Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
iMac G3 boot from cd
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
samden
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 12:50 pm    Post subject: iMac G3 boot from cd Reply with quote

I have been trying to install Linux on my iMac G3 for the past couple of weeks, but get errors with every install I try. I have until now been focussing on Ubuntu, and also tried Debian, FC6 and Mandriva, with different errors each time (but often having something to do with dbootstrap). I am new to Linux, so have been reluctant to try Gentoo, but now wish to try this instead as seeing the installer is more detailed I may be able to get around whatever it is that is preventing me from installing Linux on the computer.

The computer is an iMac G3 500 Mhz slot loader with a 20Gb hard drive. It once had Mac OS 9 on it but no longer has it (I have been attempting to do a clean install of Linux), and I do not have the original Mac cds to put it back on. At the moment it is unusable, and I need to get it going.

However, when I boot from the Gentoo cd it freezes at one point during the initial boot process. I start booting from the cd and get the initial message:

Gentoo 2006.1 PowerPC InstallCD
...
Welcome to yaboot version 1.3.13
Enter "help" to get some basic usage information
boot: _

When I press return (or type "apple video=ofonly" and press return) it boots for a short while, with Tux sitting at the top of the screen, text running up the screen and little [ ok ] messages on the right hand side. But it then stops and refuses to go any further (I have left it on over the weekend to see if it was just slow, and it was still stuck at the same spot on Monday).

The final messages on the screen where it freezes are:
INIT: Entering runlevel: 3
* Starting syslog-ng ...
* Hardware detection started ...
* Not Loading APM Bios support ...
* Not Loading ACPI support ...
* Running hdparm on /dev/hda ...

At this stage I try to press Alt-F2,F3 or F4, or Ctrl-Alt-F2, F3 or F4 to get another terminal window, and nothing happens. Whatever I type the screen is frozen at this point.

Why might the boot be freezing at this point?

Thankyou.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
samden
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 2:20 pm    Post subject: Available hardware Reply with quote

By the way, for anyone giving any hints on how to install, here is a list of the hardware I have at my disposal. I have for example had posts in other forums saying things like "use these files and do a network boot of the computer", which is great, but I would also need to know how to do a network boot with my available hardware. Please keep in mind my hardware when offering solutions. Thankyou.

iMac G3 (the problem computer)
500 Mhz, no operating system, 20gb hd, slot loading CDRW drive, around 192 Mb RAM I think.

iBook G4
Mac OS 10.3.9, DVD/CDRW drive. I use this for burning installation cds.

Windows XP desktop computer on my work network. I do not have administrator rights on this computer, so can only really use it for downloading files etc. No software installed to burn cds, and I am not able to install any.

I can access the internet from the iBook (and potentially the iMac) through an ethernet network. I do not have permission to access files etc through the network, just the internet.

A crossover ethernet cable. I could potentially use this to network the iMac and iBook and conduct a network boot if I knew how. However this would mean neither computer was connected to the internet as both ethernet ports would be in use.

Two USB pen drives (1GB and 128MB)

I hope this is some help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
samden
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 1:44 pm    Post subject: Hello? Reply with quote

Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Thankyou to all the people that have viewed this thread. If you thought of anything while you were looking at it please post your thoughts. Thankyou.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At the boot prompt, try typing
Code:

apple nodetect


See if that helps at all. If it doesn't, try the 2006.0 InstallCD.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halvor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Location: tokyo

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this an oldworld machine ?

if so you need to have a small partition with os 9 and use boot-x - and in particular pass video info throught that one..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not an old world machine.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
togglehead
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

im having a similar problem on my G3 iMac, although mine is a 333 tray load.

I can actually get the thing booted, but when i try to extract the stage3, it gets about halfway through and then tells me there is no more memory on the device....

Its got an 8gig drive and 96megs of RAM....should be ok...no?

Not meaning to whore, here....but, how much RAM do you have?
_________________
Cars, computers, and rack gear....i have a problem....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
togglehead
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

whoa...thread resurrection...whoops!
_________________
Cars, computers, and rack gear....i have a problem....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidgurvich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've installed debian etch on a G3 333 with 96MB ram and that worked. I don't remember which keys needed to be pressed, but recall needing to try a number of combinations. Once it booted had no trouble installing. Don't recommend gentoo for this type of machine unless building packages on a different machine. Limited hd space and limited ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mastergara
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was having this exact issue on a Red-ish iMac. cpuinfo returns:
Code:

cpu: 740/750
clock: 400.0000000MHz
detected as: 66 (iMac FireWire)
pmac-generation: NewWorld



So I think that is a G3-400MHz? Anycase.

I was able to work around this by performing an interactive boot (press I when it tells you to), and simply not load the autoconfigure script (tis shortly after urandom loads). Anything after that I had no problem. Hope it helps ya!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum