Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Apple button
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Israk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Location: México DF

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:04 am    Post subject: [Solved] Apple button Reply with quote

problem with the activation of the "apple" button
Hello ... I have in my iMac G3 (new world) gentoo with KDE interface. So the problem is that I can not type @-symbol because I can't set the "apple" button.

If anybody knows how to fix this problem, please help me !!!

Thanks! 8)
_________________
Israk ---> FES Acatlan ---> UNAM


Last edited by Israk on Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:59 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I do have a german layout and I'm not sure, if this might be different with mexican keyboard layout. Anyway.. you might want to try this:

install and run the programm 'xev'. when it is running press the apple key and look for the keycode of the key. In my setup that is keycode 115 then you can close xev.

create a new file: ~/.Xmodmap and put this line into:

Code:
keycode 115 = ISO_Level3_Shift


now load the file (you might have to install xmodmap):

Code:
/usr/bin/xmodmap ~/.Xmodmap


now try to write an '@'. If that works then everything is OK and you want to autoload the file. create a new file: ~/.kde/Autostart/xmodmap.sh (or any other name in that directory...) and place this in the file:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
/usr/bin/xmodmap ~/.Xmodmap


Now you should be able to use the '@'-key inside of kde. If it does not work please leave a note :wink:

regards, corsair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Israk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Location: México DF

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

corsair thank you very much !!!

Your help was excellent and the apple button is working now.

danke deutscher Freund
Grüße von Mexiko
8)
_________________
Israk ---> FES Acatlan ---> UNAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2003
Posts: 41
Location: NoWhere

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And how i can get the same result on console?
_________________
ViM Lover!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Israk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Location: México DF

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 8:44 pm    Post subject: The machine has lost the configuration Reply with quote

I have lost the configuration of the keyboard on kde. The problem came when the sound configuration (arts) had been installed.
I tried to fix the keyboard and I got to fixed it once but when the iMac restarted it lost the configuration again.

Now I have three problems on this machine:

1. The keyboard on kde is not working well, some characters does not appear due to apple button is not configurated.
2. When I try to do the configuration, just i can do it as a user, not as root (what is happening?)
3. After of several attempts, when I typed
Quote:
/usr/bin/xmodmap .~Xmodmap
there is an error:
Quote:
/home/israel/.Xmodmap:0: bad keysym name 'ISO_level3_Shift' in keysym list
I need your help. My machine is an iMAC G3 (Green) NewWorld.
Thanks ! :cry:
_________________
Israk ---> FES Acatlan ---> UNAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 8:39 am    Post subject: Re: The machine has lost the configuration Reply with quote

Israk wrote:
2. When I try to do the configuration, just i can do it as a user, not as root (what is happening?)


this is because you set the keys only for the person running kde or any other window manager IIRC. so don't do this as root, but as the correct user.

Israk wrote:
3. After of several attempts, when I typed
Quote:
/usr/bin/xmodmap .~Xmodmap
there is an error:
Quote:
/home/israel/.Xmodmap:0: bad keysym name 'ISO_level3_Shift' in keysym list


you seem to have a spelling error in 'ISO_Level3_Shift'.

regards,

corsair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum