Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
alsa-driver - cant go above 1.0.11 (solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AliasXZ
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 838
Location: England, Wakefield

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 2:27 pm    Post subject: alsa-driver - cant go above 1.0.11 (solved) Reply with quote

Hey

On my ibook G4, I can't seem to get any version of alsa-driver above 1.0.11 to work... it compiles ok, but when u restart alsasound it says

Code:
Failed to load necassary drivers


and it finds no soundcards...

I have "Powermac" in ALSA_CARDS in my make.conf, has it chaged with the new driver release...? because its as if it hasnt heard of a powermac or something...

thanks for any help

EDIT

Just upgraded kernel to 2619-r5 and alsa-driver 1014 - it fails to load necessary drivers... what am i doing wrong?? I have changed nothing, all I am doing is updating from 1011 to 1014 of alsa-driver.. :(
_________________
Main:
Kernel: 4.19.57 amd64
RAM: 4GB
Lappy:
Macbook Pro 10.14.6
------------------------------
Please add (solved) to your first post when your issue is resolved 8)


Last edited by AliasXZ on Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:17 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cchildress
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2004
Posts: 90
Location: Tennessee, United States

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's the most recent version that you've tried? You might want to add the ~arch reference in your /etc/portage/package.keywords and try a more recent version of the driver. There are several above the current "stable" release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You probably should be using snd-aoa instead of the older powermac driver since all newer machines now use the snd-aoa driver. Give that a shot, details are in the PPC FAQ (link below).
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliasXZ
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 838
Location: England, Wakefield

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neither work.... I was fine using powermac, why would it just suddenly change?

EDIT

to save me time because i cannot be bothered messing around.... i have extracted 2006 portage to /usr and now i can emerge 1.0.11 whch works perfectly...

I hate it when things change...
_________________
Main:
Kernel: 4.19.57 amd64
RAM: 4GB
Lappy:
Macbook Pro 10.14.6
------------------------------
Please add (solved) to your first post when your issue is resolved 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It "suddently changed" because the powermac driver had pretty awful support for newer chipsets. The snd-aoa driver is quite a bit more stable and has more features. :p

If you could be "bothered to mess around", it would be useful to actually post what's happening so we can help you figure out what's going wrong. Did you build in the snd-aoa driver as suggested in the FAQ? Did you accidentally leave the OSS driver enabled?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliasXZ
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 838
Location: England, Wakefield

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, just trying to get work done and gettin stressed.. anyway:

It isn't compiled into the kernel, although I have tried that.

In the FAQ, i followed it exact, no OSS support etc, just ALSA, then alsacopnf found a powermac card? I saved changes to modules.d./alsa and started alsasound, it spewed out loads of errors, but sound did work... and thats as far as ive got, the errors seem to be refering to OSS, which is a bit weird as ive never used OSS in the kernel or with alsa-driver.
-
_________________
Main:
Kernel: 4.19.57 amd64
RAM: 4GB
Lappy:
Macbook Pro 10.14.6
------------------------------
Please add (solved) to your first post when your issue is resolved 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliasXZ
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 838
Location: England, Wakefield

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cchildress wrote:
What's the most recent version that you've tried? You might want to add the ~arch reference in your /etc/portage/package.keywords and try a more recent version of the driver. There are several above the current "stable" release.


Latest i tried is 1.0.14, ill probably try messing around with the others later...
_________________
Main:
Kernel: 4.19.57 amd64
RAM: 4GB
Lappy:
Macbook Pro 10.14.6
------------------------------
Please add (solved) to your first post when your issue is resolved 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliasXZ
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 838
Location: England, Wakefield

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, two questions:

why does alsaconf say its a powermac card, and then progress's to write "snd-powermac" in modules.d/alsa? when i take it,it should be "snd-aoa" ?
-
Anyway, I have sound, but loads of error messages on alsasouind starting:

Code:

(/lib/modules/acore/snd.ko) Invalid module format


for almost everything
-
I cant remember what im meant to do to solve this...
_________________
Main:
Kernel: 4.19.57 amd64
RAM: 4GB
Lappy:
Macbook Pro 10.14.6
------------------------------
Please add (solved) to your first post when your issue is resolved 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You really shouldn't use alsaconf for Macs, the sound cards are on I2C, not on the PCI/ISA bus, so alsaconf just guesses. It's better to just configure it by hand.

Check dmesg for information on the "Invalid module format" but more than likely, it's that you compiled the modules with a different compiler than the kernel.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliasXZ
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 838
Location: England, Wakefield

PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 12:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought that you shouldnt use alsaconf..
anyway:

i deleted /lib/modules then recompiled the kernel, now it complains about not being able to find the snd_aoa module?

The weird thing is, sound works fine, its using "SoundByLayout"

you think thats all ok and i should ignore the "cant find module snd-aoa" ?

EDIT

should i use snd-powermac or snd-aoa in modules.d/alsa ? - i would of thought snd-aoa.... but i jus wana make sure

btw, im running the kernel drivers, not alsa-driver package
_________________
Main:
Kernel: 4.19.57 amd64
RAM: 4GB
Lappy:
Macbook Pro 10.14.6
------------------------------
Please add (solved) to your first post when your issue is resolved 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you compiled the driver into the kernel (as it says to in the FAQ) you won't have the modules since they're already in the kernel. Loading them again would be redundant, so you wouldn't need to load anything in modules.d/alsa.

Sound-By-Layout is the full name of the new aoa driver.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliasXZ
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 838
Location: England, Wakefield

PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, i was messing around earlier, removed the line "alias snd-aoa" or whatever in modules.d/alsa and all's well cheers...
_________________
Main:
Kernel: 4.19.57 amd64
RAM: 4GB
Lappy:
Macbook Pro 10.14.6
------------------------------
Please add (solved) to your first post when your issue is resolved 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum