Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can not boot CD: keyboard problem ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
doublehp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 472
Location: FRANCE

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:56 pm    Post subject: can not boot CD: keyboard problem ? Reply with quote

I only want to install Gentoo on the disk; I dont mind about MacOS.

I found a refurb Power mac G3 300 (blue&W), just the tower; I put a Dell USB keyboard that works fine when in console in Mac OS, but I dont have the admin apssword. So, I am about to format the disk compleetely, unless these is a way to archive the license key, and re-install it; but I dont have MacOS CD.

When I press 's', 'c', or Commande+S during boot, it boots as usual.

I am now wondering if the OpenFirmware disabled interactive boot for security reasons ? The user account I can access has obviously very limited access on the box; I think the ex owner was paranoiac.

- is there a way to get the license key ? is that usefull ? (I can eventually move the disk to an x86 machine with any system).
- is it opssible to prevent booting CD at boot time ? if no, would my Dell keyboard be non compatible with open irmware even if macOs can recognise it later on ?
_________________
DEMAINE Benoît-Pierre (aka DoubleHP ) http://www.demaine.info/
>o_/ Coin coin coin \_o<
to contact me (MSN,ICQ, JABBER, Skype ... ) http://benoit.demaine.info/contact.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try pressing Apple + Option + O + F (the key sequence is Windows + Alt + O + F on PC keyboards) to get into open firmware. You must hold these keys down on boot. If you get the OpenFirmware prompt, there should be no problem booting the CD, try the workaround listed in the FAQ. Also, make sure that the CD shows up in OSX, if the CD isn't readable there, it won't work on boot either (some CD media doesn't work in older drives).
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hawaiian717
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2004
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mac OS doesn't have a license key like Windows does. You just need an install CD that is compatible with the system. Retail copies of Mac OS X will work on anything that can run OS X (PowerPC for now, presumably with 10.5 there will be PowerPC and Intel versions, obviously you'll need PowerPC), but copies of OS X or OS 9 that come bundled with a machine are sometimes machine-specific.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doublehp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 472
Location: FRANCE

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont know how to try to view CD from OSX. I can access OF, but as soon as I hit "boot cd", I get a grey screen with a crossed circle.

hawaiian717 means I could borrow any install CD legally ? or make a raw copy of a working HDD (if I get a larger one to write the copy) ?
_________________
DEMAINE Benoît-Pierre (aka DoubleHP ) http://www.demaine.info/
>o_/ Coin coin coin \_o<
to contact me (MSN,ICQ, JABBER, Skype ... ) http://benoit.demaine.info/contact.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doublehp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 472
Location: FRANCE

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried both PPC and PPC64, same problem:

*now* when hitting "boot cd", I can hear the CD spin.

but, in both case, I get following (hand copy) message:
MAC PARTS: LOAD (noninterposed) not supoprtedload-size=0 odler=32=1
LOAD-SIZE is too small

(screen is very far, may be mistakes).
_________________
DEMAINE Benoît-Pierre (aka DoubleHP ) http://www.demaine.info/
>o_/ Coin coin coin \_o<
to contact me (MSN,ICQ, JABBER, Skype ... ) http://benoit.demaine.info/contact.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gustav IV
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 69
Location: Copenhagen

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

It could be that the image you have on the CD-rom is either korrupted or is not a proper .iso image. How to did you burn the image?

When starting up the G3 hold only the alt/option key down. Prior to boot you will be given a selection of bootable images. Try and check it out.

Quote:
I only want to install Gentoo on the disk; I dont mind about MacOS.


Do you intend to delete the whole hard disk and only run Gentoo on the bare metal?

Sincerely

Gustav IV
_________________
"Hey, hey, hey — don't be mean. No need to be mean. 'Cause, remember: no matter where you go... there you are." - Buckaroo Banzai
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doublehp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 472
Location: FRANCE

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My first concern is to boot any CD. Burned 6 times an RW with Gentoo, debian, and several BSD.

As long as firmware dont load the CD, I am stuck.

MacOS problem is not an "actual" problem. I could backup the disk, put the disk in a rack ... really many solutions. But as long I cant boot any CD at all, I have a big problem.
_________________
DEMAINE Benoît-Pierre (aka DoubleHP ) http://www.demaine.info/
>o_/ Coin coin coin \_o<
to contact me (MSN,ICQ, JABBER, Skype ... ) http://benoit.demaine.info/contact.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum