Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Getting your PC to Powerdown after shutdown -h Command
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
elboricua
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 226
Location: Bronx, NY

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2002 7:52 pm    Post subject: Getting your PC to Powerdown after shutdown -h Command Reply with quote

I searched and searched this forum for answers but it seems like a lot of people gave up on getting this working. I have a really bad tendency to not sleep when I have a computer issue so I had to get this working :-)

I must have recompiled my kernel 20 times before I figured this out. :oops:

But I did :-) My machine shuts down and powers off now :-)

I have an ASUS board. ACPI compliant. So what I did was

I compiled the kernel with ACPI support. I enabled the whole ACPI tree and compiled it directly into the kernel.

I emerge acpid and made sure that it was in the default runlevel.

Code:
emerge acpid
rc-update add acpid default


Rebooted for good measure and then I issued my poweroff command.

I have in my .bashrc
Code:
alias poweroff='/sbin/shudown -h now'


My machine powered down. Wooooo hoooooooo yaaaaaaayyyyy yippie skippy :lol:

I hope that helps someone seachine on ACPI, SHUTDOWN, POWEROFF and APM issues :D
_________________
Boricua Hasta La Muerte
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bonkalot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks dude, i have been wondering why my machine doesn't turn off propper.

:oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I have an ASUS board. ACPI compliant. So what I did was...


I have asus too but I'm not sure if its ACPI compliant...
Any clue?
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elboricua
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 226
Location: Bronx, NY

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pacman, what kind of ASUS board do you have?

I have Gentoo installed on 3 pc's with ASUS boards and the ACPI kernel support and acpid did the trick for all of them.

I use the following mobo's

ASUS K7V
ASUS A7V133
ASUS CUSL2-C
_________________
Boricua Hasta La Muerte
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh my man :-)
Its an old one Asus P2B, 300 Mhz and still runs like a f... bitch :-)
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elboricua
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 226
Location: Bronx, NY

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup that board supports ACPI. You may need to upgrade to the newest BIOS for it though.
Quote:
BIOS
# 2M-bit Flash EPROM
# Award® Anti-Boot Virus & PnP BIOS with ACPI, AGP, DMI, Green, Plug and Play Features
# Enhanced ACPI Features for PC98/Win98
from http://www.active-hardware.com/english/reviews/mainboard/p2b.htm

Check out http://download.asus.com.tw/mb_dl_menu.asp to see if you have the most recent BIOS.

I actually had to put down my oldest ASUS board. It was a VX97 with a p100. No power management support there was an AT :-) I was not about to try to install gentoo on that!!!
_________________
Boricua Hasta La Muerte
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks man...I saw there a lot of P2B-<some letter here> and i did not know what to choose so I selected P2B only..there are 2 updates:
P2B BIOS 1012 (with H/W Monitoring)
P2B BIOS 1012 (no H/W Monitoring)

Whats H/W Monitoring?
Then, its possible to update the motherboard from Linux? I did it only from windows ...long time ago...
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jacaranda
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2002
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2002 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,

H/W Monitoring is Hardware Monitoring, it enables you through something like lm_sensors to see things like how hot your CPU is, how fast your fans are spinning, what voltages are where etc etc. Usefull.

AFAIK You can't update mobo BIOS from windows or linux. You would have used a dos boot disk.

See http://www.bootdisk.com for a nice range of bootdisks.
I recommend this disk for flashing:
http://www.hellasystems.de/ftp/Utilities/BootDisk/DrDos70/drdflash.exe

DR DOS, always was the nicest of the dos's IMO.
_________________
Jac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2002 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm afraid to do this :-)
My comp. is since 98` P2 300Mhz, board Asus and is still working...maybe when it will work lower
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nsadhal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 34
Location: Berkeley, CA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2002 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

compiling the kernel w/ acpi support causes my keyboard to stop working. :(
i think this problem has been mentioned before on this board... haha... and the solution is to compile the kernel w/o acpi support
my board is an Abit KR7A (non raid, non ata133) with an Athlon XP 1800+ and 512 MB DDR.
I'm pretty sure I have the most updated bios, as I had to flash it before it would even store any settings and boot more than once.
_________________
It makes me so mad I wanna grab my sawed off, and get some bodies hauled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Disquiet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 48
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2002 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All I've ever had to do to get my pc to powerdown on shutdown is to
compile in the Advanced Power Management BIOS support. No ACPI at all.

ACPI is apparently dangerous as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keifir
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 119
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2002 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same here - no need for ACPI. Only had to compile APM support.
My mobo: Soyo-6VCA with P2-350@300mhz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albrow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 56
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2002 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've stuck with APM too. I can't say I've had much luck with the whole power-down thing either. There's real-mode calls under APM but nothing I do seems to work.

Mind you, I do hate my motherboard. Bloody Super Socket 7 Gigabyte crap.

Alex Brown
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jthj
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jun 2002
Posts: 176
Location: The Matrix Has Me....

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2002 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

apm worked here too asus a7v
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 1379
Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2002 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

APM didn't work for me, but once I compile ACPI (and only ACPI) into my kernel it just worked, nothing more needed.

Regards,
BonezTheGoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jthj
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jun 2002
Posts: 176
Location: The Matrix Has Me....

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2002 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BonezTheGoon wrote:
APM didn't work for me, but once I compile ACPI (and only ACPI) into my kernel it just worked, nothing more needed.

Regards,
BonezTheGoon


What type of motherboard and bios do yo have. I'm just curious as to why apm works for some but others need acpi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 1379
Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2002 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, Duh sorry I thought I had put that in--Must have glazed over that part.

That was on an ECS K7S5A. I don't recall what BIOS version.

Regards,
BonezTheGoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathieu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jul 2002
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2002 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've also problems with shutdown/halt.

It used to work with apm. But after a while it didn't work anymore, can't remeber what changed perhaps bios update or newer kernel.
(XP shutdown works)

I tried ACPI but this one gives kernel panic at boot (scan pci devices).

Some info:
mb: asus a7v266-e
kernel: gentoo-sources-2.4.19-r7

Any suggestions?

mathieu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rojaro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2002
Posts: 732

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2002 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well ... one of my machines features an ASUS P2B-DS board equiped with two P2/350 cpu's and i had slackware running on it before gentoo, and i didn't have anything of the ACPI stuff enabled and "shutdown -h now" with plain APM support worked fine. so i assume this is an kernel issue as i used the same kernel configuration on the slackware installation (i actually just copied the .config file as i am too lazy to do the same configuration again and again and again).

but as i don't like the idea of wasting memory for a daemon which doesn't do anything for me but to turn off the machine on a shutdown (i mean, this is a server ... no battery status and stuff), i just deleted it's initscript and start it now instead from /etc/conf.d/local.stop. this way it get's started just after i issued the "shutdown -h now" command and doesnt eat any memory as long i need it for more important stuff.

note to Megatron2121: ... the command "halt" does exactly the same, so there is no need for an alias
_________________
A mathematician is a machine for turning coffee into theorems. ~ Alfred Renyi (*1921 - †1970)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elboricua
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 226
Location: Bronx, NY

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2002 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
note to Megatron2121: ... the command "halt" does exactly the same, so there is no need for an alias


I know that it does :) I just prefer to use the more descriptive poweroff :D I also remember the days when halt did evil things to linux machine :) so I prefer to jsut alias the shutdown command. I also forgot to mention that I have a shutdown.allow file in /etc. If not you would have to be root to do that :)
_________________
Boricua Hasta La Muerte
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blaze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just edited my inittab so ctrl-alt-del does shutdown -h

Then if I really need to reboot it, I wait for the power down prompt then hit ctrl-alt-del again and it reboots.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
debian
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mathieu wrote:
I've also problems with shutdown/halt.

It used to work with apm. But after a while it didn't work anymore, can't remeber what changed perhaps bios update or newer kernel.
(XP shutdown works)

I tried ACPI but this one gives kernel panic at boot (scan pci devices).

Some info:
mb: asus a7v266-e
kernel: gentoo-sources-2.4.19-r7

Any suggestions?

mathieu

I've asus a7m266-d and I also got kernel panic with acpi compiled in both r5 and r7.

So I tried mjc-kernel(emerge -s source) and it works perfectly. It also compiles 'I20C' which I previously failed in r5/7.

Just fyi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
insomniac
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 132
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2002 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an Asus A7v-133, and shutdown works fine. Kernel is compiled with APM, no ACPI. Make sure "Use real mode to power off" is disabled in the kernel!
_________________
My next computer is also a Gentoo computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2002 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an ECS P4S5A and APM would only put it into standby (with the fans still going). A shutdown -h now would make it reboot :P

I just compiled in ACPI and shutdown -h now works as promised. Now, I'd love to know how to put the system into suspend with ACPI *sigh*.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dufnutz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 May 2002
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2002 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

debian wrote:
mathieu wrote:
I've also problems with shutdown/halt.

It used to work with apm. But after a while it didn't work anymore, can't remeber what changed perhaps bios update or newer kernel.
(XP shutdown works)

I tried ACPI but this one gives kernel panic at boot (scan pci devices).

Some info:
mb: asus a7v266-e
kernel: gentoo-sources-2.4.19-r7

Any suggestions?

mathieu

I've asus a7m266-d and I also got kernel panic with acpi compiled in both r5 and r7.

So I tried mjc-kernel(emerge -s source) and it works perfectly. It also compiles 'I20C' which I previously failed in r5/7.

Just fyi.



I also have an a7m266 and receive a kernel panick perhaps i'll try the mjc sources... btw what are the mjc sources? thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum