Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
The Gentoo Framebuffer, Bootsplash & Grubsplash How-To
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 25, 26, 27  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GODnyc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Yonkers

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 12:49 pm    Post subject: Success story Reply with quote

First a note to KingPunk:
I believe your specification of your "video=[etc]" in your grub configuration is incorrect: the video parameter is passed to the kernel, and as such needs to be among the kernel options (it needs to be on the kernel line). I'm not sure whether or not passing the resolution you want through the video parameter will accomplish anything. I thought I read somewhere in this howto that it didn't do anything. Check /usr/src/[your kernel]/Documentation/fb/vesafb.txt for information on the plausible video options.
Although unfamiliar with the 2.4.x .config file, it appears as though you are compiling in the gentoo logo splash _and_ bootsplash. You need to choose one or the other. The gentoo logo is the ASCII gentoo art that displays at boot time. You also seem to be compiling in a lot of different graphic drivers under framebuffer support; after extensively reading this howto I've come to the conclusion that it is best to compile in only vesa support, and set any subsequent video card support as modules.
Also, consider how much random access memory (RAM) you have; if you have more than or equal to 1024MB (1GB) of RAM you should check to see if you need a patch. You may not as I believe the later releases of 2.4 were patched, I'm not sure about 2.4.22 - check https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=19061 (thanks Helena, Niko_K, and Narada for drawing attention to it).
Furthermore, let me commend you on wisely setting up a link for the lengthy .config file, and likewise reprimand you for not doing the same for your dmesg output.

That said... damn, that's long... on with the success story!

I recently installed gentoo, about three weeks ago now. And was captivated by the notion of bootsplash. I am utter newbie to linux in general, I dabbled in RedHat a few years back, but faulty hardware made my trip to linux short lived.
It took me awhile to get bootsplash working after my initial install, let's say a week (though not really that long). I think I hit just about every snag possible, I made countless mistakes before I finally realized there was a problem with having a gig of RAM. I've been coding for a while now... but I'm far from good at it... I mostly just write those annoying projects professors hand out, I haven't done anything worthwhile, so when I realized I needed to patch some source code I was thrilled. Being a newbie to linux, let alone gentoo, I didn't know how to work or construct a patch (still don't for that matter), but I was able to understand the lingo of the patches provided in the above link. I added an if not defined statement to protect me from later kernel compiles, defined the CONFIG_FB_VESA_VIDSIZE constant, made the appropriate changes to vesafb_fix.smem_len as outlined in the bugreport mentioned above ( https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=19061 ). Recompiled my kernel:

gentoo-dev-sources
Linux GOD 2.6.1-gentoo-r1 #15 Sun Feb 15 06:53:33 EST 2004 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

And basked in the glory of my spiffy bootsplash:
http://god.ptraced.net/finally.png
.config: http://god.ptraced.net/config.txt
grub.conf: http://god.ptraced.net/grub-conf.txt <-- just added "splash=verbose" to see if it will rid me of the annoying "Press F2 for verbose mode" that recently started popping up... I know I saw a solution to this problem in this howto, I'll have to reread it.
If it is a broken link be patient, check again in a few days, computer may be off, or dns may be busted. Oh, and I do have a system logger installed and running, it was just done after the screen shot.
I still have some minor issues (most unrelated to bootsplash, and the one that is related to bootsplash may very well have been resolved by looking at KingPunk's grub configuration), but I'm loving gentoo!
Sorry for the lengthy post... I was originally going to write more after I got it working, but I postponed it so much (thanks to nethack, moria, and armagetron) that I've forgotten a lot of what I wanted to talk about. hehe.
Incidentally, the finally.png image is my old bootsplash, my new bootsplash is a 1280x1024 image of my avatar (a helix-nebula), which looks like an eye... a friend linked me to it saying: "I found your eye" (the eye of GOD). hehe. Eep, two pages for my second post. Not bad :oops:
_________________
"Gentoo is to linux what linux is to windows." - O.O.G.
"Sticks and stones may break your bones, but my words will destroy your mind." - O.O.G.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Etienne
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2003
Posts: 48
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the guide, framebuffer works perfectly now...But does somebody know how to change the image resolution in GIMP? I tried to make my own splash screen, but it doesn't seem to work...I suppose it's because of a wrong image resolution, but I dunno how to change it...
_________________
- You can't just turn on creativity like a faucet. You have to be in the right mood, too.
- Which mood ?
- Last minute hurry...
[Calvin & Hobbes]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GODnyc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Yonkers

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2004 12:15 am    Post subject: gIMP Reply with quote

gIMP has been the best way I've found to create great looking bootsplashes. Before I installed X I was trying to generate my bootsplash on my windows partition, which (no surprise) was an awful experience.

gIMPing a bootsplash is fairly simple: create a new image; File -> New, or Ctrl+N. This will bring up a New Image dialog with various options: Image Size, Image Type, Fill Type, and Resolution. The resolution option has been explained previously in this guide, so I wont bother reiterating the point (namely because I don't remember specifically what was said about it). However, it is imperitive that the X Y resolution be set to 96x96 (that's 96 by 96, not 96 multiplied by 96). If you set your Image Size Width, and Height paramaters you will notice that they will change in accordance to the new Resolution settings you made. Simply reedit them (the Image Size width and height) to your desired _screen_ resolution.... I suppose, for completeness sake, I should give an explanation for the different resolution terms... now where was that post... ah, thre it is. To quote the author (this information is now in the actual how-to aspect of the thread):

"IMPORTANT: The [96x96 resolution] is NOT image size (e.g. 1024x768, 1280x1024, etc) but is instead pixels per inch (I think)..." - Malketh

After you've set the appropriate options in the New Image dialog (X,Y resolution to 96x96, Image Size width and height to your desired screen resolution) you can create your bootsplash image. You can either open an existing image you want to use, copy it, and paste it into the New Image you created, or simply be creative and make one using the vast array of artistic tools gIMP provides. Once you've completed your masterpiece save it as jpeg (you can also use png, probably a wide variety of other formats I didn't know worked with the bootsplash).

I don't know why, but I always specify the file type I'm going to save it as instead of letting gIMP figure it out based on the extension I provided in the file name. If you've chosen to use jpeg then I reccomend eliminating the comment gIMP adds, as well as the preview, I don't know if this will affect the bootsplash displaying or not, but better safe than sorry.

Anyway, good luck with your bootsplash! (btw, my bootsplash, config and grub configuration links are all working again. I was having a dns problem).
_________________
"Gentoo is to linux what linux is to windows." - O.O.G.
"Sticks and stones may break your bones, but my words will destroy your mind." - O.O.G.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moby dick
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 78
Location: Germnany / Frankfurt a. Main

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2004 1:18 pm    Post subject: Re: NVidia GeForce2 Reply with quote

:!: THAT WAS IT :!:
dshook wrote:
For any NVidia card owners:

I couldn't get a bootsplash image and when I tried I was getting a blank screen. I managed to resolve this issue by removing agpart (character devices) from my kernel config and specifying Option "NvAGP" "1" in my XF86Config file.

You are my redeemer. Me stupid thing forgot to disable that kernelfeature. And I wondered for two weeks now why fb won't work. Such a stupid thing to forget.

TANHX :wink:
_________________
Athlon 64X2 4200+, MSI K8N SLI (nForce4 chipset), 2x512MB DIMM, MSI GeForce 6800 GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
uziel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2004 2:46 am    Post subject: Re: NVidia GeForce2 Reply with quote

dshook wrote:
For any NVidia card owners:

I couldn't get a bootsplash image and when I tried I was getting a blank screen. I managed to resolve this issue by removing agpart (character devices) from my kernel config and specifying Option "NvAGP" "1" in my XF86Config file.


Do you use the VESA or rather the NVidia fb kernel driver? I didn't have any probs with the first but until now did not succeed with the latter... But I will try your hint ASAP.

Yours,
Chris
_________________
Those who promise their way of freedom and peace still do not understand the meaning of the word...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eGore911
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Posts: 290

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2004 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kow wrote:
Ok I noticed gentoo-dev-sources is now 2.6.3 and has the bootsplash patch... but my kernel still freezes upon boot... there have been many other ppl complaining about their kernel freezing during the initial boot-up also. I know framebuffering was changed a lot so I'm thinking I might need to change what framebuffer driver I am using (I have a Radeon 9700 Pro and I see that their is a new Radeon FB driver).. I'm going to try this now.


If you get this working, tell me how. I compiled the new one into the kernel (switching from vesa). It seems to work, but my monitor cannot display it, because its running with 43 Hz! 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moby dick
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 78
Location: Germnany / Frankfurt a. Main

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2004 3:33 pm    Post subject: Re: NVidia GeForce2 Reply with quote

uziel wrote:
Do you use the VESA or rather the NVidia fb kernel driver? I didn't have any probs with the first but until now did not succeed with the latter... But I will try your hint ASAP.

I'm using VESA and it works fine (now)! If I understand it right the NVidia fb ist only for the "NVidia Riva TNT" card and NOT for any other Nvidia cards. So if you don't have such a riva card and vesa works fine - be happy because everything is all right. :P

Bye
M.
_________________
Athlon 64X2 4200+, MSI K8N SLI (nForce4 chipset), 2x512MB DIMM, MSI GeForce 6800 GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
uziel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 8:26 am    Post subject: Re: NVidia GeForce2 Reply with quote

moby dick wrote:

I'm using VESA and it works fine (now)! If I understand it right the NVidia fb ist only for the "NVidia Riva TNT" card and NOT for any other Nvidia cards. So if you don't have such a riva card and vesa works fine - be happy because everything is all right. :P

The thing is: compiling a bootsplash-enabled kernel with boot splash active but without VESA fb will fail with a compilation error. Regardless of the NVidia fb problems with XFree drivers etc, it won't work anyway ;.)

Cheers,
Chris
_________________
Those who promise their way of freedom and peace still do not understand the meaning of the word...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bAnTAi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone get this working with the latest mm-sources? 2.6.3-mm4 i believe?

Tried applying the failed chunks manually but did not succeed. I saw the bootsplash (verbose and silent) but the machine hangs @ the cfq line. The kernel works fine without the bootsplash patch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Tallinn/Rakvere, Estonia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How can I fbgrab a screen if my first terminal is X output?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narada
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cbr wrote:
How can I fbgrab a screen if my first terminal is X output?

One can have a total of 11 virtual terminal bootsplash screens which can be accessed by Alt-FX where X is the VT. If one of your VT's is taken by X just use another VT to take the screenshot. Is that what you mean?
_________________
http://dhruba.name/


Last edited by Narada on Sat Feb 28, 2004 5:11 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Tallinn/Rakvere, Estonia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I mean how can I take a screenshot from the terminal where the X output is going?
Maybe it's the output of XFce, I don't know actually. I start X with startxfce4, and it gives an output into VT 1(ctrl-alt-f1), I'd like to make a screenshot out of that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narada
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cbr wrote:
I mean how can I take a screenshot from the terminal where the X output is going?
Maybe it's the output of XFce, I don't know actually. I start X with startxfce4, and it gives an output into VT 1(ctrl-alt-f1), I'd like to make a screenshot out of that.

Oh I see. It's really unusual to start X from the command line manually. Starting X is usually managed by /etc/init.d/xdm and configured by /etc/rc.conf. However, if you still want a screenshot of that add the line "fbgrab ~/vt1.png" or something similar into /etc/conf.d/local.start. This way the screenshot will be taken when /etc/init.d/local is run but before xfce is started. Or you could put that line in /etc/conf.d/local.stop which will be executed when the computer is being shut down. Remember to take that out after the shot has been taken though. Also, the image file size may be quite big so just convert it to jpg to reduce size.
_________________
http://dhruba.name/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eeknay
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 402
Location: EndOfTheRainbow

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nice guide.

hm, now i want to switch the bootsplash....what exactly do i have to do? if i do it the way i set it up, it doesn't work, i always get the splash i originally set up to be there.

eeknay
_________________
Linda: "The holiday season is time of celebration for most but it is also the time to remember the tragic suffering of the less fortunate."
Morbo: "Earthlings do not yet know the meaning of suffering."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhardtone
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 51
Location: Helsinki

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 10:44 pm    Post subject: Cool! Reply with quote

Screenshot

If only i could do this in DOS...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
easy-eeknay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Aachen

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

somehow the bootsplash is messed up. when i boot it does not show up. when it's loaded by rc-init @ default its not set up correctly.

if i move to tty2 its alright, back to tty1 it works fine.

??
any ideas
_________________
MBzL - Mit Beschiss zur Lösung
---------------------------------------
my home: www.hanfinsel.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StarWarsHater
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2003
Posts: 30
Location: College Station, TX

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2004 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks tor the guide!

development-sources 2.6.4rc1

Works perfectly! Now off to customize some more...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Seron
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Dec 2002
Posts: 293
Location: Malmö, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the guide.

Is the personalised example theme shown in the how-to available for download? http://dhruba.codewordt.co.uk/images/2.6-bs.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
humillo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2002
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems like the video kernel parameter should be vesafb instead of vesa. I read this in the documentation you mention in the howto.

Maybe this is a recent change in the 2.6 series?

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bague
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm, when running through this, my gentoo-dev-sources 2.6 kernel gave an error on compiling in bootsplash modules. No bootsplash comes up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psofa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 485

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the mm-sources dont have the bootsplash patch right? is there any patch for 2.6.4-rc2-mm1?
_________________
psofa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shadokai
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:59 pm    Post subject: Thank you! Reply with quote

Excellent! It works, excellent how-to(s). Thanks to all the posts in this thread, everything is working exactly how I wanted it to I also want to say thanks and how stoked I am. My friends and co-workers are going to love this. I'm digging Gentoo more and more every day.

-- B
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hook
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1398
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, call me lazy ....but i just "spammed" the #gentoo IRC chanel, searched both the forums and the bootsplash.org for it ...but still can't find the solution :( ...could be that i'm just too tired to see it :/

anyhoo:
how do you make different vt's use different bootplash configs and images? ...i know it was mentioned somewhere, but i just can't find it ;(
_________________
tea+free software+law=hook

(deep inside i'm still a tux's little helper)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shiner_Man
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

psofa wrote:
the mm-sources dont have the bootsplash patch right? is there any patch for 2.6.4-rc2-mm1?


Code:
ebuild /var/db/pkg/media-gfx/bootsplash-0.6-r2/bootsplash-0.6-r2.ebuild config


That should patch the kernel tree. Make sure you have the right bootsplash version instead of 0.6-r2.
_________________
My Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narada
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hook wrote:
ok, call me lazy ....but i just "spammed" the #gentoo IRC chanel, searched both the forums and the bootsplash.org for it ...but still can't find the solution :( ...could be that i'm just too tired to see it :/

anyhoo:
how do you make different vt's use different bootplash configs and images? ...i know it was mentioned somewhere, but i just can't find it ;(


Look at bug 27698, bug 27699 and bug 26996.
_________________
http://dhruba.name/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 25, 26, 27  Next
Page 11 of 27

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum