Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
portage broken after upgrade to 2.1.2_pre1-r2
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dec0de
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 5:49 pm    Post subject: portage broken after upgrade to 2.1.2_pre1-r2 Reply with quote

Hi there,

I recently upgraded portage and now whenever I try to use emerge to sync, update/install packages etc I get the following error:

-----snip-----

Calculating dependencies

!!! Problem in 'app-misc/banner' dependencies.
!!! dictionary update sequence element #0 has length 1; 2 is required exceptions

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 4115, in ?
emerge_main()
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 4110, in emerge_main
myopts, myaction, myfiles, spinner)
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 3507, in action_build
retval, favorites = mydepgraph.select_files(myfiles)
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 974, in select_files
self.mysd = self.select_dep(myroot, mykey, arg=raw_args[i])
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 1127, in select_dep
myeb_matches = portdb.xmatch("match-visible", x)
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 5146, in xmatch
myval=match_from_list(mydep,self.xmatch("list-visible",None,mydep=mydep,mykey=mykey))
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 5132, in xmatch
myval=self.gvisible(self.visible(self.cp_list(mykey)))
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 5231, in gvisible
keys, eapi = self.aux_get(mycpv, ["KEYWORDS", "EAPI"])
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 4846, in aux_get
mydata = self.auxdb[mylocation][mycpv]
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/flat_hash.py", line 28, in __getitem__
d = self._parse_data(myf, cpv)
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/flat_hash.py", line 39, in _parse_data
d = dict(map(lambda x:x.rstrip().split("=", 1), data))
ValueError: dictionary update sequence element #0 has length 1; 2 is required

------snip-------

Does anyone have any ideas or something to point me in the right direction? I'm sure I've come across this before but I can't remember what I did to fix the issue. Fyi, I updated python to 2.4 but I don't think that would have been the problem.

Thanks in advance,
Taylor Neill
taylor@dec0de.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dancyr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get this same error - and have deleted portage and installed from a 9-25-2006 snapshot. Same result. ANY ideas?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CC_linux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Location: sparatnburg sc

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 6:47 pm    Post subject: Having same problem Reply with quote

i'm have the same issue :oops:
_________________
Never Say it cant be done !!!!!!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagalopex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
* sys-apps/portage
     Available versions:  2.0.51.22-r3 2.1-r2 2.1.1 2.1.1-r1 ~2.1.2_pre1 ~2.1.2_pre1-r1 ~2.1.2_pre1-r3
     Installed:           2.1.1-r1
     Homepage:            http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/portage/index.xml
     Description:         The Portage Package Management System. The primary package management and distribution system for Gentoo.

I dont even have the version mentioned...
_________________
System: AMD FX 8350, 16GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CC_linux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Location: sparatnburg sc

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 6:58 pm    Post subject: portage broke after upgade Reply with quote

This all started after i upgrade my system profile to 2006.1 and upgraded portage last night , i was going to upgrade gcc and rebuild world
Thanks for any help
sys-apps/portage-2.1.2_pre1-r3 is my current ver :oops:
heres my info
heres the error i get

emerge -av gcc

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies

!!! Problem in 'sys-devel/gcc' dependencies.
!!! dictionary update sequence element #2 has length 1; 2 is required exceptions

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 4114, in ?
emerge_main()
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 4109, in emerge_main
myopts, myaction, myfiles, spinner)
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 3506, in action_build
retval, favorites = mydepgraph.select_files(myfiles)
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 974, in select_files
self.mysd = self.select_dep(myroot, mykey, arg=raw_args[i])
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 1126, in select_dep
myeb_matches = portdb.xmatch("match-visible", x)
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 5146, in xmatch
myval=match_from_list(mydep,self.xmatch("list-visible",None,mydep=mydep,mykey=mykey))
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 5132, in xmatch
myval=self.gvisible(self.visible(self.cp_list(mykey)))
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 5231, in gvisible
keys, eapi = self.aux_get(mycpv, ["KEYWORDS", "EAPI"])
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 4846, in aux_get
mydata = self.auxdb[mylocation][mycpv]
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/flat_hash.py", line 28, in __getitem__
d = self._parse_data(myf, cpv)
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/flat_hash.py", line 39, in _parse_data
d = dict(map(lambda x:x.rstrip().split("=", 1), data))
ValueError: dictionary update sequence element #2 has length 1; 2 is required

emerge --info
Portage 2.1.2_pre1-r3 (default-linux/x86/2006.1, gcc-3.4.5, glibc-2.3.5-r3, 2.6.15-gentoo-r1 i686)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.15-gentoo-r1 i686 Pentium III (Katmai)
Gentoo Base System version 1.6.14
Last Sync: Tue, 26 Sep 2006 11:30:08 +0000
ccache version 2.3 [enabled]
app-admin/eselect-compiler: [Not Present]
dev-java/java-config: [Not Present]
dev-lang/python: 2.4.2
dev-python/pycrypto: 2.0.1-r5
dev-util/ccache: 2.3
dev-util/confcache: [Not Present]
sys-apps/sandbox: 1.2.12
sys-devel/autoconf: 2.13, 2.59-r7
sys-devel/automake: 1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.6.3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r1
sys-devel/binutils: 2.16.1
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.3.13-r1
sys-devel/libtool: 1.5.22
virtual/os-headers: 2.6.11-r2
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86 ~x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CBUILD="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=pentium3 -O3 -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/lib/X11/xkb"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/env.d /etc/gconf /etc/splash /etc/terminfo"
CXXFLAGS="-march=pentium3 -O3 -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoconfig ccache distlocks metadata-transfer sandbox sfperms strict"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.osuosl.org http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/distributions/gentoo"
LINGUAS="en"
MAKEOPTS="-j4"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --delete-after --stats --timeout=180 --exclude='/distfiles' --exclude='/local' --exclude='/packages'"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="x86 X509 acl acpi apache2 authdaemond bash-completion berkdb bzip2 bzlib ccache chroot cli cluster crypt ctype curlwrappers dba dio dlloader dri elibc_glibc erandom exif extensions fortran ftp gd gdbm gmp hardened hardenedphp iconv imagemagick imap innodb input_devices_evdev input_devices_keyboard input_devices_mouse ipv6 isdnlog javamail kerberos kernel_linux libg++ linguas_en maildir memlimit mhash mmx mpi multislot mysql nagios-dns nagios-ntp nagios-ping nagios-ssh ncurses neural nis nls nptl nptlonly objc pam pcntl pcre perl pg-hier pg-intdatetime pg-vacuumdelay php pic pie posix ppds pppd procmail python qmail readline reflection sasl sendfile session sftplogging shaper shared sharedext simplexml sockets softquota spl sse ssl sysvipc szip tcpd threads udev unicode userland_GNU vda vhosts video_cards_apm video_cards_ark video_cards_ati video_cards_chips video_cards_cirrus video_cards_cyrix video_cards_dummy video_cards_fbdev video_cards_glint video_cards_i128 video_cards_i740 video_cards_i810 video_cards_imstt video_cards_mga video_cards_neomagic video_cards_nsc video_cards_nv video_cards_rendition video_cards_s3 video_cards_s3virge video_cards_savage video_cards_siliconmotion video_cards_sis video_cards_sisusb video_cards_tdfx video_cards_tga video_cards_trident video_cards_tseng video_cards_v4l video_cards_vesa video_cards_vga video_cards_via video_cards_vmware video_cards_voodoo virtual-users virus-scan wddx xml xmlrpc xorg xsl zlib"
Unset: CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LANG, LC_ALL, LDFLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS

"Heres what i get if sync portage"

>>> Updating Portage cache: Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 4114, in ?
emerge_main()
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 4071, in emerge_main
action_sync(settings, trees, mtimedb, myopts, myaction)
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 2963, in action_sync
action_metadata(settings, portdb, myopts)
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 3058, in action_metadata
eclass_cache=ec, verbose_instance=noise_maker)
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/util.py", line 37, in mirror_cache
trg = trg_cache[x]
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/flat_hash.py", line 28, in __getitem__
d = self._parse_data(myf, cpv)
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/flat_hash.py", line 39, in _parse_data
d = dict(map(lambda x:x.rstrip().split("=", 1), data))
ValueError: dictionary update sequence element #0 has length 1; 2 is required
_________________
Never Say it cant be done !!!!!!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davem_0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the exact same problem. I may have also updated python recently when I did an emerge world after upgrading to gcc.
If anyone has any ideas or solutions I would greatly appreciate it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
didl
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 1106
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does an
Code:

emerge --metadata

help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagalopex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
* dev-lang/python
     Available versions:  [M]2.1.3-r1:2.1 [M]2.2.3-r6:2.2 2.3.5-r2:2.3 2.3.5-r3:2.3 2.4.3-r1:2.4 ~2.4.3-r3:2.4 2.4.3-r4:2.4 [M]2.5:2.5 [M]2.5-r1:2.5
     Installed:           2.4.3-r4
     Homepage:            http://www.python.org/
     Description:         Python is an interpreted, interactive, object-oriented programming language.

So =dev-lang/python-2.4.2 does not exist!

Code:
 *
 * If you have just upgraded from an older version of python you
 * will need to run:
 *
 * /usr/sbin/python-updater
 *
 * This will automatically rebuild all the python dependent modules
 * to run with python-2.4.
 *
 * Your original Python is still installed and can be accessed via
 * /usr/bin/python2.x.
 *


Code:
* sys-apps/baselayout
     Available versions:  ~1.11.13-r2 1.11.14-r8 1.11.15-r3 1.12.1 ~1.12.4 ~1.12.4-r1 1.12.4-r2 1.12.4-r3 1.12.4-r4 1.12.4-r5 1.12.4-r6 1.12.4-r7 1.12.5
     Installed:           1.12.5
     Homepage:            http://www.gentoo.org/
     Description:         Filesystem baselayout and init scripts

And your baselayout is outdated as well...
_________________
System: AMD FX 8350, 16GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davem_0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

didl wrote:
Does an
Code:

emerge --metadata

help?


That is actually where I get the error, not sure about others. Once it gets to about 52% or so that is where it craps out on me:

Code:


Champloo portage # emerge --metadata

>>> Updating Portage cache:   52%Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 4121, in ?
    emerge_main()
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 4080, in emerge_main
    action_metadata(settings, portdb, myopts)
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 3070, in action_metadata
    eclass_cache=ec, verbose_instance=noise_maker)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/util.py", line 37, in mirror_cache
    trg = trg_cache[x]
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/flat_hash.py", line 28, in __getitem__
    d = self._parse_data(myf, cpv)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/flat_hash.py", line 39, in _parse_data
    d = dict(map(lambda x:x.rstrip().split("=", 1), data))
ValueError: dictionary update sequence element #15 has length 1; 2 is required

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagalopex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something is added to a python hash-table (dict) which is to short... dont know what though, as I dont have this problem :roll:
Older versions seem to not use it... so stick with stable untill this is solved :?
Problem with portage

Perhaps someone with this problem fills a bug report?! 8O
At least this borked version needs to be hard-masked... dont know why its just keyworded...
_________________
System: AMD FX 8350, 16GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagalopex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just saw:
Code:
* sys-apps/portage
     Available versions:  2.0.51.22-r3 2.1-r2 2.1.1 2.1.1-r1 ~2.1.2_pre1 ~2.1.2_pre1-r1 ~2.1.2_pre1-r4
     Installed:           2.1.1-r1
     Homepage:            http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/portage/index.xml
     Description:         The Portage Package Management System. The primary package management and distribution system for Gentoo.

So this 2.1.2_pre1-r3 has magically disappeared as well
Thats better than masking... :?
_________________
System: AMD FX 8350, 16GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bugax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

none has an answer to our questions...
I'm in trouble, portage is broken and now???
I've to emerge xorg-x11 and portage is broken...how can I do it???????
Help me...
_________________
--------
nothing is impossible
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagalopex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As everybody seems to use the keyworded versions, they seem to know, that things can break!

Perhaps this will install the current stable portage, but dont complain, if it doesnt:
Code:
ebuild /usr/portage/sys-apps/portage/portage-2.1.1.ebuild merge

_________________
System: AMD FX 8350, 16GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagalopex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the problem now solved (add [solved] to the topic of the very first post then)? how?
_________________
System: AMD FX 8350, 16GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gvd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use:

Portage 2.1.2_pre1-r4 (hardened/x86, gcc-3.3.2, glibc-2.3.2-r9, 2.6.10-gentoo-r6 i686)

and I get the same problem.

Code:

 emerge portage
Calculating dependencies

!!! Problem in 'sys-apps/portage' dependencies.
!!! dictionary update sequence element #2 has length 1; 2 is required exceptions

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 4105, in ?
    emerge_main()
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 4100, in emerge_main
    myopts, myaction, myfiles, spinner)
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 3497, in action_build
    retval, favorites = mydepgraph.select_files(myfiles)
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 955, in select_files
    self.mysd = self.select_dep(myroot, mykey, arg=raw_args[i])
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 1112, in select_dep
    myeb_matches = portdb.xmatch("match-visible", x)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 5167, in xmatch
    myval=match_from_list(mydep,self.xmatch("list-visible",None,mydep=mydep,mykey=mykey))
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 5153, in xmatch
    myval=self.gvisible(self.visible(self.cp_list(mykey)))
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 5252, in gvisible
    keys, eapi = self.aux_get(mycpv, ["KEYWORDS", "EAPI"])
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 4867, in aux_get
    mydata = self.auxdb[mylocation][mycpv]
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/flat_hash.py", line 28, in __getitem__
    d = self._parse_data(myf, cpv)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/flat_hash.py", line 39, in _parse_data
    d = dict(map(lambda x:x.rstrip().split("=", 1), data))
ValueError: dictionary update sequence element #2 has length 1; 2 is required


However, I cannot emerge or ebuild. Is there another way to get
a more stable portage version back?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagalopex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is ebuild not working at all, or is for example "ebuild /usr/portage/sys-apps/portage/portage-2.1.1.ebuild fetch" working?

Just found Manually fixing broken portage installations... I wonder why doesnt came up earlier... :lol:
_________________
System: AMD FX 8350, 16GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gvd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ebuild is not working at all. Even only fetch does not work.

Code:

ebuild /usr/portage/sys-apps/portage/portage-2.1.1.ebuild fetch
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/ebuild", line 109, in ?
    a = portage.doebuild(ebuild, arg, portage.root, tmpsettings, debug=debug, cleanup=("noauto" not in portage.features), tree=mytree)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 2844, in doebuild
    use_cache, mydbapi)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 2576, in doebuild_environment
    eapi, mysettings["INHERITED"], mysettings["SLOT"], mysettings["RESTRICT"]  = \
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 4867, in aux_get
    mydata = self.auxdb[mylocation][mycpv]
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/flat_hash.py", line 28, in __getitem__
    d = self._parse_data(myf, cpv)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/cache/flat_hash.py", line 39, in _parse_data
    d = dict(map(lambda x:x.rstrip().split("=", 1), data))
ValueError: dictionary update sequence element #2 has length 1; 2 is required




Lets add how I came in this situation.
- First I didn't use it for a long while.
- Then I first: emerge rsync, which completed succesfully
- However, emerging others packages complained about:
"Calculating dependencies -!!! Cannot resolve a virtual package name to an ebuild."
- I updated portage to 2.1.2_pre1-r4
- Then I got the nasty errors: "ValueError: dictionary update sequence element #2 has length 1; 2 is required "
- I also tried the /usr/sbin/python-updater (If I remember right, it resulted in an update from 2.2 to 2.3)

Manually repairing the portage does not work. I have tried portage 2.1.1 which should be stable. After copying the two required directories I get:

Code:

emerge sys-apps/portage
Unknown option: -
usage: /usr/bin/python [option] ... [-c cmd | file | -] [arg] ...
Try `python -h' for more information.

It looks like that this 2.1.1.1 portage version has an inconsistency with phyton.
Even using emerge without arguments gives the same result:
Code:

pundit # emerge
Unknown option: -
usage: /usr/bin/python [option] ... [-c cmd | file | -] [arg] ...
Try `python -h' for more information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagalopex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps the python-bytecodes were orphaned...
Code:
wget -P /usr/portage/distfiles http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles/portage-2.1.1.tar.bz2

mkdir /root/portage-recover/
cd /root/portage-recover/
tar -xjf portage-2.1.1.tar.bz2
cd portage-2.1.1/
source /etc/make.conf
gcc ${CFLAGS} ${LDFLAGS} -o bin/tbz2tool src/tbz2tool.c

cd /usr/lib/portage
mv bin bin.old
mv pym pym.old
cd -

cp -R pym bin /usr/lib/portage/

env-update
source /etc/profile

_________________
System: AMD FX 8350, 16GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4185
Location: india

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge --metadata does not work?
then i would delete the portage tree except distfiles
and emerge --sync
emerge -Du system may help
profile 2006.1 is supposed to have gcc-4.1.1 as compiler
how come i have not had any portage problems x86.
including todays portage-2.1.2-pre2 ,
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagalopex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The metadata thing does not work. (as previously mentioned)
It seems as no emerge/ebuild thing works.

New portage does not work when using fresh snapshot (as previously mentioned)

What does the gcc have to do with portage? (Just a question, because I dont know...)

Btw what version of python is used?
_________________
System: AMD FX 8350, 16GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gvd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have restored the portage manually starting from the beginning. Now it worked.

Reason that initially it did not work (and got very strange errors) is that I started to
look at the portage package on a windows machine. Afterwards, copied it directly. It contained ^M-s. :oops:

After unpacking it at my Gentoo machine, the procedure worked. Now I have portage 2.1.1 installed,
and I can emerge again.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagalopex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then do, whats said in the guide: Remerge portage with portage, after mask/keyword/whatever the testing ones...

Would be nice if others having this problem could verify this, so this thread can be marked as [solved]...
_________________
System: AMD FX 8350, 16GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gvd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After manually replacing portage, I have ebuild the portage with version 2.1.1.

For manually replacing portage, I did follow the 'extended' steps in this thread given by lagalopex
, and not the somewhat shorter steps in the link mentioned also in this thread http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/portage/doc/manually-fixing-portage.xml. The two additional steps:
Code:

source /etc/make.conf
gcc ${CFLAGS} ${LDFLAGS} -o bin/tbz2tool src/tbz2tool.c

(I am not sure this makes a difference)

I removed the ~x86 keyword to prevent that emerge would take again a non-stable version.
I am currently heavily emerging. Everything works fine.

However, I was not the original problem holder, so I am not sure this thread can be marked as solved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lagalopex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I compiled tbz2tool seperatly because I moved the old portage-dirs (pym.old and bin.old in /usr/lib/portage/, which can be removed afterwards) to get rid of the old portage-files.

Putting this in /etc/portage/package.keywords should only emerge stable versions of portage, while the rest can stay ~x86:
Code:
sys-apps/portage -~x86

Hope its works :wink:
_________________
System: AMD FX 8350, 16GB RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti, Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum