Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
The Gentoo Framebuffer, Bootsplash & Grubsplash How-To
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 25, 26, 27  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

normally "patch -p1 < /location/to/patch/extracted" back up the folder first before you try, it can mess up if you do it wrong
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nu-Bee_4VR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

viperlin wrote:
normally "patch -p1 < /location/to/patch/extracted" back up the folder first before you try, it can mess up if you do it wrong


How does it know where the patch is?

And, if I say:

Quote:
patch -pl

...what exactly do I point it to?

Do I point it to a directory?

Do I point it to a file?

Do I point it to the compiled kernel?

Thank you for the reply, but it doesn't tell me much.
_________________
-Joseph-

In the majority of any Democrat/Republican or Liberal/Conservative Debates on TV, pay close attention to how much MORE often the Liberal/Democrat butts in and rudely talks 'over' the Conservative/Republican.

Think about it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
echo6
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 587

PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You patch the kernel source then include the new bootsplash screen option using make xconfig or make menuconfig prior to compiling the kernel.

Usually the steps are to change to your linux source folder, then issue the patch command, '<' means that the patch command is taking its input from the file i.e. bootsplash-3.1.3-2.6.0-test9.diff So if you have downloaded the patch so it appears in /root/bootsplash-3.1.3-2.6.0-test9.diff

The steps would be
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
patch -p1 </root/bootsplash-3.1.3-2.6.0-test9.diff
make menuconfig


I would advise you use the dry run option before applying a patch e.g.
Code:
patch -p1 </root/bootsplash-3.1.3-2.6.0-test9.diff --dry-run
With no errors produced it is safe to apply the patch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nu-Bee_4VR wrote:
viperlin wrote:
normally "patch -p1 < /location/to/patch/extracted" back up the folder first before you try, it can mess up if you do it wrong


How does it know where the patch is?

And, if I say:

Quote:
patch -pl

...what exactly do I point it to?

Do I point it to a directory?

Do I point it to a file?

Do I point it to the compiled kernel?

Thank you for the reply, but it doesn't tell me much.


to be fair it would if you read it, it clearly says pointed to the patch and where (after the < , see it?)
:wink:

and it's -p1 not -pl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nu-Bee_4VR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

viperlin wrote:


to be fair it would if you read it, it clearly says pointed to the patch and where (after the < , see it?)
:wink:

and it's -p1 not -pl


So, I issue the command:

Code:
# patch -p1 < /lusr/src/linux


So where is the patch located?

Al I supposed to be -IN- the directory with the patch.pl ?
_________________
-Joseph-

In the majority of any Democrat/Republican or Liberal/Conservative Debates on TV, pay close attention to how much MORE often the Liberal/Democrat butts in and rudely talks 'over' the Conservative/Republican.

Think about it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jetblack
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jan 2003
Posts: 340
Location: Evanston, IL, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you're supposed to be in /usr/src/linux. You are feeding patch the actual patch file.

So, if you have the following configuration:

  • kernel sources in /usr/src/linux
  • Bootsplash patch at /home/me/bootsplash.diff


Then you would apply the patch to your kernel sources as viperlin and echo6 suggested:
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux                           #change to kernel source directory
patch -p1 < /home/me/bootsplash.diff        #call patch, and feed it the file containing the bootsplash patch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nu-Bee_4VR wrote:
viperlin wrote:


to be fair it would if you read it, it clearly says pointed to the patch and where (after the < , see it?)
:wink:

and it's -p1 not -pl


So, I issue the command:

Code:
# patch -p1 < /lusr/src/linux


So where is the patch located?

Al I supposed to be -IN- the directory with the patch.pl ?


was the text "path to ectracted patch" as a location not a big enough hint for you? :-\
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nu-Bee_4VR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

viperlin wrote:
Nu-Bee_4VR wrote:
viperlin wrote:


to be fair it would if you read it, it clearly says pointed to the patch and where (after the < , see it?)
:wink:

and it's -p1 not -pl


So, I issue the command:

Code:
# patch -p1 < /lusr/src/linux


So where is the patch located?

Al I supposed to be -IN- the directory with the patch.pl ?


was the text "path to ectracted patch" as a location not a big enough hint for you? :-\


EXAMPLE:

Quote:
While being in the kernel source directory (i.e. in /usr/src/linux) issue the command:

# patch -p1 < /path/to/patch


Good, un-ambiguous directions would have been much more instructive. :roll:
_________________
-Joseph-

In the majority of any Democrat/Republican or Liberal/Conservative Debates on TV, pay close attention to how much MORE often the Liberal/Democrat butts in and rudely talks 'over' the Conservative/Republican.

Think about it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nu-Bee_4VR wrote:
viperlin wrote:
Nu-Bee_4VR wrote:
viperlin wrote:


to be fair it would if you read it, it clearly says pointed to the patch and where (after the < , see it?)
:wink:

and it's -p1 not -pl


So, I issue the command:

Code:
# patch -p1 < /lusr/src/linux


So where is the patch located?

Al I supposed to be -IN- the directory with the patch.pl ?


was the text "path to ectracted patch" as a location not a big enough hint for you? :-\


EXAMPLE:

Quote:
While being in the kernel source directory (i.e. in /usr/src/linux) issue the command:

# patch -p1 < /path/to/patch


Good, un-ambiguous directions would have been much more instructive. :roll:


to be fair i was drunk, guess thats why i worded it wrong (just noticed) but i still say thats a bit obvious :-) :P well at least you can do it now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nu-Bee_4VR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
to be fair i was drunk, guess thats why i worded it wrong (just noticed)


Thank you for understanding....
_________________
-Joseph-

In the majority of any Democrat/Republican or Liberal/Conservative Debates on TV, pay close attention to how much MORE often the Liberal/Democrat butts in and rudely talks 'over' the Conservative/Republican.

Think about it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xeonburn
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

has anyone gotten this to work in 2.6.1-love-r3? supposedly it was already patched for bootsplash but it didn't have the menu option so I patched it and got the menu option for bootsplash but I can't get it to load. I rc-updated bootsplash to start at boot and I copied the initrd to my boot sector and added it to grub just like the guide said, but it still doesn't work... I tried that cat /proc/splash but it didn't work... what have I forgotten to do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARC2300
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 260
Location: Odenton, MD

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any idea on how to get it to work with 2.6.1, period??

I can't even find the file I'm supposed to patch. :(
_________________
It's fun to take a trip
Put acid in your veins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narada
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Getting it to work with 2.6.x is almost the same as 2.4.x. It just has a different patch file. Make sure you try a few different vga= mode numbers. A mode number that works for framebuffer may not work for bootsplash depending on the image you are using. Try with default images first.
_________________
http://dhruba.name/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xeonburn
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I boot up I get a message saying Bootsplash loaded, etc, "looking for images... no good signature found"....

when my computer finally finishes the booting process and a logon prompt appears, the livecd gentoo bootsplash image shows up and the screen gets kind of garbled... I have to switch back and forth between consoles to sort of reset it, then it looks like it works... but why does it load so late? and why does it look like crap until I fix it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narada
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very briefly three possibilities: (1) You have a bad initrd and need to regenerate it. (2) The vga mode number is not matching the image in the initrd. (3) You have card specific radeon or nvidia riva fb support enabled in the kernel instead of vesa fb. Any card specific options especially riva fb should be disabled.
_________________
http://dhruba.name/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xeonburn
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it to work... it must have been the vga mode number... so where can i get some themes to use for it besides bootsplash.org?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narada
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Either do 'USE="-kde" emerge gentoo-artwork' or get some wallpaper make your own theme.
_________________
http://dhruba.name/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nu-Bee_4VR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ARC2300 wrote:
Any idea on how to get it to work with 2.6.1, period??

I can't even find the file I'm supposed to patch. :(


# emerge gentoo-dev-sources

...and you won't have to patch anything.

That 2.6.1-gentoo-r1 kernel has it already.
_________________
-Joseph-

In the majority of any Democrat/Republican or Liberal/Conservative Debates on TV, pay close attention to how much MORE often the Liberal/Democrat butts in and rudely talks 'over' the Conservative/Republican.

Think about it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narada
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't let the patching process restrict the freedom of choice of your kernel. Patching is easy. As root set the /usr/src/linux symbolic link correctly and then do the following in order.
Code:
# cd /usr/src/linux
# wget ftp://ftp.suse.com/pub/people/stepan/bootsplash/kernel/bootsplash-3.1.3-2.6.0-test9.diff
# patch -p1 < bootsplash-3.1.3-2.6.0-test9.diff --dry-run
# patch -p1 < bootsplash-3.1.3-2.6.0-test9.diff

The dry run parameter does a pretend application of the patch but does not apply it so that you can see potential errors that will take place. If there are no errors apply it normally (last line).

Good news: check the following cvs changelog entry!
Code:
2004-01-17 22:45  spock

   * media-gfx/bootsplash/: ChangeLog, bootsplash-0.6-r4.ebuild,
   metadata.xml, files/digest-bootsplash-0.6-r4: Added support for 2.6
   kernels, fixed a few minor issues with silent mode, added the
   BOOTSPLASH_TTYS variable.

Here is my latest 2.6.1 bootsplash screenshot.
_________________
http://dhruba.name/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danone
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 398
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 9:34 pm    Post subject: How i can get 1280x1024@85Hz Reply with quote

Im using the 2.6.1 kernel gentoo-dev-sources with development kernel and the new bootsplash-0.6-r4 even when it start my screen is screwed to bed geometrie and only 60Hz
i have a Nvidia GeForce Ti4200 and a Hansol 920D monitor Hsync:37-97KHz and Vsync:60-140:
here are the results from

Code:
cat /proc/splash
Splash screen v3.1.3-2003/11/14 (0x07, 1280x1024): on

Code from the grub.conf
Code:
# For booting GNU/Hurd
title  Gentoo/FBtest
root   (hd0,2)
kernel (hd0,2)/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.1-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/hda3 video=vesa:1280x1024 vga=0x031a splash=silent ide-cd=/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 ide-cd=/dev/cdroms/cdrom1
initrd=/boot/initrd-1280x1024
if i use vga=792 instead of 0x031A i get no splash
can someone help me?

So it should be
http://f-mt.de/console.jpg

and nearly so it is
newbe at gimp
http://f-mt.de/console2.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nu-Bee_4VR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Im using the 2.6.1 kernel gentoo-dev-sources with development kernel and the new bootsplash-0.6-r4 even when it start my screen is screwed to bed geometrie and only 60Hz


Try -NOT- enabling the nVidia support in the framebuffer.

If that works...then try a (M)odule.

Read the genkernel README... :)
_________________
-Joseph-

In the majority of any Democrat/Republican or Liberal/Conservative Debates on TV, pay close attention to how much MORE often the Liberal/Democrat butts in and rudely talks 'over' the Conservative/Republican.

Think about it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narada
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Danone: I'm not sure what's wrong but I can try to help. First of all, putting the resolution after vesa has absolutely *no effect*. The resolution and the color depth are determined by the vga= mode number. Secondly, where are you getting the mode numbers 0x031a and 792? Have you tried vga=0x31A and 0x31B? Also, recheck your kernel options and disable any nvidia riva fb option if it is enabled.
_________________
http://dhruba.name/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danone
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 398
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 11:34 pm    Post subject: problem Reply with quote

i only use the VESAFB in kernel no nvidia thing there..
so i make an error on typing the grub thing
i mean 0x31a that mean 1280x1024 so gut as far but i only got 60Hz vsync the screen messed up at this and i got a very bad and uneconomical screen its smaller than 17" screen

the vga=792 i got from the gentoo installl guide for framebuffer it works but not with bootsplash when i use vga=792 my screen is all right and looks got only bootsplash dont work than..

and further more where i can get a tut where described who to make boxes i see samples but i got no clou who the box proberties came from

Code:
###############
# silent config
# background
box silent noover  320 906 1280 954 #04045498
box silent inter 320 907 320 953 #ffffff #ffffff #526bb0 #526bb0
box silent       320 907 1280 953 #ffffff #ffffff #526bb0 #526bb0
# black border
box silent         320 906 1280 906 #313234
box silent         320 954 1280 954 #eef4ff
box silent         320 906 320 954 #313234
box silent         1280 906 1280 954 #eef4ff
                                                                               


i red the guide but i got no clou which coordinates used from..from picture?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nu-Bee_4VR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 12:34 am    Post subject: Re: problem Reply with quote

danone wrote:
i only use the VESAFB in kernel no nvidia thing there..


Try posting your kernel config...you can edit it later to shorten it.

If you use tiny text and a color like dk. blue it won't be too big, and the contrast will be nice in the quote box.
_________________
-Joseph-

In the majority of any Democrat/Republican or Liberal/Conservative Debates on TV, pay close attention to how much MORE often the Liberal/Democrat butts in and rudely talks 'over' the Conservative/Republican.

Think about it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danone
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 398
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# Graphics support
#
CONFIG_FB=y
# CONFIG_FB_CYBER2000 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_IMSTT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VGA16 is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
CONFIG_VIDEO_SELECT=y
# CONFIG_FB_HGA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_RIVA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_MATROX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ATY128 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ATY is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SIS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_NEOMAGIC is not set
# CONFIG_FB_3DFX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VOODOO1 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_TRIDENT is not set
CONFIG_FB_VIRTUAL=y

#
# Console display driver support
#
CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
# CONFIG_MDA_CONSOLE is not set
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_PCI_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FONTS=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x8=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x16=y
# CONFIG_FONT_6x11 is not set
# CONFIG_FONT_PEARL_8x8 is not set
# CONFIG_FONT_ACORN_8x8 is not set
CONFIG_FONT_MINI_4x6=y
# CONFIG_FONT_SUN8x16 is not set
# CONFIG_FONT_SUN12x22 is not set

#
# Logo configuration
#
CONFIG_LOGO=y
CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_MONO=y
CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_VGA16=y
CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_CLUT224=y

#
# Bootsplash configuration
#
CONFIG_BOOTSPLASH=y

#
here is the relevant code
how to set thos boxes i dont get the cloue how to get such numbers
what i have to calculate
and where the position of the textbox starts from is there an tut?which make it clear all i saw dont said how the come the the x y and other coordinates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 25, 26, 27  Next
Page 9 of 27

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum