Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
My Gentoo diskless install howto
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jesse_kahtava
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 66
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, within a chroot. the nfs mount contains a complete filesystem (with /lib and all) that i had created for the computer before deciding i wanted it diskless. After mounting the nfs volume i was able to chroot into it and execute init. It fails with a timeout, not because it can't be found or because of any sort of seg fault which gives me a good idea that it's there and should be working under normal circumstances. and as i said before, it is in the standard location (/sbin/init)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jesse_kahtava
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 66
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the problem! It seems that Reiser4 and NFS don't cooperate well when mounting NFS root. I made a new partition, formatted it with Reiser3, copied the full root contents from the Reiser4 partition over, set up /etc/exports to point to the new mount point with Reiser3 and everything works fine. After realizing this was a problem I googled around a bit and found a handful of references to Reiser4 not working 100%.

!!!As of this writing Reiser4 does not work being exported and used as a NFS root!!!
(Well, not for me anyway)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erik258
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 2650
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that explains it. I have mine on reiser3. I've thought about switching my workstation over, what do you think?
_________________
Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1451
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi there,


just a short question, i finished the setup of my first diskless pc (pentium4-256mb) but now i just wonder why unpacking GCC4.1.1 took nearly 30 minutes or even more, to apply all the patches already took 30 minutes so far and its not even finished... :( any suggestions ? how do i speed up that ? thx a lot
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erik258
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 2650
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

your network is probably maxing out at 12.5mb/sec one way through much of that time.

of course, gcc is one of the biggest packages you're likely to install.
_________________
Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wimalopaan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 6:04 am    Post subject: aufs: another union fs Reply with quote

To all how are using unionfs for building diskless clients:

actual versions of unionfs produce various kernel-oopses.

aufs (another unionfs) is a direct replacement for unionfs, but cleanly built from scratch.

If you want to give it a try, heres an ebuild:

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=160065
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1451
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is it possible to use nvidia-drivers on a diskless node ? the xorg modul "nv" is working fine, but i can not "modprobe nvidia". when installing the diskless pc i have read i should put all modules into kernel, because i am unable to load them later. but i need dri on the diskless node. i am not using grub for the diskless pc. thanks in advance
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erik258
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 2650
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't see any reason why you wouldn't be able to load any module you wanted. Nothing cares as far as i can tell whether the root fs is on nfs or a disk, usb or anything else.
_________________
Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1451
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for your info.. i compiled now agpgart and i2c modules into the kernel, lets see if it helps

when setting up the client i used the following guide : http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/diskless-howto.xml

Code:
About the slave kernel

It is recommended that you compile the slave kernel without any modules, since loading and setting them up via remote boot is a difficult and unnecessary process. Additionally, the slave kernel should be as small and compact as possible in order to efficiently boot from the network. We are going to compile the slave's kernel in the same place where the master was configured.


so i maybe just misinterpreted that info : its not impossible - its just difficult... THX A LOT !!
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
conbart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

aufs (another unionfs) is a direct replacement for unionfs, but cleanly built from scratch.

If you want to give it a try, heres an ebuild:

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=160065


There is now an ebuild for aufs at the gentoo-sunrise overlay :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rumit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/profile.php?mode=activate&u=159900&act_key=uXUwhrvcMWEDxrDWxI2Eg47mek20fG
_________________
You Just got played,
Like a fiddle.

[img]http://www.gaminglagoon.com/banners/gaminglagoon2.gif[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 1983
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for digging up this thread, but I did not want to create new one ;)
I'm planning to connect diskless node (i686 architecture, namely P3) to my x86_64 server. Gentoo diskless guide assumes that both (master and slave) architectures are the same.
Are there any quirks or incompatibilities when trying to connect i686 slave to x86_64 master?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erik258
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 2650
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't forsee any such difficulties.
_________________
Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WereCatf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mbar wrote:
Sorry for digging up this thread, but I did not want to create new one ;)
I'm planning to connect diskless node (i686 architecture, namely P3) to my x86_64 server. Gentoo diskless guide assumes that both (master and slave) architectures are the same.
Are there any quirks or incompatibilities when trying to connect i686 slave to x86_64 master?


Just remember that the files being served to the slave must be compiled as 32-bit binaries, not 64-bit ones :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 322

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:) As requested in the howto, thank you (the author ;) ) for that howto, that is exactly what i was searching...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selig
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jul 2005
Posts: 425
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice... thanks a lot for the quick (not counting compile time but hey, it's Gentoo :)) & easy diskless setup. The only glitch I've run into is that my "client does not accept options" so I had to issue the commands in pxegrub manually, it does not display a menu. But since I am using this as a rescue solution (so far it looks like at least the partition table got wiped out, along with GRUB - maybe more) for my laptop which has not got a CD-drive, it is not a problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Page 7 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum