Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
libstdc++ fails to emerge [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:41 pm    Post subject: libstdc++ fails to emerge [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Attempting to install ibm-jdk-bin, libstdc++ is brought in as a dependency and fails to emerge.
Code:
/bin/tcsh /var/tmp/portage/libstdc++-v3-3.3.6/work/gcc-3.3.6/gcc/fixinc/genfixes machname.h
SHELL=/bin/sh: Command not found.
export: Command not found.
if: Expression Syntax.
make[2]: *** [machname.h] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/libstdc++-v3-3.3.6/work/build/gcc/fixinc'
make[1]: *** [fixinc.sh] Error 2
make[1]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/libstdc++-v3-3.3.6/work/build/gcc'
make: *** [all-gcc] Error 2

!!! ERROR: sys-libs/libstdc++-v3-3.3.6 failed.

At the shell, I have the commands /bin/sh and export.
_________________
gentoo good to be true


Last edited by nss on Mon Nov 20, 2006 4:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piavlo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

/bin/tcsh /var/tmp/portage/libstdc++-v3-3.3.6/work/gcc-3.3.6/gcc/fixinc/genfixes
looks like tcsh tries to execute file with bash commands
could you post more loggin info just before that line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or try with bash 3 perhaps.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you. I had to edit /etc/passwd. root's default shell was /bin/tcsh. I changed it back to /bin/bash. I see that the commands are run with the shell set in /etc/passwd no matter if you enter bash from another shell's command line.
_________________
gentoo good to be true
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EasyTarget
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 29
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For a reference to the bug causing this, and a solution that avoids messing with /etc/passwd have a look at this post:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum