Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE blocks KDM?!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
g4j
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:37 pm    Post subject: KDE blocks KDM?! Reply with quote

I'm trying to setup a new system, and revive an old system that broke a few weeks ago. I've installed (or re-installed, as the case may be) KDE, but now I can't install KDM because it's blocked by KDE-base. What's the deal? Do I need to install KDM first? I don't remember having this problem in the past.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dphipps
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 23
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same thing happen. I installed KDE and then tried to install KDM but it was blocked. However, I think that KDM cames with KDE becouse it was installed and usible for me after I installed KDE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dementer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

quite right. kdm is part of kde-base. if you want to install kdm seperately you will need to uninstall kde-base and then install the parts of it that you need from the split ebuilds.

refer to http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/kde-split-ebuilds.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g4j
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
henryzhou
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dementer wrote:
quite right. kdm is part of kde-base. if you want to install kdm seperately you will need to uninstall kde-base and then install the parts of it that you need from the split ebuilds.

refer to http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/kde-split-ebuilds.xml


Thank you.

Do you mean that after I emerge kdebase, the system will install kdm as well?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g4j
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think you need to worry about kdebase. It will take care of itself. If you merge kde, you'll also get kdebase and kdm. If you merge kdm you'll also get kdebase but without the actual kde desktop. At least that's the way it seems to work.

If in doubt play with emerge -p and see what it shows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
henryzhou
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your reply. But I just wanna install kdebase kdenetwork kdeadmin kdm

only these four parts, what can I do?

Can I just emerge kdebase kdenetwork kdeadmin kdm? Does it work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g4j
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't tried insalling those components without the actual desktop. Try
Code:
emerge -p kdenetwork kdeadmin kdm | less
and see what all it will list. The -p switch will just show you what packages would be merged without actually doing it. When I anticipate more than a screen-full of packages to list with the -p option, I typically pipe it through less (or most) so I can scroll through the output.

You shouldn't need to specify kdebase as it will be merged automatically as a requirement for kdm (and probably kdeadmin).

I know kdm will work without the kde desktop. I haven't a clue about kdeadmin and kdenetwork.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 9276

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This issue has already been discussed in the topic "Blockers in KDE 3.4.1", where it was summarized by Headrush; and it is also covered in The KDE Configuration HOWTO.

Moved from Desktop Environments to Duplicate Threads.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum