Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ALSA: broken sound when hda is accessed
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 2:32 pm    Post subject: ALSA: broken sound when hda is accessed Reply with quote

I have moved here from Multimedia for It might be a PPC specific problem (?) If not, only delete this post.

I am running VLC 0.8.6. on PPC, this is a 2001/03 TiBook, powermac driver, the alsa is in the kernel (2.6.19.vanilla/2.6.20-ck).
When I open a new application, the sound starts to "scatter", broken. I have to stop and start again playing the tune. (The same with audacious)

The USE flags are https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-541625-highlight-vlc.html as suggested here + optimisememory.
I checked DMA:
hdparm -d1u1 /dev/hda
seeting unmaskirq to 1 (on)
setting using_dma to 1 (on)
unmaskirq = 1 (on)
using_dma = 1 (on)

In the kernel I also have dummy selected in .19, not selected in .20 kernel, no DMA engine selected in Device Drivers specific DMA engine support but allowed in ATA/ATAPI (Use PCI DMA by default when available) (?)

One fellow recommended me to use alsa-driver from portage....?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now, I have checked the ck-sources homepage, http://ck.kolivas.org/faqs/audio_hints respectively.
Checking the DMA, it is suggested that
Quote:
DMA: mdma0 mdma1 mdma2 udma0 udma1 udma2 udma3 udma4 *udma5 udma6

should be there.


I have a HITACHI_DK23EA40 hdd.
I have checked its hdparm as suggestes here:http://www.kcore.org/?menumain=4&menusub=1
Now, still I have only
Quote:
DMA: mdma0 mdma1 mdma2 udma0 udma1 udma2 udma3 udma4 *udma5


and the problem is still there.

In Devices>ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support I have
Builtin Powermac IDE support enabled, otherwise all those recommended at ck-sources.
I have not found a driver matching, but IntelPIIXn and WinbondSL82c105 support is enabled.

Any idea?
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, my PC-s hdparm is the same - and I have no problem. So, maybe it is not the hdparm, but something else...
Anyway, the problem comes when the system reads or writes only...
no clue.
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't heard of anyone else with this issue, but maybe make sure that your ALSA libs match your kernel version. Also, can you post your kernel config?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
I haven't heard of anyone else with this issue, but maybe make sure that your ALSA libs match your kernel version. Also, can you post your kernel config?


I still use the kernel alsa.
I will post the .config.
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, but I'm suggesting that you need to make sure that the kernel ALSA version matches the alsa-libs version that you've got installed.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Sure, but I'm suggesting that you need to make sure that the kernel ALSA version matches the alsa-libs version that you've got installed.


How can I check it?

and
Should I paste here my full .config file? Not short.
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frelon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I Remember having this problem a time ago. It was due to the governor policy on my G3. Swiching from 400MHz to 500MHz causes lags. I resolves that in using a performance policy rather than a conservative one.

Check that, maybe...
_________________
http://stan.openmod.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Frelon wrote:
I Remember having this problem a time ago. It was due to the governor policy on my G3. Swiching from 400MHz to 500MHz causes lags. I resolves that in using a performance policy rather than a conservative one.

Check that, maybe...


Fine, might be.
In the kernel I have <userspace>, and I have powerprefs installed. Powerprefs is set to performance usually, but I see on conky that CPU is down on 300Mhz and only when loaded it starts to go up to 500Mhz. I usually do "static work" like wordprocessing and some perl, using nedit and some 3 terminals opened usually. They rarely disturb sound - only when hdd is accessed. And If i compile it uses hdd, so I know not if the problem is because of the heavy load or the hdd accessing.

Is it somekind of powepref problem then? 'Cause the software is set on performance... on GUI at least. I have no error in the logs regarding powerprefs. (I will check it again, anyway.)
Is there any issue with the reliability of prowerpref?
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now, following Frelon, I have checked powerprefs / pbbuttonsd settings regarding the governor policy. In the config file I realised that is was set to "ondemand" instead of "userspace". I have corrected it now, and this part of the story is now down.
Unfortunately it does not effect the problem.
With 2.6.20-ck kernel the built-in ALSA is still not OK., alsa-drivers does not want to compile. (I have checked the settings.)
I'll report the other kernels.
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frelon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
In the config file I realised that is was set to "ondemand" instead of "userspace"


Try performance, because userspace does not solve the problem if you use a "userspace soft" like cpufreqd with an "ondemand" policy.
_________________
http://stan.openmod.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salmonix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Frelon wrote:
Quote:
In the config file I realised that is was set to "ondemand" instead of "userspace"


Try performance, because userspace does not solve the problem if you use a "userspace soft" like cpufreqd with an "ondemand" policy.


I have changed the config file to userspace now, 'cause I thought it overwrote the cpufreqd. Now, they match, but still broken.
So, should I make a kernel with "performance" policy as default? But will then cpufreqd overwrite this policy with e.g.powersave? 'cause often I only text edit and testing a perl script does not need much CPU and power in general. (an heat and fan. :)) )

(If cpufreqd can not overwrite the default policy, then this soft tuning is of little use in my case.)
Getting curious about this... :)
_________________
Quis custodiet ipsos, custodes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frelon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
So, should I make a kernel with "performance" policy as default? But will then cpufreqd overwrite this policy with e.g.powersave? 'cause often I only text edit and testing a perl script does not need much CPU and power in general. (an heat and fan. :)) )


I don't think so. This is the reason of a userspace policy. Maybe you can try, in userspace to make cpufreqd always run as conservative to avoid the "switch context", because I don't think playing mp3's require a lot of ressources.
_________________
http://stan.openmod.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum