Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ibook g3, composite.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GuillaumeB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:59 pm    Post subject: ibook g3, composite. Reply with quote

Hello,

My problem is quite simple, I use lots of virtual desktops (10) and when i switch between them, my old g3 (600 mhz) have pain with redrawing all the windows.

I had seen that compiz or stuff like that remove the need of redrawing,

But when i try to launch compiz, i had a nice error message: Root visual is not a double buffered GL visual. (GPU is ATI Technologies Inc Rage Mobility M3 AGP 2x (rev 02). I have direct rendering on)

I also try with xcompmgr, this give me really nice drop shadows and transparency, but moving windows and switching desktop still remain slow (it still redraw all the widgets).

Any one have an idea how speed up that with compositing ? I don't want drop shadow or transparency, I just to smooth my switching desktop experience and save work in my CPU.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

While I don't really expect miracle on this kind of hardware we could try.
First post your xorg.conf so we can sort out which options you already have
and which one we should try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GuillaumeB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fb wrote:
While I don't really expect miracle on this kind of hardware we could try.


I dont' expect mircale too, but i think that what i want do not require a miracle.
I say it again, i don't care of drop shadow, transparency, "cool look features". I juste want my windows draw in a buffer to avoid redrawing of all my applications when i switch desktops.

Quote:

First post your xorg.conf so we can sort out which options you already have
and which one we should try.


My Xorg.conf (actually it come from an old install of ubuntu, but work well with my gentoo)
I remove some part that are not interesting for our purpose (such as InputDevice and FontPath)

Code:


Section "Module"
   #Load    "dbe" # I try this one, but this change nothing
   Load   "i2c"
   Load   "bitmap"
   Load   "ddc"
   Load   "dri"
   Load   "extmod"
   Load   "freetype"
   Load   "glx"
   Load   "int10"
   Load   "type1"
   Load   "vbe"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier   "ATI Technologies, Inc. Rage Mobility M3 AGP 2x"
   Driver      "ati"
   #Driver      "radeon"
   BusID      "PCI:0:16:0"
   Option      "UseFBDev"      "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Color LCD"
   Option      "DPMS"
   HorizSync   28-51
   VertRefresh   43-60
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier   "Default Screen"
   Device      "ATI Technologies, Inc. Rage Mobility M3 AGP 2x"
   Monitor      "Color LCD"
   DefaultDepth   16 # by default, this enable the direct rendering.
   ... # all the useless Depth
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth      16
      Modes      "1024x768"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
   Mode   0666
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 636
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You load much more modules than I do on my x86 machine (I have a G4 as well but with
a nvidia card). I would have expected the dbe module to be useful but you say it isn't.
From your description you have a r128 based card (not radeon) all the good options should
be on by default if I trust the man page.
Have you emerged x11-drm and libdrm? You should use those modules from outside the kernel rather
than the one included.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GuillaumeB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fb wrote:
You load much more modules than I do on my x86 machine


I agree that I never took the time to see if i need all the modules. I will take a look at this, per haps it can provide a little boost of speed.

Quote:
I would have expected the dbe module to be useful but you say it isn't.


I also have expected it, but it change nothing.

Quote:

Have you emerged x11-drm and libdrm? You should use those modules from outside the kernel rather
than the one included.


No. I'll try that just after work, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum