Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Font Color Goes Crazy!?! [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mabhobs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Feb 2006
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:39 pm    Post subject: Font Color Goes Crazy!?! [solved] Reply with quote

I have troubles with my font display. The font color randomly changes. I have no idea what the cause is for that. I compiled quite some new stuff and also recompiled my kernel, so I am not sure anymore when exactly the problem started occurring.

The following link shows an example.

http://mabhobs.de/images/photoalbum/19/Screenshot_3.png

Does anybody have any ideas?

(I am having a G3 iBook 500 Mhz, 2.2. with an ATI Rage 128 Mobility Graphic Card.)


Last edited by mabhobs on Thu Jun 21, 2007 11:49 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 608
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stumbled across exactly the same one :) The broken part is cairo, and it breaks for me on a G4 powermac with a Radeon 8500 using the radeon driver with 16bpp and XAA. If I switch either the depth to 24bpp or he acceleration architecture to EXA, the problem disappears. Which reminds me, I wanted to put up a bug report on both the gentoo and cairo trackers; I hope I remember to do that tomorrow.

If you're also on a radeon, you can switch the architecture using the option "AccelMethod" (see man radeon for details)...

[edit] Just noticed you are on a rage 128; switching to EXA is then no option for you afaik. You might either try to change the color depth (at the cost of a slowdown) or downgrade cairo (mask the offending version, the last working version is the-one-before-the-most-recent-stable, and the newest, still masked version is also bad). Alas, this is an evil one and needs to be fixed really urgently; I hope I remember poisting that bug report tomorrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mabhobs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Feb 2006
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Downgrading cairo to version 1.4.4 solved the problem for me too. :-). Thank you for your help. That was great.

DirtyHairy, could you post a bug about this? That would be awesome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piroko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This was driving me NUTS! Thank you so much for this fix! I used the 24bpp solution because it seemed to be the easiest ;)
_________________
Anyone who is not confused by quantum theory does not truly understand it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Principal Skinner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2002
Posts: 50
Location: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:33 am    Post subject: Bug report Reply with quote

DirtyHairy wrote:
Alas, this is an evil one and needs to be fixed really urgently; I hope I remember poisting that bug report tomorrow.

Did you ever poist that bug report? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 608
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damn, shit, I forgot (I wanted to see if this still persist with the latest cairo and then post it if it didn't, and this way forgot about it). I'll compile the unstable version now and post the report if doesn't work....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 608
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, posted...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 608
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, last contribution to spamming this forum: I also rolled back the git revisions and isolated the patch which introduced the colors bug. I added this to the bug report (see http://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=11687 ) and also created a patch against cairo-1.4.6 which reverts the changes and cures the color bug:
Code:
diff --git a/src/cairo-pattern.c b/src/cairo-pattern.c
index b6c8df7..79412ec 100644
--- a/src/cairo-pattern.c
+++ b/src/cairo-pattern.c
@@ -1252,7 +1252,7 @@ _cairo_pattern_acquire_surface_for_solid (cairo_solid_pattern_t        *pattern,
                                          cairo_surface_attributes_t *attribs)
 {
     *out = _cairo_surface_create_similar_solid (dst,
-                                               pattern->content,
+                                               CAIRO_CONTENT_COLOR_ALPHA,
                                                1, 1,
                                                &pattern->color,
                                                &pattern->base);

Be warned that although it works for me, I haven't tested it in length and I also don't know a bit about cairo code (and also we are ignoring the value of pattern->content) , so this might badly break things. A similar patch can be applied to 1.4.10, but cairo-pattern.c has changed and line numbers have shifted, so just look for the correct place and change it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A temporary fix that doesn't completely disable acceleration:
Code:
Option "XaaNoOffscreenPixmaps"

I put it in Section "Screen". Picked this up from the ongoing? discussion in the bug thread.
_________________
patrix_neo wrote:
The human thought: I cannot win.
The ratbrain in me : I can only go forward and that's it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 608
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The bug seems to be stalled; no one upstream seems to show any interest. In the meanwhile, I have been using the cairo patch since I posted it and haven't bumped into any problems till now, so I guess it is safe to use. I will gzip the ebuild from my overlay and attach it to the gentoo bug as soon as I find time...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum