Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
firefox.2.0.0.6 color error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:50 am    Post subject: firefox.2.0.0.6 color error Reply with quote

hi,
i emerged www-client/mozilla-firefox
with

Code:

CFLAGS="-O2 -mcpu=G4 -mtune=G4 -maltivec -mabi=altivec -fno-strict-aliasing -pipe"
CHOST="powerpc-unknown-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
LINGUAS="en"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev keyboard mouse"
VIDEO_CARDS="fbdev mach64 r128 radeon"



'cause i have to run it on these machines
1) powerbook-G4-aluminium, using ati radeon
2) powerbook-G3-pismo, using r128
3) powerbook-G3-lombard, using mach64


on the aluminium firefox seems to work correctly
on the pismo firefox had a terrible color handling: i see color distorsion

about X11 /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Code:

Section "Device"
   Identifier   "Card0"
   ### Available Driver options:
   Option "DMAForXv"   "true"  # Use DMA for XV, reduces CPU usage
               # Can cause stability problems
   #Option "SWcursor"   "false" # Use Software Cursor
   #Option "NoAccel"   "false" # Disable Hardware Acceleration
   #Option "Display"   "FP"   # Display mode for devices which
               # support Flat Panels.  Modes:
               # "FP" - Use Flat Panel
               # "CRT" - Use CRT
               # "Mirror" - Use both FP and CRT
   ### See "man r128" for additional options

   ### Warning: If your r128 has less than 10MB of ram, you will only be
   ###         able to use dri in 16bit color.
#   Driver   "r128"
        Driver  "ati"
#   BusID   "PCI:0:16:0"



what could be wrong with this ?
is somebody using the lastone firefox on apple powerbook pismo ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 608
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could it be this bug?
http://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=11687
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes it is
and if you set color depth to 24, you (temporally) "fix" the problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 608
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, since my sytem has been running for months without any problems using my cairo patch now, I guess it could be regarded as save for desktop usage. I have created a tarball containing the patch and the modified ebuild for cairo-1.4.6 which can be dropped in a local overlay and attached it to https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=186281 . The patch reverts the change that introduced the funky-colors bug and seems to work fine, possibly at the expense of some speed since the original change was intended to be an optimization. Since I don't know anything about the inner workings of cairo, it may also break other things, but as I already wrote, I had no other problems so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 608
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Slow me, just noticed cairo-1.4.10 is stable now. Since colors are still crapped, I created a similar patch and attached it to the bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum