Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
hard cooling for kt266(a) makes your CPU run cooler
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Master_Of_Disaster
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 610
Location: 15.05072° East, 48.13747° North (aka Mauer), Austria

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2003 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried these setpci settings on my machine (MSI K4 Ultra, Athlon XP 2000+, 512 MB DDR) but none worked, so i poked around in the net, and i found a BIOS Update on the MSI Site that did the trick. Temperature dropped about 10°C from 53 (full load) to 43 (full load) and 43 (idle) to 34 (idle)
Get the patch at http://www.msi.com.tw/program/support/bios/bos/spt_bos_detail.php?UID=356&NAME=MS-6590
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1598
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2003 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my Gigabyte GA-7DX board the settings work great. I am experiencing lockups though, but only after a period of idle and with no Foldingathome running and just letting the machine set. Doesn't seem to do it while using it and no sound problems either (even with Foldingathome not running). Temp drops to about 30C (accurate if the scaling factor from previous cal is linear). Last time the screensaver came on before it locked up.

I still want to run Foldingathome, so at first I setup a fcron job to run it for 15 min at the top of the hour. Then changed it to run at top and bottom of the hour. Maybe that will keep it from locking up.

Still, I think there might be a wake up item in bios to fix this I haven't gotten set. Need to check that later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveb
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 4564

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have serval boards with a athlon cpu. and i could not resist to enhance the init script wich was posted on this topic, to work on serval computers without need of changing the content of the script. this is what i got so far (i tryed to handle as much possible):
Code:
#!/sbin/runscript
# This shell script takes care of starting and stopping the northbridge "cool" bits
# /etc/init.d/athlon_cool_bit by SteveB, email: tp22a@softhome.net

checkconfig() {
   if [ ! -f /sbin/lspci ]; then
      eerror "You need \"sys-apps/grep\" for this to work"
      return 1
   fi
   if [ ! -f /bin/grep ]; then
      eerror "You need \"sys-apps/grep\" for this to work"
      return 1
   fi
}

start() {

   PCI_Class=""
   PCI_Vendor=""
   PCI_Devic=""
   PCI_SVendor=""
   PCI_SDevice=""

   lspci -m -v -s 0:0.0 | grep -i "^[A-Za-z0-9]" | while true
   do
      read LSPCI_LINE

      LSPCI_LINE_RC="$?"
      LSPCI_KEY=""
      LSPCI_VALUE=""

      LSPCI_KEY="${LSPCI_LINE%%:*}"
      LSPCI_VALUE="${LSPCI_LINE#*:}"

      if [ "${LSPCI_KEY}" = "Class" ]; then
         PCI_Class="${LSPCI_VALUE}"
      elif [ "${LSPCI_KEY}" = "Vendor" ]; then
         PCI_Vendor="${LSPCI_VALUE}"
      elif [ "${LSPCI_KEY}" = "Device" ]; then
         PCI_Device="${LSPCI_VALUE}"
      elif [ "${LSPCI_KEY}" = "SVendor" ]; then
         PCI_SVendor="${LSPCI_VALUE}"
      elif [ "${LSPCI_KEY}" = "SDevice" ]; then
         PCI_SDevice="${LSPCI_VALUE}"
      fi

      if [ "${LSPCI_LINE_RC}" -ne "0" ]; then

         if (echo "${PCI_SVendor}" | grep -iq "Asustek") && (echo "${PCI_SDevice}" | grep -iq "A7V333"); then
            # Asus A7V333 Mainboard
            ebegin "Starting KT266/266a NB cool bit [A7V333]"
            setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 92=EB >/dev/null 2>&1
            eend $?
         elif (echo "${PCI_SVendor}" | grep -iq "Microstar") && (echo "${PCI_SDevice}" | grep -iq "K7T266Pro"); then
            # MSI K7T266Pro (MS-6380)
            ebegin "Starting  KT266 NB cool bit [K7T266Pro]"
            setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 70=86 >/dev/null 2>&1 && setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 95=1E >/dev/null 2>&1
            eend $?
         elif (echo "${PCI_Vendor}" | grep -iq "VIA Technologies") && (echo "${PCI_Device}" | grep -iq "KT133"); then
            # Generic KT133 Mainboard
            ebegin "Starting KT133/133a NB cool bit [generic]"
            setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 52=EB >/dev/null 2>&1
            eend $?
         elif (echo "${PCI_Vendor}" | grep -iq "VIA Technologies") && (echo "${PCI_Device}" | grep -iq "KT266"); then
            # Generic KT266 Mainboard
            ebegin "Starting KT266/266a NB cool bit [generic]"
            setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 92=EB >/dev/null 2>&1
            eend $?
         elif (echo "${PCI_Vendor}" | grep -iq "VIA Technologies") && (echo "${PCI_Device}" | grep -iq "KT333"); then
            # Generic KT333 Mainboard
            ebegin "Starting KT333 NB cool bit [generic]"
            setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 70=86 >/dev/null 2>&1 && setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 95=1E >/dev/null 2>&1
            eend $?
         elif (echo "${PCI_Vendor}" | grep -iq "VIA Technologies") && (echo "${PCI_Device}" | grep -iq "KT400"); then
            # Generic KT400 Mainboard (experimental: plz mail me if it works, maybee someone could test this for the other chip$
            ebegin "Starting KT400 NB cool bit [generic]"
            setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 D2=EB >/dev/null 2>&1
            eend $?
         elif (echo "${PCI_Vendor}" | grep -iq "VIA Technologies") && (echo "${PCI_Class}" | grep -iq "Host bridge"); then
            # Unknown VIA host bridge
            [[ "${PCI_Vendor}" != "" ]] && einfo "Vendor: ${PCI_Vendor}"
            [[ "${PCI_Device}" != "" ]] && einfo "Device: ${PCI_Device}"
            [[ "${PCI_SVendor}" != "" ]] && einfo "SVendor: ${PCI_SVendor}"
            [[ "${PCI_SDevice}" != "" ]] && einfo "SDevice: ${PCI_SDevice}"
            eend 1 "Unknown VIA host bridge"
            return 1
         else
            # Unknown host bridge
            # on AMD760/AMD761:
            # enable: setpci -s 0:0.0 0x62=0xb7
            # disable: setpci -s 0:0.0 0x62=0xb1
            # on sis730: (experimental: plz mail me if it works, maybee someone could test this for the other chipsets also ?)
            # enable: setpci -s 0:0.0 6b=0x19
            # disbale: setpci -s 0:0.0 6b=0x18
            # Athlon XP (experimental: plz mail me if it works)
            # enable: setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 92=EB
            # disable: setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 92=6B
            [[ "${PCI_Vendor}" != "" ]] && einfo "Vendor: ${PCI_Vendor}"
            [[ "${PCI_Device}" != "" ]] && einfo "Device: ${PCI_Device}"
            [[ "${PCI_SVendor}" != "" ]] && einfo "SVendor: ${PCI_SVendor}"
            [[ "${PCI_SDevice}" != "" ]] && einfo "SDevice: ${PCI_SDevice}"
            eend 1 "Unknown host bridge"
            return 1
         fi

         # exit while true loop
         break
      fi

   done

}

stop() {

   PCI_Class=""
   PCI_Vendor=""
   PCI_Devic=""
   PCI_SVendor=""
   PCI_SDevice=""

   lspci -m -v -s 0:0.0 | grep -i "^[A-Za-z0-9]" | while true
   do
      read LSPCI_LINE

      LSPCI_LINE_RC="$?"
      LSPCI_KEY=""
      LSPCI_VALUE=""

      LSPCI_KEY="${LSPCI_LINE%%:*}"
      LSPCI_VALUE="${LSPCI_LINE#*:}"

      if [ "${LSPCI_KEY}" = "Class" ]; then
         PCI_Class="${LSPCI_VALUE}"
      elif [ "${LSPCI_KEY}" = "Vendor" ]; then
         PCI_Vendor="${LSPCI_VALUE}"
      elif [ "${LSPCI_KEY}" = "Device" ]; then
         PCI_Device="${LSPCI_VALUE}"
      elif [ "${LSPCI_KEY}" = "SVendor" ]; then
         PCI_SVendor="${LSPCI_VALUE}"
      elif [ "${LSPCI_KEY}" = "SDevice" ]; then
         PCI_SDevice="${LSPCI_VALUE}"
      fi

      if [ "${LSPCI_LINE_RC}" -ne "0" ]; then

         if (echo "${PCI_SVendor}" | grep -iq "Asustek") && (echo "${PCI_SDevice}" | grep -iq "A7V333"); then
            # Asus A7V333 Mainboard
            ebegin "Resetting KT266/266a NB cool bit [A7V333]"
            setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 92=6B >/dev/null 2>&1
            eend $?
         elif (echo "${PCI_SVendor}" | grep -iq "Microstar") && (echo "${PCI_SDevice}" | grep -iq "K7T266Pro"); then
            # MSI K7T266Pro (MS-6380)
            ebegin "Resetting KT266 NB cool bit [K7T266Pro]"
            setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 70=82 >/dev/null 2>&1 && setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 95=1C >/dev/null 2>&1
            eend $?
         elif (echo "${PCI_Vendor}" | grep -iq "VIA Technologies") && (echo "${PCI_Device}" | grep -iq "KT133\|KX133"); then
            # Generic KT133 Mainboard
            ebegin "Resetting KT133/133a and KX133 NB cool bit [generic]"
            setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 52=6B >/dev/null 2>&1
            eend $?
         elif (echo "${PCI_Vendor}" | grep -iq "VIA Technologies") && (echo "${PCI_Device}" | grep -iq "KT266"); then
            # Generic KT266 Mainboard
            ebegin "Resetting  KT266/266a NB cool bit [generic]"
            setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 92=6B >/dev/null 2>&1
            eend $?
         elif (echo "${PCI_Vendor}" | grep -iq "VIA Technologies") && (echo "${PCI_Device}" | grep -iq "KT333"); then
            # Generic KT333 Mainboard
            ebegin "Resetting KT333 NB cool bit [generic]"
            setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 70=82 >/dev/null 2>&1 && setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 95=1C >/dev/null 2>&1
            eend $?
         elif (echo "${PCI_Vendor}" | grep -iq "VIA Technologies") && (echo "${PCI_Device}" | grep -iq "KT400"); then
            # Generic KT400 Mainboard (experimental: plz mail me if it works, maybee someone could test this for the other chipsets also ?)
            ebegin "Resetting KT400 NB cool bit [generic]"
            setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 D2=6B >/dev/null 2>&1
            eend $?
         elif (echo "${PCI_Vendor}" | grep -iq "VIA Technologies") && (echo "${PCI_Class}" | grep -iq "Host bridge"); then
            # Unknown VIA host bridge
            [[ "${PCI_Vendor}" != "" ]] && einfo "Vendor: ${PCI_Vendor}"
            [[ "${PCI_Device}" != "" ]] && einfo "Device: ${PCI_Device}"
            [[ "${PCI_SVendor}" != "" ]] && einfo "SVendor: ${PCI_SVendor}"
            [[ "${PCI_SDevice}" != "" ]] && einfo "SDevice: ${PCI_SDevice}"
            eend 1 "Unknown VIA host bridge"
            return 1
         else
            # Unknown host bridge
            # on AMD760/AMD761:
            # enable: setpci -s 0:0.0 0x62=0xb7
            # disable: setpci -s 0:0.0 0x62=0xb1
            # on sis730: (experimental: plz mail me if it works, maybee someone could test this for the other chipsets also ?)
            # enable: setpci -s 0:0.0 6b=0x19
            # disbale: setpci -s 0:0.0 6b=0x18
            # Athlon XP (experimental: plz mail me if it works)
            # enable: setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 92=EB
            # disable: setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 92=6B
            [[ "${PCI_Vendor}" != "" ]] && einfo "Vendor: ${PCI_Vendor}"
            [[ "${PCI_Device}" != "" ]] && einfo "Device: ${PCI_Device}"
            [[ "${PCI_SVendor}" != "" ]] && einfo "SVendor: ${PCI_SVendor}"
            [[ "${PCI_SDevice}" != "" ]] && einfo "SDevice: ${PCI_SDevice}"
            eend 1 "Unknown host bridge"
            return 1
         fi

         # exit while true loop
         break

      fi

   done
}


since i do not have a SIS or a AMD board, i can not code the setpci statements i found on the diffrend webpages (i don't know how the lspci output looks on those computers...), but anyone is welcome to modify the script to include the other chipsets. just post the result back so others can profit from your changes.

cheers

SteveB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StanoMagic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 12:44 pm    Post subject: VIA KT400 GA-7VAXP Reply with quote

dose anyone have an idea how to get my CPU Temp down? Witch setings are to take in WPCREDIT to cool it down? It worked gread on my old KT266 Bord. But im not so familar to WPCREDIT.

Thanx StanoMagic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kruuse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 15
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2003 6:48 am    Post subject: Fixed sound for KT133A Reply with quote

Board: Soltek SL-75KAV, BIOS: Q11
CPU: TBird 1200
Chipset: KT133A

Enable:
Code:
setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 52=EB >/dev/null && setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 70=C4 >/dev/null

Disable:
Code:
setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 52=6B >/dev/null && setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 70=C0 >/dev/null


Changing register #70 fixes the sound problem for me. :)
[70:2]=PCI Master Read Caching 0=disable 1=enable

Cheers,
Jens
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2003 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

my bios now has a 'CPU Halt Command Detection' which i guess does the same thing, its bout 2C cooler than before

MSI KT4 Ultra (latest bios), KT400 chipset
AMD Barton 2500+ overclocked
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stodgel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2003 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is very interesting. Is there some way to check the cpu temp in Linux. Some sort of app. The only way I can see what the temp is on mine is when it boots up.
My temp tends to run high though, would this help me in Linux w/Athlon XP1700, v-266B chipset?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2003 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

look at lm_sensors and gkrellm2
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nouse66
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jan 2003
Posts: 194

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

steveb wrote:
i have serval boards with a athlon cpu. and i could not resist to enhance the init script wich was posted on this topic, to work on serval computers without need of changing the content of the script. this is what i got so far (i tryed to handle as much possible):
Code:

...


since i do not have a SIS or a AMD board, i can not code the setpci statements i found on the diffrend webpages (i don't know how the lspci output looks on those computers...), but anyone is welcome to modify the script to include the other chipsets. just post the result back so others can profit from your changes.

cheers

SteveB



That script isn't running for me....
Code:

bash-2.05b# /etc/init.d/athlon_cool_bit start
 * ERROR:  "/etc/init.d/athlon_cool_bit" has syntax errors in it; not executing...


does anyone else have that problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpinDizzy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 63
Location: Moss Vale, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheCoop wrote:
my bios now has a 'CPU Halt Command Detection' which i guess does the same thing, its bout 2C cooler than before

MSI KT4 Ultra (latest bios), KT400 chipset
AMD Barton 2500+ overclocked


Can you toggle this option in the bios?

If you can, a hexdump of the pci data would let everyone with a KT400 northbridge know which bit to set.

eg:
(as root)
hexdump /proc/bus/pci/00/00.0

Even if you can't toggle it, I'd be interested in the dump to compare with my own.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

umm, im not sure how this can help but here is the
hexdump with HLT disabled:
Code:
0000000 1106 3189 0006 2230 0000 0600 0800 0000
0000010 0008 e000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000020 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 1106 0000
0000030 0000 0000 00a0 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000040 1900 8088 4482 0001 1911 1088 4482 0000
0000050 00c0 0000 c4f2 2020 10ff 1010 2020 2020
0000060 aa00 2000 99e6 1f40 2d7e d054 7851 0000
0000070 c882 0100 0900 0050 0001 0000 0000 0200
0000080 000f 0000 0080 0000 0002 1a96 0000 0000
0000090 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
00000a0 c002 0020 0217 1f00 0314 1f00 9821 0000
00000b0 9b7f 9b00 0046 0000 006a 0000 0000 8600
00000c0 0001 0002 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
00000d0 f515 ea69 1c0f 19f1 ff10 0000 2121 0074
00000e0 0000 0000 ff00 0001 779a 9a9a 9a00 0020
00000f0 0000 0000 0000 0005 0000 0000 0200 0000
0000100

with HLT enabled:
Code:
0000000 1106 3189 0006 2230 0000 0600 0800 0000
0000010 0008 e000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000020 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 1106 0000
0000030 0000 0000 00a0 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000040 1900 8088 4482 0001 1911 1088 4482 0000
0000050 00c0 0000 c4f2 2020 10ff 1010 2020 2020
0000060 aa00 2000 99e6 1f40 2d7e d054 7851 0000
0000070 c882 0100 0900 0050 0001 0000 0000 0200
0000080 000f 0000 0080 0000 0002 1baa 0000 0000
0000090 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
00000a0 c002 0020 0217 1f00 0314 1f00 9821 0000
00000b0 9b7f 9b00 0046 0000 006a 0000 0000 8600
00000c0 0001 0002 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
00000d0 f515 eae9 1e0f 19f1 ff10 0000 2121 0074
00000e0 0000 0000 ff00 0001 779a 9a9a 9a00 0020
00000f0 0000 0000 0000 0005 0000 0000 0200 0000
0000100

Differences are in lines 0000080, and 00000d0
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpinDizzy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 63
Location: Moss Vale, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks,
Ok, it is the 2nd bit in the D5 register. Like yours my value without the halt is 1c, toggling the bit on changes this value to 1e.

Using
Code:
setpci -s 00:00.0 D5=1e
makes a big difference to the idle temperature of the CPU.

To unset this option use
Code:
setpci -s 00:00.0 D5=1c


This is of course specific to the KT400 northbridge. I have no problems with the sound "staggering" as I did when I tried this on a KT133a board (which I could have used Kruuses fix on).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

glad i could be of assistance. could somene amend the first post to reflect this?
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zendron
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jul 2002
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is my hexdump of a Epox 8K9A2 VIA KT400:
Code:

0000000 1106 3189 0006 2230 0000 0600 0800 0000
0000010 0008 d000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000020 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 1106 3189
0000030 0000 0000 00a0 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000040 1900 8088 4482 0001 1911 8088 4482 0000
0000050 00c0 0000 85e0 2020 11f1 2010 2020 2020
0000060 aa80 a000 9912 1d40 2d75 d054 7c71 0000
0000070 c882 0100 0941 0050 0001 0000 0000 1000
0000080 0000 0000 0080 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000090 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
00000a0 c002 0020 0207 1f00 0000 1f00 9821 0004
00000b0 9b7f 9b00 0044 0200 0068 0100 0000 8c00
00000c0 0001 0002 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
00000d0 f416 eae9 0c4f 19f1 ff21 0000 3221 0030
00000e0 0000 0000 ff00 0001 779a 00cc 9a00 00a0
00000f0 0001 0000 0000 0005 0000 0000 0200 0000
0000100

After
Code:
setpci -s 00:00.0 D5=1e

my cpu runs about 4°C cooler when idle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iceburglar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Boston, MA (God's Country)

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 12:37 am    Post subject: All the links to this are dead... Reply with quote

Anybody have a working link for the original article? I've been searching that Sudhian site to no avail.

I have a Shuttle SK41G XPC (Small Form Factor), with an XP1700 and the CPU temp seems to be running out of control after a few minutes. I have used this existing setup with windows without any problems, so I am lead to believe something in Gentoo is causing this, but that doesn't sound possible to me.

Any help or ideas would be great.
_________________
--
Iceburglar;
To the world, you may just be one person,
But to one person, you may just be the world. - Source Unknown.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
semiSfear
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 302
Location: Adelaide, SA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2003 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mirar wrote:
I wrote this script (/etc/init.d/coolbit):

#!/sbin/runscript
# This shell script takes care of starting and stopping the northbridge "cool" bits

start() {
ebegin "Starting KT333 NB cool bit"
setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 70=86 >/dev/null &&
setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 95=1e >/dev/null
eend $?
}

stop() {
ebegin "Resetting KT333 NB cool bit"
setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 70=82 >/dev/null &&
setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 95=1c >/dev/null
eend $?
}

I have an Asus A7V333. This worked on my previous Abit KR7A too, not as good though since I had to turn it off if I were going to use the TV card.


since i also got a KT333 on my Soyo mobo i tried ur script. couldn't find any setpci values on my own. and look what comes out when i run sensors now 8O 8O 8O

Code:
it87-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
Algorithm: ISA algorithm
VCore 1:   +1.84 V  (min =  +1.53 V, max =  +1.87 V)
VCore 2:   +3.31 V  (min =  +2.25 V, max =  +2.75 V)   ALARM
+3.3V:     +5.84 V  (min =  +2.96 V, max =  +3.60 V)   ALARM
+5V:       +5.04 V  (min =  +4.50 V, max =  +5.48 V)
+12V:      +9.84 V  (min = +11.36 V, max = +13.80 V)   ALARM
-12V:     -16.09 V  (min = -15.86 V, max = -13.40 V)   ALARM
-5V:       -6.67 V  (min = -10.13 V, max =  -9.44 V)   ALARM
Stdby:     +3.24 V  (min =  +4.50 V, max =  +5.48 V)   ALARM
VBat:      +0.00 V
fan1:        0 RPM  (min = 3000 RPM, div = 2)          ALARM
fan2:     2732 RPM  (min = 3000 RPM, div = 2)          ALARM
fan3:        0 RPM  (min = 3000 RPM, div = 2)          ALARM
Temp1/MB:    +30?C  (min =  +20?C, max =  +60?C)
Temp2/CPU:   -16?C  (min =  +20?C, max =  +60?C)
Temp3:       +12?C  (min =  +20?C, max =  +60?C)


now this doesn't seem right no ?
_________________
DnB is my religion, Jungle is my church.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djinnshi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Location: zuidhorn, netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

works really good on a kt266 here :D
as i'm writing this the temp. has already dropped 5 degrees and is still going down, no sound clicking so far :)
_________________
3 words: FAQ, RTFM, HOWTO
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sleeper
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 667

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2003 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nouse66 wrote:

That script isn't running for me....
Code:

bash-2.05b# /etc/init.d/athlon_cool_bit start
 * ERROR:  "/etc/init.d/athlon_cool_bit" has syntax errors in it; not executing...


does anyone else have that problem?


Be sure that the last } is followed by a \n (i.e it should not be on the last line)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tightwork
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 4:16 pm    Post subject: Report Reply with quote

i have Asus A7V 333 mobo along with a XP2700, that normally without any setpci settings runs at 35C, im using a enormous thermalright copper heatsink with silver paste, lianli aluminum case, and 4 fans, (2 blowing in, 2 blowing out)

i tried mirar's script (https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=6131#131460) but i see no difference in tempurature, nor problems with video or audio
though im always up for lower temp if anyone could tell me whats up
_________________
emerge unmerge sleep && emerge energy betawaves
http://www.foresight.org/Nanomedicine/Respirocytes.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeffrice
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 89
Location: New York, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2003 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Amazing. On my XP2000+ KT400,

setpci -s 00:00.0 D5=1e

drops the temp about 12C when idle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2003 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think this is a serious case of YMMV, it all depends on the cpu/mobo/bios used...
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sieter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

for my k7s5a with sis735 chip I use:
from : http://cip.uni-trier.de/nofftz/linux/Athlon-Powersaving-HOWTO.html

Code:
on SIS735/740/745/746/755:

    enable: setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 6A=$(printf %x $((0x$(setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 6A) | 0x0001)))

    disable: setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 6A=$(printf %x $((0x$(setpci -H1 -s 0:0.0 6A) & 0xfffe)))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glamdringlfo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jul 2003
Posts: 15
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2003 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, that's really great.

Enabling those options made a big difference, about 7 degrees or so.

Thanks a lot. Keep up the good work.

Skal!
Glamdringlfo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Config
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 187
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 11:00 am    Post subject: Re: Fixed sound for KT133A Reply with quote

Kruuse wrote:
Board: Soltek SL-75KAV, BIOS: Q11
CPU: TBird 1200
Chipset: KT133A

Enable:
Code:
setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 52=EB >/dev/null && setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 70=C4 >/dev/null

Disable:
Code:
setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 52=6B >/dev/null && setpci -v -H1 -s 0:0.0 70=C0 >/dev/null


Changing register #70 fixes the sound problem for me. :)
[70:2]=PCI Master Read Caching 0=disable 1=enable

Cheers,
Jens

I have a QDI Kinetiz 7T and used your version: the temp dropped over 10C° so far 8O
Great job :D
_________________
Config - caught by a chronic disease called tuxmania....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkcunningham
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 649
Location: 47.49N 121.79W

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I skimmed this thread and didn't notice the HOWTO on this topic referenced anywhere. I found the information very informative. Also, there are several links to little scripts/apps to automate figuring out the commands to toggle the latency timers:

http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Athlon-Powersaving-HOWTO/approaches.html

-Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum