Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
distcc not working [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 234
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 2:29 am    Post subject: distcc not working [solved] Reply with quote

I just tried distcc, but it "failed to distribute". Could this be a router problem? Perhaps I didn't set something up right in spite of following the handbook step-by-step?

I emerged distcc and edited /etc/make.conf, but when I tried to emerge ccache, it failed to distribute. I tried this with both machines indepantantly.
_________________
Greg


Last edited by trigggl on Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7193
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you configure distcc properly?
Check your /etc/conf.d/distccd and make sure they're set up properly, along with the /etc/distcc/hosts file.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 234
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 10:39 am    Post subject: EDIT: oops Reply with quote

I opened /etc/conf.d/distccd and found one problem. It should probably be mentioned in 3.b in the Portage Features section. It is not mentioned, as far as I can tell, in the Gentoo Distcc Documentation link either.

What I found is that the --allow option must now be specified in the /etc/conf.d/distccd file. The default file lists 192.168.0.0/24. I don't think that will apply to most people. I know it doesn't apply to me. I, of course, changed it to match my home network. Thanks for the tip.

I'll test to see if it works. later.

EDIT: ok, I reread the Distcc Documentation and it is mentioned in there to set --allow and --listen. My mistake. I still think that it should be mentioned in the Portage Features section.
_________________
Greg


Last edited by trigggl on Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:01 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 234
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works. Nice to see a compile go twice as fast.
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,


distcc is working here, but distccmon-* are not

when i invoke distccmon-gnome, i get this message


Code:

(distccmon-gnome:8769): Gnome-WARNING **: Accessibility: failed to find module 'libgail-gnome' which is needed to make this application accessible
GTK Accessibility Module initialized

** (distccmon-gnome:8769): WARNING **: AT_SPI_REGISTRY was not started at session startup.
** (distccmon-gnome:8769): WARNING **: IOR not set.
** (distccmon-gnome:8769): WARNING **: Could not locate registry



and i can't see the job activity on the distccmon-gnome: the list is empty
invoking top i can see the distcc istances

do you see activity on the distmon-gnome ? if so, could i see your setting files ?
thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 234
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't installed a window manager yet. Even if I do, I probably won't use it much. There are some things I prefer to do on the command line. I have a PC for GUI purposes.

I did try the terminal version, but I didn't have any success to speak of either.
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm building a distcc-cluster made with "ppc7410-500Mhz" to reduce the compile time of my jobs
actually it is composed by 4 nodes of 1Gb ram, 1 100Mbit, and 40Gb hd, each

unfortunately "distccmon-text 1" is reporting an empty list while i can see cc-distcc from the "top" utility
that is not nice to fast controll what is happening ...


how do you controll what is happening in a nice and fast way ?
a monitor should be THE choice, i think
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 234
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just watch the router lights. If it aint flashing, it aint compiling. If it isn't compiling there's an error message on the local compiler. I'm not really using mine for compiling beyond package installation. Also, I'm doing my installations using ssh from my PC. IBM video cards aren't known for their Linux useability. I'll install Gnome when it's pulled in as a dependency or when I want to try watching video. I don't think it will do well with video, though. I hope it's good at converting it. That's mainly what I want to do with them. I'm tired of my PC being slowed down with video conversion when I'm trying to work on something else as well.
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum