Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installation on PS3 [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eric.frederich
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 May 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 9:53 pm    Post subject: Installation on PS3 [solved] Reply with quote

I followed http://overlays.gentoo.org/proj/cell/wiki/InstallGentooOnPS3 and I think I installed it.
It didn't say how to get a .bld file if I was using the minimal install cd....so geoff__ on #gentoo-ppc64 pointed me to
http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/people/geoff/cell/kboot-20070516.bld

So after getting that I was able to boot from the install cd and follow the instructions (after editing /etc/conf.d/net to stop wireless and wired connections from clobbering over each other for net.eth0 as explained here... https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-557695.html?sid=3fa823e448073b67ff5d621520c0ca62)

Anyway, what I am left with when I boot now is a kboot prompt. I hit tab and I get no options. I type "linux" or "gentoo" and I get nothing.
Any ideas? I booted from the livecd again and mounted /dev/sda1 and verified that the last line of /etc/kboot.conf (the gentoo= line) was uncommented.

Also, if you have the answer, it would be nice to get this in the Wiki as well.

Thanks in advance,
~Eric
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rangerpb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is likely that kboot cannot read the configuration file on your sda. Most likely this is because kboot, by default, looks for the disk partition that contains the conf file to be marked with a label of "/". Did you do that?
_________________
-->
rangerpb
<--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eric.frederich
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 May 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rangerpb wrote:
The problem is likely that kboot cannot read the configuration file on your sda. Most likely this is because kboot, by default, looks for the disk partition that contains the conf file to be marked with a label of "/". Did you do that?


I did the e2label command that was mentioned on this page ... http://overlays.gentoo.org/proj/cell/wiki/InstallGentooOnPS3
Is that all I need to do?

Also, I copied the kboot.conf.example to kboot.conf and only changed video=ps3fb:mode:8 to video=ps3fb:mode:5
Mode 8 wasn't even described in that file.
Here is the file...Do I have a valid file?

Code:
(chroot) livecd etc # cat kboot.conf
#  The following is an example kboot configuration file.  Edit it
#  to suit your needs before attempting to reboot your system or
#  you may be unable to boot the new install.

#  default: the default kernel label to boot should the user not make
#  a selection.

default=gentoo

#  timeout: number of seconds to wait for user input before the default
#  kernel label is booted.

timeout=20

#  The format from this point on is within a kernel label.  At a minimum,
#  you must pass the kernel and root device.  The syntax is as follows:
#
#  label='device:<path_to_kernel> initrd=device:<path_to_initrd> kernel_options'
#
#  You should also pass the video options as well. An example of video
#  options are as follows:
#
#  480i = ps3fb:mode:1
#  576i = ps3fb:mode:6
#  720p = ps3fb:mode:3
#  1080i = ps3fb:mode:4
#  1080p = ps3fb:mode:5
#
#  You can review all possible video modes using the ps3videomode application
#  provided by the ps3pfutils package.  i.e. ps3videomode -v will display
#  possibilities.

#  The following is an example kernel label.  Edit as needed.

gentoo='sda1:/boot/kernel initrd=sda1:/boot/initrd root=/dev/ram0 real_root=/dev/sda1 init=/linuxrc video=ps3fb:mode:5 rhgb'


As a note, I would like to say that this all seems WAY too hard and I have installed gentoo lots of times on PCs just fine. Each time the hardware was different. Different video cards, partitioning schemes, filesystems etc. PS3 Hardware should be mostly the same. There should be an easy to follow wiki guide on how to install it and since everyone has the same exact hardware there shouldn't be any deviations.
Please, someone that knows what they're doing update the Wiki!
Like I said before, it didn't even say where to get the .bld file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MegaGoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

im having the exact same problem.

my kboot.conf has this at the end:

Gentoo='sda1:/boot/kernel-genkernel-ppc-2.6.16-ps3 initrd=sda1:/boot/initramfs-genkernel-ppc-2.6.16-ps3 root=/dev/ram0 real_root=/dev/sda1 init=/linuxrc video=ps3fb:mode:8 rhgb'

.. as per http://ps3wiki.qj.net/index.php/Gentoo_Howto


also my fstab is correct

i boot up and get:

Quote:

----------------------------------------------
welcome to the gentoo livecd bootloader
-----------------------------------------------

this bootloader only scans the cdrom dwevice
for kboot configuration files and is intended
to boot the gentoo livecd only.

select the kernel label that most closely
matches your desired resolution

kboot:



i dont know if im supposed to be getting that message.. i dont have mem stick or bootdisk in.

so i have no idea what to do from that point. i've literally spent about 6 hours on this so far as unfortunately i dont appear to have gotten anywhere. i may give up and install yellowdog or ubuntu if i dont get anywhere soon.

on a side note, i dont see why this has to be so difficult. isnt there a way for someone to write a standard ps3 gentoo installer script or something that does everything in the instructions for you? it doesnt help that im on a 7" wide micro usb keyboard that i had to borrow from somewhere else, and a regular tv where i usually can't make out the letters.

:( :x :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rangerpb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In response to the last post, the message you get is for a cdrom boot only. The boot message even says it's only for booting a Gentoo livecd. You need to load one of the kboot images that allow booting from the disk drive.

Reload a working kboot image, like otheros.default; then make sure the disk partition label exists and it should work right.

i can be more helpful if you come onto irc. #gentoo-ppc64.

you can also drop to a shell at the kboot prompt by typing 'sh'. Once in the shell, you should be able to see what's going on by examining the etc/fstab file in the kboot initrd. You can also override the device booting problem.
_________________
-->
rangerpb
<--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MegaGoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the reply

nowhere did it explain that if you load the otheros.cdonly you need to be sure to go back and load the otheros.default as otheros.bld. im assuming this is through the ps3 xmb option

but i already formatted the drive and theres no way im starting gentoo over again. and the way i look at it, being the amount of linux i know which is next to nothing, and obviously not enough to bail myself out of something thats probably pretty basic to you guys, gentoo is NOT a good linux distro for me. i dont know if it gets any easier after install, but im going for yellowdog. if i hate it for some reason i might try this again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tendonut
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I am going to revive this thread a bit here.

I am having the exact same problem. I've installed Gentoo plenty of times but the way the screwy bootloader works, it leaves me scratching my head as to exactly what is going on. I actually installed from a stage3 tarball instead of the stage4 (because i'm cool like that), everything seems to be working fine, I ran e2label and labeled /dev/ps3da1 as / , made sure the partition was marked as boot as well with fdisk, but as soon as I reboot and get back to the kboot prompt, I get nothing. Tab doesn't bring up any kernels, I can't just type "Gentoo", and its like kboot can't read the config file at all. It's a rather simple config file..

Code:

default=Gentoo
timeout=10

Gentoo='ps3da1:/boot/kernel-2.6.31-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/ram0 real_root=/dev/ps3da1 video=ps3fb:mode:5 rhgb'


Im at a loss. I guess I am expecting it to act like grub where it will display the kernel but fail when trying to boot it with some kind of (helpful-ish) error if I screwed something up.


Also, somewhat off topic, but where do I get this mystical ps3pfutils package (which contains ps3-video-mode) that I hear about all the time? it doesn't seem to be in the unofficial ps3 overlay and it's not in the portage tree either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Gentoo on Alternative Architectures to Gentoo on PPC.
Powerpc so moved here
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tendonut
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

More information this time..

When I get to kboot and type /init, I get "mounting ps3da1 on /mnt/root failed" but if simply cd into /mnt/root, I can see it mounted it perfectly fine and can navigate my directories. Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slackline
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 1423
Location: /uk/sheffield

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't bother with kboot, its old and no longer supported.

Instead use petitboot.

I detailed my install earlier this year here.

Feedback welcome (already spotted an unexplained code snippet, but moved the wiki when upgradin SlugOS and haven't sorted out the permissions yet, so haven't edited this yet!).

slack
_________________
"Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.  Art is everything else we do." - Donald Knuth


Last edited by slackline on Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tendonut
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That did the trick. Also, I discovered that you absolutely need to set up a ramdisk initially, which was another problem I was having. But once I installed petitboot, it was able to find the kboot.conf file no problem and now I am finally booted into my gentoo install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonlacon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

slack---line wrote:
Feedback welcome (already spotted an unexplained code snippet, but moved the wiki when upgradin SlugOS and haven't sorted out the permissions yet, so haven't edited this yet!).


There's a bug in mainline slashing the ps3vram i/o to ~16MB/s. Should be significantly higher (more than 10x). It's fixed in ps3-linux.git

My ps3 is currently trapped between kd3 4.2.4 and 4.3.2. Pykde isn't compiling and I haven't tracked down why yet.

Different projects worth exploring:

MARS - cell assisted zlib + openssl as examples of the framework
Gallium3D - cell assisted opengl
SDL - cell assisted video decoding (mplayer and I think ffmpeg)
Cellbuzz projects - Haven't built for me as they require something in the cellsdk. They aren't actively developed so I'm not in a rush to fix.
fscaler - it's a 2D scaler people use with emulators to let the ppu render the graphics.
Probably a few other cell related programs I'm forgetting about at the moment.

I don't believe that portage is capable of handling multiple toolchains the ebuilds for these would require. I would love to be proven wrong here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum