Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
one buttoned trackpad/PPC keybrd questions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:37 pm    Post subject: one buttoned trackpad/PPC keybrd questions Reply with quote

Hi there,
I am configuring a gentoo on a Tibook. Now, this piece has a one buttoned trackpad.
there are 2 things i'd like to achieve:

1. to set X to emulate the only one button as button2 when it is kept pressed for say 2seconds. (that is not the emulation explained in the PPC Faq)

2. How can i set the button2 under the cursor pointer? Now it opens up the menu and ony the menu - does not care where the cursor points at. Eg.it is too difficult to shut down a docked util. of wmaker.

Thanx!
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?


Last edited by salmonix on Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:17 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. No, not at this time. You could probably write a plugin for inputd to do this, but afaik, nobody has.
2. I don't understand the question, what's not working properly?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry.
Now: the mouse cursor points to an application (e.wmclock or alike). I want to pop up a menu related to that particular application but when i hit F12 (set as mousebutton 2) i always have the Applications menu opened in the middle of the window.
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You probably have F12 bound to something else. Try using a different key.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

now it is ok., i set it to Apple key.
can i assign composite-keys? eg.apple+ctrl as button3?
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you need inputd for that.
http://hansmi.ch/software/inputd
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now there are some keybrd questions:

in xorg.conf i set
Quote:
Section "InputDevice"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "macintosh"
Option "XkbLayout" "hu"

Despite of having "hu" i have no hungarian specific characters - it seems to be "us" layout.
(None to say that the keyboard itself is french, but it is my problem)
I run syctl and pbbuttons up, but there i did not find reference to layout.
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gnomeza
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you checked there's actually a macintosh/hu map?

I recall reading (though I can't find the reference now) that the macintosh kb models were for oldworld macs, and all recent macs should instead be using keymaps derived from pc layouts. Maybe your Googlefu is stronger than mine and you can dig up some xkb mailing list messages about this or something...

fwiw:
My old gentoo powerbook has:
Code:

        Option      "XkbModel"    "pc105"
        Option      "XkbLayout"   "gb_g4_alubook_dvorak+compose(rwin)"

And my current ubuntu powerbook has:
Code:

        Option      "XkbModel"    "pc105"
        Option      "XkbLayout"   "gb_g4_alubook(dvorak)+level3(ralt_switch)+altwin(super_win)"


My custom keymaps are just small tweaks on the standard pc/us layout and match my keyboards perfectly.

Hmm, just noticed the ubuntu macintosh_vndr model files mention iBooks. So perhaps I was wrong...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I copied the Xsetting from a previous Debian installation where it worked for my Tibook.
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Doesn't mean it's right. :) Try one of the pc105 layouts first please.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pc105 layouts have no effect.
Two questions:

1. is it possible that some emulator (pbbuttons or sysctl) overwrites the layout?

2. where can i find a list of xkb options? so i could make my try. Probably the "gb_g4_alubook" option has a tibook equivalent? i do not know its syntax.
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MORE>
1. the one button is very sensitive under IceWM, when hit, often doubles. How can i dim it a bit?

2. During bootup i have a message at pbbutton : Cannot find "default".
I'd post the error messages but i do not know where to look for the script messages during boot.
Simply i can not find a /var/log/messages
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum