that it can't find my inital cosole
"unable to open an inital console"

and then I get this

Code:
your system seems to be missing critical device files in /dev ! Although you may be running used or devfs the root partition is missing these required files


and it say that my root (reiser4) is mounted but read only, even that I set the rw flag in fstab.

What to do please???
:?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2289
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My suggestion: try to use a different filesystem like ext3. Haven´t had any problems with this filesystem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EAD
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 352

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keruskerfuerst wrote:
My suggestion: try to use a different filesystem like ext3. Haven´t had any problems with this filesystem.


I don't think this is the problem, beside I am allready using this reiser4. Can't reinstall now, and it is a very fast system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10308
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that you are missing stuff in /dev, make sure that udev and hotplug are correctly installed, and, look into /etc/conf.d/rc for this line

Code:
RC_DEVICE_TARBALL="no"


Make sure that is says "no" and not "yes". That should give you the all the needed nodes in /dev, managed thru udev.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jure1873
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
and it say that my root (reiser4) is mounted but read only, even that I set the rw flag in fstab.


maybe something is wrong in your lilo.conf or grub.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EAD
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 352

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

6thpink wrote:
It seems that you are missing stuff in /dev, make sure that udev and hotplug are correctly installed, and, look into /etc/conf.d/rc for this line

Code:
RC_DEVICE_TARBALL="no"


Make sure that is says "no" and not "yes". That should give you the all the needed nodes in /dev, managed thru udev.


How can I make sure that udev and hotplug are installed? and why do I need hotplug? I just disabled it on the kernel.
aldo what should I look for in the /etc/conf.d/rc file and why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10308
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

EAD wrote:
How can I make sure that udev and hotplug are installed?


If they are installed, "emerge -pv hotplug udev" will look like this

Code:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ] sys-apps/hotplug-20040923-r2  43 kB
[ebuild   R   ] sys-fs/udev-096-r1  0 kB


If they are not, emerge will report then with a heading "N" in each line, meaning that the package is "New", is not installed, and if you remove -pv from the command, they will both be installed. The "R" stands for "Reinstall", so, that means they are installed.

EAD wrote:
and why do I need hotplug? I just disabled it on the kernel.


Strictly speaking, it is not needed, strictly speaking, udev isn't either needed, you could manage your dev filesystem by hand and create all your nodes by hand... luck with that, though. If you dont know what I am talking about, you would do well in having them both installed, and hotplug running, just emerge them both and then do "rc-update add hotplug default && /etc/init.d/hotplug start" to lauch hotplug and make sure that the changes are saved for the next boot. Udev just need to be installed, gentoo will automatically use udev if available, since devfs is deprecated and no more into the kernel.

EAD wrote:
aldo what should I look for in the /etc/conf.d/rc file and why?


Look my previous post, I told you the line you need to care about. It should be default to what I wrote, but sometimes, people like to look into certain racers threads and change things like this, I am not saying that this is your case, but I saw this problem more times, and this is one of the most frequent causes for it.

Why? That line, if "yes", make udev to look into a tarball to recreate the dev fs at bootup, if this tar is screwed, your dev fs is screwed. The best thing, unless you have any essoteric stuff under dev, is to let udev recreate the dev fs at startup, so, the tarball is not needed and can be a problem many times.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EAD
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 352

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I have tried any thing and still it doesnt work :cry:
Can some one help me please? I am pretty desperate. :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EAD wrote:
Ok I have tried any thing and still it doesnt work :cry:
Can some one help me please? I am pretty desperate. :?:


Do a couple things for us, pastebin.com your:
1) fstab
2) /etc/grub/grub.conf
3) /etc/conf.d/rc
4) emerge -p udev
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EAD
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 352

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cheater1034 wrote:
EAD wrote:
Ok I have tried any thing and still it doesnt work :cry:
Can some one help me please? I am pretty desperate. :?:


Do a couple things for us, pastebin.com your:
1) fstab
2) /etc/grub/grub.conf
3) /etc/conf.d/rc
4) emerge -p udev


it is a little problem, I don't have a right access to the drive
only by LIveCd, and it is hard to copy paste when you don't have X, Can I upload it to somewhere for you?
beside, I don't see any thing strenght in these files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
partyom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Osnabruck, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!
I have the same problem as that thread is about!
I tried to do

Code:

emerge -pv hotplug udev

[blocks B     ] sys-apps/coldplug (is blocking sys-fs/udev-096)
[ebuild   N    ] dev-libs/libusb-0.1.10a USE= "-debug -doc" 366kb
[ebuild   N    ] sys-apps/usbutils-0.71-r1 159kb
[ebuild     R  ] sys-apps/hotplug-20040923-r1 43kb
[ebuild       U] sys-fs/udev-096 [079-r1] 0 kb



So that means that I do already have them installed? Should I try to solve that block or?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 1740
Location: Emerald Isles, observing Dublin's docklands

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guys, that's not a problem with udev, or devfsd or your grub configuration, hotplug or anything else for that matter.
what you want to do, is, you want to boot from the livecd, mount all your filesystems, except the target /dev (i.e. no mounting for /mnt/gentoo/dev, it has to be unmounted) then you want to chroot into your installation, cd to /dev and use the command
Code:

 MAKEDEV generic


the problem here is that, before /dev is mounted and populated using udev a few device nodes already have to exist in there (like, /dev/console) so they must exist on the root filesystem that is to be mounted (unless you're using devfsd and have the kernel automount that), so you need to make sure these devices exist on your root partition, and MAKEDEV is used for that (that's also why you have to make sure /dev isn't mounted in your chroot)

well, okay, theoretically it could also mean that you're mounting the wrong root filesystem, but in that case you'd not get that error message but something like "unable to execute /sbin/init". it could also be that the default gentoo init scripts choke on something with reiser4... well... in that case, you'd have to use a different fs or hack some of the tests in the init scripts.
_________________
"Confident, lazy, cocky, dead." -- Felix Jongleur, Otherland

( Twitter | Blog | GitHub )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EAD
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 352

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdeininger wrote:
guys, that's not a problem with udev, or devfsd or your grub configuration, hotplug or anything else for that matter.
what you want to do, is, you want to boot from the livecd, mount all your filesystems, except the target /dev (i.e. no mounting for /mnt/gentoo/dev, it has to be unmounted) then you want to chroot into your installation, cd to /dev and use the command
Code:

 MAKEDEV generic


the problem here is that, before /dev is mounted and populated using udev a few device nodes already have to exist in there (like, /dev/console) so they must exist on the root filesystem that is to be mounted (unless you're using devfsd and have the kernel automount that), so you need to make sure these devices exist on your root partition, and MAKEDEV is used for that (that's also why you have to make sure /dev isn't mounted in your chroot)

well, okay, theoretically it could also mean that you're mounting the wrong root filesystem, but in that case you'd not get that error message but something like "unable to execute /sbin/init". it could also be that the default gentoo init scripts choke on something with reiser4... well... in that case, you'd have to use a different fs or hack some of the tests in the init scripts.


COOL !!!
Tanx, any thing else I need to know about makedev? Can you explain about it a little bit more? and why should'nt I mount /dev ? in the install guide it say I do need to mount it.
:?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 1740
Location: Emerald Isles, observing Dublin's docklands

PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

EAD wrote:
COOL !!!
Tanx, any thing else I need to know about makedev? Can you explain about it a little bit more? and why should'nt I mount /dev ? in the install guide it say I do need to mount it.
:?

well, you shouldn't mount /dev so that you can create the device nodes on the actual root filesystem :) the error you describes tends to happen when you first mount /dev, then unpack the stage tarball -- you should first unpack the tarball, then mount /dev when installing ;)

the MAKEDEV command (it's actually all-uppercase) is a nice wrapper around mknod. if you tell it to MAKEDEV generic, it'll give you all the basic/default device nodes. since you're executing without /dev mounted, it can then create them on your root filesystem, which is important :)

granted, there might be other erros... but this is about what the error message you gave us should mean =)
_________________
"Confident, lazy, cocky, dead." -- Felix Jongleur, Otherland

( Twitter | Blog | GitHub )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
partyom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Osnabruck, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don´t know if I have understood everything in the right way, but I have done the folowing:
1. booted from LiveCD
2. mounted sda7 (my root under Linux) to temp
3. chrooted in that directory
4. in ssh: cd /dev
5. MAKEDEV generic
6. can´t read /proc
7. I copied /proc from LiveCD to /proc from my Linux
8. chrooted once again, and made MAKEDEV
9.the computer paused for some seconds and then returned ssh:
10. I rebooted in my new Linux kernel and got the same error:

Code:

Warning: Unable to open an initial console
Kernel panic - not syncing: No Init found. Try passing init= option to kernel


I get that problem after I updated kernel to version 2.6.17, my first kernel was installed from LiveCD.
Please, I am desperate...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 1740
Location: Emerald Isles, observing Dublin's docklands

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you might try to mount --bind /proc /mnt/gentoo/proc before chrooting... although that shouldn't make a difference.

could you give us the output of thse commands before chrooting?
Code:

 # df -h
 # ls -lah /mnt/gentoo/dev/console /mnt/gentoo/dev/tty*

_________________
"Confident, lazy, cocky, dead." -- Felix Jongleur, Otherland

( Twitter | Blog | GitHub )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
partyom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Osnabruck, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdeininger wrote:
you might try to mount --bind /proc /mnt/gentoo/proc before chrooting... although that shouldn't make a difference.

could you give us the output of thse commands before chrooting?
Code:

 # df -h
 # ls -lah /mnt/gentoo/dev/console /mnt/gentoo/dev/tty*


sure, so:

Code:

# df -h

Filesystem  Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on

tmpfs       506M 13M   493M     3%       /
/dev/hdc    697M 697M   0      100%  /mnt/cdrom
/dev/loop/0 668M 668M   0      100%  /mnt/livecd
udev        506M 221K  506M     1%   /dev
cachedir    668M 668M   0     100%   /mnt/livecd/lib/splash/cache
tmpfs       506  4,2M  502M     1%   /mnt/livecd/lib/firmware
tmpfs       506  0     506M     0%   /mnt/livecd/usr/portage
tmpfs       506  0     506M     0%   /mnt/livecd/var/lib/xkb

#ls -lah /mnt/gentoo/dev/console /mnt/gentoo/dev/tty*

ls: /mnt/gentoo/dev/console : No such file or directory
ls: /mnt/gentoo/dev/tty* : No such file or directory



what can I do next?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
partyom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Osnabruck, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please... I would welcome any ideas! :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garbara
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 25
Location: Renton Washington US

PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 4:13 am    Post subject: possibe solution Reply with quote

I ran in to the same error message. I caused the problem when I decided to copy my system to a new and larger SATA drive. I first make a new better sized partition for each of my existing partitions. Then I copied the contents from each partition on the old drive to the new large SATA drive. These are the partitions that I copied /usr /home /boot /var /tmp and /. Then I modifed the fstab file to reflect the new device. then removed my old ATA drive and used a old gentoo 2005.0 live cd to install grub on my new SATA drive. The system booted but in the console messages was this one
    Warning: unable to open an initial console
.
After that message was displayed I did not see any more of the boot up messages, but the system did boot up and X-windows started up. I then removed xdm from the processes that run at boot time and rebooted the compuer. I got the same warning message then nothing until just before the login prompt these messages were displayed on my screen

    -----------------------------------------------------
    Your system seems to be missing critical device files
    in /dev ! Although you may be running udev or devfs,
    the root partition is missing these required files !

    To rectify this situation, please do the following:
    mkdir /mnt/fixit
    mount --bind / /mnt/fixit
    cp -a /dev/* /mnt/fixit/dev/
    umount /mnt/fixit
    rmdir /mnt/fixit

    You may refer to these instructions at /etc/issue.
    If you previously had an issue file, it has been
    backed up at /etc/issue.devfix. Once you've fixed
    your system, you will have to restore your old issue
    file in order to get rid of this warning.

    Thanks for using Gentoo ! :)
    https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=40987
    -----------------------------------------------------


I followed those instruction and the problem is indeed fixed. I hope this helps you.
_________________
Gary G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vf1sveritech
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, similar thing as the last guy who posted, moved a previous install to a different hard drive. I have done all of the things that have been said in this post and nothing has helped. Waited...over an hour i think, seeing if it would get to a login prompt, but no it didnt. Ran MAKEDEV generic, made sure udev was emerged and that hotplug loaded on startup.

Not sure what is going on.
_________________
VT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
x22
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Read-only root is normal in early stage of init process - it allows fscking the root filesystem. It is remounted to r/w by init scripts after the check.

If I remember correctly even if root is mounted r/w by the kernel (configured in lilo or grub configuration), Gentoo init scripts will first remount it r/o.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gr650
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 43
Location: Wil SG, Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same issue here, moved my gentoo install to a different hard disk. Warning message on bootup
was "Unable to open initial console". I followed the instructions that resided in /etc/issue and
everything is fine again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum