Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing Gentoo on RS6000 model 170
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
oturgator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 11:10 am    Post subject: Installing Gentoo on RS6000 model 170 Reply with quote

Hello and here it goes ...

I have downloaded and burned 2006.1 Universal Live CD.

Yaboot gave me several kernel options to boot from and I have selected ibmpower, because it was the first one to choose.

I have received an annoying boot screen and hardly understood that I have received a prompt behind the tiny lines. The display looks as if I am using a Hercules Graphics Array interlaced version but inverted!?

Anyway, I have tried SuSe, Mandrake and Debian and this is as far as I could be able to go among the versions I have tried. With other versions I couldn't get to the prompt.

Considering this is my first linux installation I guess I've picked the wrong computer to start with.

Can anybody help me by writing the steps that I have to follow, as the documentation over the net concerning these RS6000 series is completely useless!

Please Note:
I have currently AIX 5.somthing installed on the machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oturgator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

one more thing,

when I type;

fdisk /dev/sda

and enter "p"

I am told that there is a 18.something HDD installed, but I don't get a list after that. As a result, I can not enter "d" and select a number from the list.

Maybe I can proceed from this point on if I can be able to understand what it is trying to say to me.

Thanks in advance
Onur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Gentoo on PPC.
_________________
www.gentoo.org.au || #gentoo-au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure that you are using the PPC64 InstallCD as this machine is a 64bit PowerPC (It's a Power3 afaik). Unfortunately, these can be a bit of a pain to install on since they're somewhat rare, but there are also many different versions of these machines, making it difficult to write one good set of directions. :p

Please let us know if using the PPC64 InstallCD helps at all. If not, we'll figure something else out. :)
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rangerpb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:57 pm    Post subject: 170s and Gentoo Reply with quote

There is a power3 profile and there are, I think, a number of folks with power3 boxes that hang out on #gentoo-ppc64. Corsair and tgall/DrWho come to mind.
_________________
-->
rangerpb
<--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oturgator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your prompt replies.

I am quite positive that I am using the correct CD.

I have switched display adapters and now I can read what is diplayed.

Can you please guide me through the fdisk process since I think this is the most vital part of installation.

Regards
Onur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have AIX installed then you have a AIX partition layout. Please take a look at http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-ppc64.xml?part=1&chap=4#doc_chap4. I think it's described pretty straight forward.

-corsair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oturgator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, that link was very helpful, but I've got stuck at some point again ...

I have prepared 3 partitions (I have a 18GB drive) using the same values from "http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-ppc64.xml?part=1&chap=4#doc_chap4"

/dev/sda1 PPC PReP Boot partition ( 8 )
/dev/sda2 Swap partition (512M)
/dev/sda3 Root partition (rest)

I have created ext3 file system. I have prepared the swap partition and turned swap on.

After that I have extracted tarball "stage3-ppc64-64ul-2006.1.tar.bz2" and downloaded the latest Portage. At the stage of loooong "tar xvjf /mnt/gentoo/portage-latest.tar.bz2 -C /mnt/gentoo/usr" process, the process stop due to lack of HDD space problems!? I have realized this when I treid to download portage-latest.tar.bz2.md5sum, to be sure about the file, from the same mirror. "Links" told me that there wasn't enough space!

I have tried to extract it both to "/mnt/gentoo/usr/portage" and to "/usr/portage" and nothing changed.

Any ideas?
/Onur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds like you didn't mount the partition on /mnt/gentoo after you made the partitions. The reason for the lack of space is probably that you unpacked into the ramdisk! :)
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oturgator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, right, ramdisk. This is a funny OS which loves to play tricks on me.

Anyway, mounting did the trick and I could be able to make progress, till, "emerge gentoo-sources" command.

After hitting enter computer tries to connect to some ftp/http addresses (rsync?) but could not acomplish this task. This is the point where I am stuck at the moment. The addresses which move up in a hurry doesn't contain the address which I have added to make.conf file with the command mirrorselect. Besides, I am behind my universitys' firewall which only let us use some specific ports like 80, 21, 110, etc. but this rsync protocol uses port 800 something which I am afraid not available.

So, is this the end of my Gentoo journey?

(In the mean time I am trying some other installations and the only OS that is compatible with my PPC is Gentoo, therefore I need to make Gentoo work bad!)

I always admire your prompt replies,
Onur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mastergara
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have done the x86 install a number of times behind a firewall that does not allow rsync, and I can think of 2 options:

1) emerge-webrsync - A script on the system that should use http to perform the update for portage
2) wget - using wget, you can download pretty much any file over http or ftp. This is actually one of my favorite tools, and I believe is included on the liveCD (dont know about the ppc version, however). For instance, I use osuosl as my local gentoo mirror, so I can run the command

Code:
wget -c http://gentoo.osuosl.org/snapshots/portage-latest.tar.bz2


The -c ensures that if I have a bad connection at home (which I do :P ), it can continue where it left off, and not have to start the file over at the beginning.

As from what you encountered earlier, I would suggest changing into your /mnt/gentoo/tmp directory, and running the wget command from there to snag the snapshot into your current directory.

Hope this helps! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum