Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Unable to install KDE from CD
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
yurippc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 11:30 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Unable to install KDE from CD Reply with quote

I just finished installing the base of Gentoo on my laptop, I'm trying to emerge kde but cant. I get messages that it can't download certain files because it can't resolve names or something like that. How do I install it from the CD and not have to download anything? What's the point in downloading and burning the package cd if it's going to do this?

Thanks for any advice.


Last edited by yurippc on Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:58 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you do an "emerge --sync" after you unpacked the portage snapshot from the cd? if you did so a more recent version of kde is being stable so portage pulls in the latest version instead the one which was stable when the portage snapshot was made.

which livecd/package cd are you using? 2006.0 I guess?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Enverex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 501
Location: Worcester, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds more like not being able to resole domain names. Have you set up your network card properly (assuming it's not on DHCP)? If it isn't on DHCP you need to put some nameservers in /etc/resolv.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yurippc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I did do an emerge --sync during the install, I have tried to follow the handbook down to the letter. The package cd I'm using is 2006.0. I am on DHCP, to answer the other question. I'll take a look at /etc/resolve.conf, maybe I'll see something there. Is it possible that even though I'm on DHCP, that I need to configure it somehow? During the install I could get on the net very quickly if I needed to vew the handbook or the faq, but now after install I can't get on the net at all. I can't even emerge links from the disk. MD5 checked out ok when I burned em.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yurippc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just noticed a couple of problems, first, during the start up sequence, it says eth0 is not configured properly and secondly, the contents of /etc/resolv.conf is "domain home" that's it, nothing else. Obviously, I need to set up eth0, my IP address, subnet mask, etc. are located in my Network settings in OS X, can I just pull those over? It should work since I am on DHCP and that info has not changed, correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm.. could you grab the exact error from boot? you do have a dhcp client installed, do you? if not there are "dhcp" and "dhcpcd" around.

regards, corsair

P.S.: you shouldn't just grab the values from OSX as they might change from time to time. depends on the dhcp server config. (you might get a different ip address next time you request one)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yurippc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The exact error was

Problem starting needed services. "netmount" was not started. I'm so stupid! It seems that I did not emerge 'dhcpcd'!!!
Network is up now, got an IP, haven't tried installing KDE yet, but as soon as I do I'll let you know how it did.

Thanks for the input, I'm glad Gentoo.org has an active forum for us ppc users.

Saloot,

yurippc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yurippc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The install went ok, i guess, but it will not start. It repeats the message:Cannot connect to X server.
When I try to start X I get other errors basically saying that it is not configured properly. Can't emerge Xorgautoconfig because it can't be found anywhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yurippc wrote:
The install went ok, i guess, but it will not start. It repeats the message:Cannot connect to X server.
When I try to start X I get other errors basically saying that it is not configured properly. Can't emerge Xorgautoconfig because it can't be found anywhere.


nice. one step further :wink:

what do you mean with "can't be found anywhere". the sources are not available? or you don't have the ebuild in your portage tree? I just checked both: Xorgautoconfig-0.2.4-r1 is the current stable one and the tarball (Xorgautoconfig-0.2.4.tar.bz2) is available on the mirrors.

please provide the exact output once again. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yurippc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The errors I am getting from most servers are 404 not found
Some of the mirrors say no such file
A couple of the ftp servers time out.
I looked in /usr/portage/x11-misc and found an earlier version of it (0.2.3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should sync, the latest version is definitely 0.2.4-r1 :)
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yurippc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I synced and it worked, KDE came up but my trackpad did not work. I thought that if I installed pbbuttonsd and the other laptop-specific packages I could get it working again but it seems that I was wrong. I can do without a lot of things but the trackpad is not one of those. I'm about at my wits end trying to get this to work, I've spent too many hours and even days at it, and my progress is snail-speed at best. Is Gentoo even worth all this? :x

But I do appreciate your help none the least.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You never said what kind of laptop you've got. I can't help you with your mouse without that!
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yurippc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SORRY! It's an 14" iBook g4.
I was searching about here, all i could find was that you need the Apple Desktop Bus enabled and it is, I learned that from another distrobution. Another was a dead link to another users (moderator?) kernel config file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, iBook G4 isn't specific enough either, but yes, most models need the ADB bus. It should already have been enabled if you used defconfig to setup your machine.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yurippc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't what other info you need, but here's specifics:


Machine Name: iBook G4
Machine Model: PowerBook6,7
CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (1.5)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 1.42 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 512 MB
Bus Speed: 142 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 4.9.3f0
Serial Number: 4H5392DBSE6
Sudden Motion Sensor:
State: Enabled
Version: 1.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yurippc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did notice an error that may be of importance. When pbbuttonsd starts up it returns:
Error: Can't attach card 'default': No such device.

This is called learning, entering the world of a completely different os takes patience and perserverence. But it is a necessary step.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm fairly sure that model has a USB Appletouch trackpad. Make sure that the Appletouch module is built into your kenrel or, at the very least, the module is loaded.

That card error from pbbuttonsd is about your sound card and isn't related to the mouse.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yurippc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, JoseJX, that seems to work quite well in X. There is another problem and then I should be done and be able get on with it.

When I use the startkde, I get two errors,
1. Cannot connect to xserver
2. $Display is not set

In my rc.conf I have Xsession set to kde-3.4.3 and Displaymanager set to kdm, unicode is on since, once I get going well enough I will add the Russian language support.

I can start kde, but only after starting X first. When kde comes up it says there is another wm started, duh! :lol: It's how I had to start kde in the first place.

I read a post in one of the other forums, it was basically a success story from another Gentoo user, and after reading I am feeling better about Gentoo, especially since my trackpad is working. :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure what the problem with 'startkde' is, but why don't you start kdm at boot? that would be "rc-update add xdm default". and when you want to start kdm while you have already booted and it is not running then do this: "/etc/init.d/xdm start".

regards,

markus

EDIT: maybe you are not in the video group? (gpasswd -a your_user_name video)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yurippc wrote:
I can start kde, but only after starting X first. When kde comes up it says there is another wm started, duh! :lol: It's how I had to start kde in the first place.


Well it is kind of an expected behavior. startkde doesn't actually start X. Normally if things
have been set up properly. Using startx will bring kde, if not, you may end up with a minimal
wm like twm from which you can use startkde. If you want to start with startx rather than
the kdm you should propably put "kde-3.4.3" in the file ".wmrc" in your home directory (create it
if needed). Otherwise you can follow the procedure described by corsair to start kdm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh.. you are absolutly right. I haven't thought of this.

/me tries to remember. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yurippc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everyting's ok now, this has been a learning experience to say the least.
Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum